We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived at the hotel mid afternoon and were promptly checked in, we were staying on the 3rd floor so took the lift, although there are only four flights of stairs so easily manageble if you want to walk. Our room overlooked the back and we had a partial view of the sea and mountains which was lovley in the evening as the sun was setting. Room was a good size with twin beds, plenty of room in the wardrobe aswell, bathroom was amazing a huge sink with shower over bath which was really powerfull! only thing i would say is that there was no plug socket at the dressing table, so i had to either use my straightners in the bathroom or plug them in at the side tables of the bed and stretch them accross, not a major issue but just something that would make it easier for us girls when getting ready. We went B&B which was fine, cooked breakfast, cereals, ham and cheeses, and fresh fruit, nothing special but ok.

I stated on the booking that we were going for my boyfriends bday, later on after we had unpacked a man from reception came with a bottle of champagne and glasses for us both which i thought was a lovely gesture, we have been to far more exotic place than Majorca for birthdays and never received anything like that!

The position of the hotel is brilliant right in the middle of the resort but not at all noisy at night. There are some amazing restaurants and cafes in Ca'n Picafort and we went to a few, first off there is a restaurant on the front that we called the strawberry restaurant as there are waiters offering strawberries to those walking past, they do amzing steaks, my boyfriend had a T Bone, it was massive! and also the strawberry sangria is a must. El Goucho is an Argentinian restaurant that serves huge plates of meat off the BBQ and also fish, we had a mixed grill to share that comes on a griddle, needless to say we didnt each much the next day. Monaco is at the top of the main street and does a mean pizza!

This was the second time going back to Ca'n Picafort and im sure we will be back again! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 401 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just returned from a short break , Friday 12th October till Tuesday 17th. Really loved the hotel, great food, bed not quite so good as a bit springy but it was ok, staff and service was first class, no noise at night, the outside garden and pool area was excellent. All facilities for checking out were good, showers etc upstairs but we needed a room to change in which wasn't offered. One minus point: on arrival we would have liked something to drink but the bar was shut and no facilities in our room to make a cup of tea or coffee. I realise we were on half-board and not self-catering, but this would have been a welcome for us as we had travelled on the coach for 3 hours to get there! However, over all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor at the back. I would have preferred a sea view but it didn't real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieN2545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We arrived at 1am, There was a salad and hot coffee prepared for us in the dining room,good start.The hotel is smaller than we are used to but it was fresh and clean.The room is small but fine for a couple,the beds are firm.The things we liked about this hotel are many.First I have to say,the staff are all amazing,the reception,dining room staff,bar staff and our bubbly wee housemaid were so helpful and friendly and all helped to make our holiday good,special mention must go to Alfredo and Paoula who made us laugh a lot.No queuing up for drinks,waiter service,as soon as you sit down,day or night they come to fill your glass.The meals were good,some days better than others I even tried some of the fish dishes and really enjoyed them.Sweet dishes are mostly a selection of gatauxes and of course fresh fruit and ice cream.|The only downside is that sometimes the food was not hot but I think that is a problem in a lot of hotels.There were a lot of Germans,Spanish other nationalities as well as British and at first we thought this would be a sedate holiday.It was not. All the Nationalities mingled and we had such a laugh trying to have a conversation with each other spent the evenings in each others company and made lots of good friends.Not so keen on having to wait to be shown to a table at every meal but could see why it had to be done because it was very busy.We were there to relax and have fun,not to do much sightseeing and as far as we are concerned it was great value for money.The lounge closed down at 12am which was disappointing as we could not sit and chat to new friends so we either had to go to our room or go to bars outside.This was so that residents had peace at night but its a shame there was not an area we could sit and relax into the early hours.We would definately go back to this hotel if we were in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pammie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned on 3rd October from Gran Playa after 10 night stay all inclusive,two couples in their forties. hotel was spotlessly clean, food had ample choice,waiters even serve you drinks when you are at the outside siting area,Alberto,Adrian,John and the girls wait on you for your every need, no queing for drinks at all.Maid service everyday, fridge,hairdrier and toiletries provided in your room,one minute from the beach and looking around the resort the Hotel has a prime location.Visited Palma for the day and the bus stop is across the road making easy access to visit other resorts.Great location for rest,relaxation or you can visit bars restraunts around the area.All in all highly recomended.

Room Tip: Room 347 3rd floor gives you some sea views, it is at the back of the hotel so the road is qieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 974Mariak974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

just returned from a 4 night stay at The Gran Playa....i loved it when u go for your meal you a seated at your table no looking round for a spare table ...the pool area whilst small is peacefull and relaxed ..sunbeds aplenty..the room we stayed in had a excellent view of the sea and pool room 417......very close to the beach ...all in all would highly recommend

Room Tip: 417 pool and sea view sun in morning and afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jacquie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just back from great holiday. Traveled with my husband and son. This hotel is ideally situated one block from the beautiful beach,prom and numerous great restaurants and just around the corner from the main shopping area. it is well maintained, clean and modern. We went all inclusive. Food was fabulous with varied with themed evenings. Bar served large variety of drinks and cocktails! The dining room staff was were most helpful. Entertainment was poor enough but there was music every night. Not suitable for small children, no kids club. The pool area was small but that didn't matter as the beach was so near. The only negative was the size of the room. It was far too small for 3 adults. They just put a third bed into it. Not a big deal. The reception staff has excellent English and made us feel most welcome. On the whole it is a fabulous hotel and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel for two weeks with wife and 2 kids.
Compared to other 4 Stars hotels in town, this shows that it is rather old.
It should be downgraded to 3 Stars.
Things get broken. We had to move from our room for one night because the toiled flushed the room. Where we moved in, the Satelite TV was not working....
At the Reception they had a long list of things to repare...

BEWARE!! The Manager (who is rarely there..) is maximizing the occupancy of the Hotel.
So in our case, when we arrived (I have two very little girls), there was not a room for us, even though we paid for the full Holiday well in advance!
They booked us into another location for one night and had to move then.
During our stay we heard that another two couples had the same treatment!

Service is OK although considering that 90% of guests are foreigner, English at least should be spoken fluently...

The Hotel would need a foreign Manager...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Massimo8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,046 reviews
16.9 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#5 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
214 reviews
32.4 mi away
Hotel Thb Sur Mallorca
Hotel Thb Sur Mallorca
#5 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
THB Cala Lliteras
THB Cala Lliteras
#12 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
266 reviews
18.1 mi away
Aparthotel THB Sa Coma Platja
27.9 mi away
THB El Cid
THB El Cid
#6 of 78 in Playa de Palma
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THB Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THB Gran Playa

Address: Passeig Colom 126, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: $86 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THB Gran Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, only 50m from a magnificent beach. The Hotel THB Gran Playa offers a bar-cafeteria, dining room with buffet service and show cooking, lounge, satellite TV room, a completely air conditioned main floor, board games, billiards and internet access. Outside there is a swimming pool for adults and children and our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THB Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing