We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a friendly relaxing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Such a friendly relaxing place”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is spotless, centrally located with a rear entrance meaning the beach is even closer. The staff are amazing they make your stay even more worthwhile. The breakfast is fabulous the only problem I would have is that the dinner menu is on a weekly rotation so if you are staying there for 2 weeks you end up with the same menu for the second week but I could not fault it other than that. The staff were also fabulous with the children staying in the hotel. I would recommend it to anyone. Even if you don't use the spa/gym area go up to have a look at the amazing view of Alcudia Bay.

Room Tip: There is a bar at one end of the hotel which plays music until the early hours of the morning so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edith1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thbgranplaya, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for posting your opinion and assessment of your holiday. We hope that you will recommend our hotel to your friends, and we will be delighted to welcome you again in THB Gran Playa.
Best regards and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    123
    57
    17
    14
See reviews for
52
214
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I have recently returned from a two week ‘All Inclusive’ Jet 2 holiday at the THB Gran Playa at C'an Picafort.

The hotel is a 1960’s hotel that has been upgraded over the years to a good standard. It is really a full board hotel that includes drinks to qualify it as an ‘All Inclusive’, but doesn’t provide hot food outside of the mealtime hours as a modern all inclusive hotel/venue would provide.
As it is an older hotel the bedrooms are small by modern standards but are kept immaculate with daily room service. However, the sheets don’t seem to be changed that often as we could feel the sand in there from previous visits to the beach! Also, during our 14 day visit shampoos etc. were only provided on day one and soon ran out!
We did find the beds hard and uncomfy and we both got back aches during the first week, which hot baths tended to cure. Sort of got used to them the second week!
We found all the staff at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant provided a good choice and the menu were rotated on weekly basis and there was a chef to provide meat and fish cooked fresh from the griddle. Can’t say we had a poor meal and enjoyed the breakfasts which were typically Spanish/European fare.
The hotel and resort is quite popular with German & Dutch tourists and in early September were mainly older couples and no kids which were better for us!
My only really complaint about the hotel was the local beer served in the hotel, it was awful. I think they should change it for Estella Dam.
C'an Picafort is an ideal location for older couples quieter than Alcudia but has a good selection of bars, restaurants and souvenir type shops.
The hotel is close to the beach, which is great for us as we are beach lovers. The beach is clean and shallow to a fair way out. Families tend to congregate closer to the promenade, therefore if you want a more ‘adult’ area, walk towards the obelisk towers 15 mins down the beach towards Alcudia.

Overall, if we were going to C'an Picafort again I would definitely consider booking this hotel again as we felt is was great value for money, great location and we had a great time there. It was even worth sticking with some of the night time entertainment (before going to watch footie at the Shipwrecked Bar!).


Tips: The bedrooms either face the main thoroughfare road or the rear street (beach side); the beach side is the quieter. If you like spending the day on the beach ask reception to make a picnic box up for you. They will also provide towels if asked. If you want a decent pint, visit the Shipwrecked bar around the corner.

Room Tip: Choose a beach side room, quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thbgranplaya, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are grateful for their input and consideration to visit our hotel again in the future. For us, the most important thing is your opinion of "great value for money", because that is our main task: "Give a good service at the best price".
Thanks and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from an 11 night Jet2 holiday to the Gran Playa.......
The Hotel has a 4*rating.....my advice would be go with the expectation of a 2* and will come back thinking that should be a 3* at least!!!! A bit tongue in cheek I know but it really should only be a 3* at the very best!!!

We stayed in Room 417 (top floor sea view)
The room was very small and very dated,even with two very small single beds(pushed together) two people could not pass each other between the bed end and dressing table. The rooms are cleaned each day and beds made....however we had three cobwebs on the ceiling all 11 nights!!! We had a balcony that seemed to slop out wards that made you feel funny when standing.
On the plus side the bathroom was nice and clean and the Air con and fridge very welcome.
We went half board.....after the first mornings so called Breakfast we only went twice again.....it was very poor!!!! They had a Chef cooking eggs etc but they used Pancake mixture for Omelettes....not a nice taste. The evening meals are not much better main criticism the food was never hot only warm and the even if you went for the salad choice you had to use a warmed up plate! They had a so called themed menu every night...Majorcan,European,American,Asian,Spanish(bit of a cheat as is Majorcan not Spanish?)Italian etc.We say so called themed because the term was very loosely used!! A few examples sweet and sour........yes Meatballs? Minestrone soup made with Pasta Shells. Again don't get me wrong we did not starve. But the biggest problem was they do All inclusive which meant on most nights we never got asked for a drinks order! Also only two waitresses in a dinning room with 98 tables half made up for 4 people so this meant finished plates left on your table. The restaurant has air con but was very rarely switched on. In fact on two nights we waked out half way through because it was unbearable.
I can not comment fully on the bar,again I think because of the all inclusive side after waiting 10 mins to be severed before walking away.
The pool is very small but as many have said the beach is only a 2 min walk away.
I feel the Hotel could do so much better because of its location and should drop the All inclusive side and concentrate on getting its standards back to a 4* as advertised.

C'an Picafort it's self as many have said is very much a German tourist resort. I have no problems with this but be warned all the Bars and Restaurants are set up for this.

Room Tip: We had 417 with sea view....but gets very little sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiggie'n'blarti... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thbgranplaya, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
I want to thank you your opinion. We consider all opinions and suggestions of our esteemed guests, and this helps us to try to improve every day.
Thanks again and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What can I say............. Rooms a good size & clean. Towels changed when you want. Room cleaned every day.

Food, went all inclusive. Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, there was a chef to cook! Breakfast was eggs, omelette etc. Lunch & dinner a selection of meat / fish / kebabs as well as help yourself food. There was a selection of hot, cold & alcoholic drinks.

Bar/Pool, waiter service by the bar & terrace area! Limited sun beds but we got 2 every day (might be different in height of season).

Evening Entertainment, 4 or 5 of the 7 nights we were there there was entertainment. Some nights were better than others, but overall was good.

Management & Staff. Without exception we found all to be very helpful & genuinely seemed to enjoy working there.

About 70% of the guests were non UK. Mostly German. For me, this is a good sign as it means it will be a better quality.

So, for me, overall this was a lovely holiday. If you want a full English every morning bring your own sausages!! Enjoy what other countries / cultures have to offer, or you could always help the UK economy by staying in the UK!?!

9/10 for what I paid / expected.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattyL81019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your appreciation of "Good value for money". We work to ensure that our customers are satisfied and decide to visit our Hotel THB Gran Playa in the future.
Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have recently returned from a Jet 2 holiday at the THB Gran Playa at C'an Picafort.
The hotel is immaculate with daily room service. The restaurant choice was limited and the
meals eaten over 14 days were never hot, just warm even the soup.
This resort is quite popular with German & Dutch tourists, so when we went we were outnumbered by Dutch and German, no problem at all, Although I think the hotels food catered for these nationalities rather than British. The worst meal I found was breakfast, cereal was Ok but the hot meal meant Spanish bacon and very small sausages.Thanks to the local Shipwrecked bar 5 mins walk, really enjoyed their English breakfasts.
We went all inclusive at the hotel and I can honestly say that we never received a decent cup of coffee i.e from Cappuccino to Latte. We actually found a cafe near the port that served excellent coffe similar to mainland spain.

All inclusive means local beers/vino/shorts and instant coffee rather than ground.

We had problems with the shower screen that had a bottom skirt missing, this was reported but never fixed. I had to improvise with a shower mat wapped in plastic and postioned between the screen and the bath which stopped water flooding onto the bathroom floor.

The main lift was out of service from Sunday till the day we departed on the following Thurdsay (5 days) which I thought was poor for a 4 star hotel's service.

I would not recommend staying all inclusive, rathert half board unless the deal is worthwhile.

C'an Picofort is an ideal location very quiet with lots of bars and shops (no big department stores) just the souvenir type shops. It has a really good weekly market (fridays) The beach is clean but narrow to navigate when the sun is out and the sunbeds are in use. Watch out for sand flies and mosquitos, best to take a repellant, a zapper or some antihistamine cream/tablets..

Room Tip: The rooms either face the main thoroughfare road or the rear street, I would suggest the rear is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
I thank you for your opinions. As you rightly said, we have had some problems with the repair of one of our lifts for a few days, but at all times it worked the other elevator. We hope that this has not been a great inconvenience to you, and we hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel in September this year for six nights.All of the staff were efficient and friendly. Rooms were immaculate towels changed everyday.We stayed Bed and Breakfast but had the occasional dinner in the hotel and the food was good. If I could criticise it would be not enough sockets for hair tongs and travel iron , fridge too small no ice box and no kettle to make tea. Other than this I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
I want to thank your intention to visit our hotel again. We will do our best to make your holiday unforgettable.
Best regards and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for 10 nights with my husband in September this year. Rooms are really clean but very small, you either look out on main road which is very busy or back road behind hotel, where you can just about see the sea. Beds were not very comfortable, they seemed smaller than other hotels.Pool area very cramped, but clean, we found food ok, but breakfast was monotonous, very German orientated. Evening meal was themed every night , hardly any veg at all not even usual tinned, and no real potatoes, it was all chips,duchess,slices, fried new, all the kind you would buy from Iceland. Drinks were priced reasonable and staff was on the whole friendly. The nearby beach was really good, could walk for miles in both directions. Many bars to drink in,lookie lookies could get quite annoying at times though, as did massage people on beach.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover201059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GcastilloGRP, Gerente at Hotel THB Gran Playa, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Customer,
All staff at the Hotel THB Gran Playa works to make our guests feel at home, and we appreciate the feedback like yours to continue improving. We take note of your comments and we will try to get you back to visit us again
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ca'n Picafort hotels
0.2 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#7 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
Hotel & Spa Ferrer Concord
#11 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonga Tower Design Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THB Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THB Gran Playa

Property: Hotel THB Gran Playa
Address: Passeig Colom 126, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#11 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THB Gran Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, only 50m from a magnificent beach. The Hotel THB Gran Playa offers a bar-cafeteria, dining room with buffet service and show cooking, lounge, satellite TV room, a completely air conditioned main floor, board games, billiards and internet access. Outside there is a swimming pool for adults and children and our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THB Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing