We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel THB Gran Playa
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Ca'n Picafort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 18th July to 25th July as family of 4, kids ages 6 and 3. Arrived at 2am after travelling 2 hours on the bus to be told that our room was not ready!! We where tired and to be told this with 2 kids was totally wrong my 6 yr old just cried and the guy who was giving us this information was some security man who basically told us that it wasn't his problem! He then phoned another hotel for us to stay for that night, so into another taxi by the time we got settled for bed it was well after 3am. The next morning a taxi back again and finally got our room the man we where dealing with this time was very nice and apologised, but it still was terrible to have experienced this.
Our room was lovely and hotel very clean..food was good but breakfast finished to early we struggled every morning to be down for 10am!
Pool was not big but there didn't seem to be alot of people in the pool so it didn't really affect the kids.
Food was fine we where all inclusive but ate out 2 nights.
Plenty going on in the resort for all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is fabulous. The level of cleanliness and vigilence of staff was second to none. The food was excellent. Before I went I read other peoples comments about the food and took far too much spending money ready to eat out every night!!! No need. The hotel provide a staff member at each meal who makes freshly cooked items to order, which are delicious. There is also a fully stocked salad bar with everything you could desire, fruits, cheeses, deserts, and ready made foods with plenty of choice. The entertainment was okay, the disco night was very good. The resort is beautiful, beach close by and to die for. The pool was ideal for us as we are a family of four with two kids 9 and 4 years, quite compact and safe. In the main the staff were great except a rather tall balding barman who was a bit of a jobsworth, didn't like him one bit!! Still giving it 5 stars though!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed her for a week 19th-26th July 2012, AI. 2 Adults 1 child (9yrs). For the money (Teletext Holidays) this is an excellent hotel, modern, clean, room a little small for 3, but fine. All staff polite and professional. Food was good with an excellent choice. Pool is a little on the small side, but the beach is so close, it didn't really matter. Location is good, right in the heart of the resort with plenty to see and do in the evening. Good mix of English, German Spanish, Irish, Dutch, and Eastern European.
Overall excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the back (faces the sea), this is a quiteter road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent a week at the Gran Playa in July 2012 as a family of four – 2 adults, 2 teenagers. All in all, this is a nice hotel for you if you're looking for a good location near the beach, clean rooms and don't care too much about the quality of the food or the entertainment. I would not have given this hotel a 4-star rating, but a solid 3-star rating seems fair to me. The guests are mostly families / middle-aged people, 70% German, perhaps 10% English, 10% Spanish, the rest made up by other nationalities.

Positives:
1. The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and for the most part well maintained. This is very important to us while on holiday, so we were really pleased! Sheets and towels were replaced regularly, toiletries in the rooms were of a decent standard and the housekeeping team was very attentive to detail – great.
2. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times – from check-in / reception to dining room staff and bar staff. Always smiling, speaking Catalan / Spanish / English / German as required and very attentive without being too intrusive or overbearing.
3. The location of the hotel is really good. It's about two streets back from the beach (3 mins walk) and on the main street of the resort, so within easy reach of shops, cafes, bars etc. If you fancy a lazy beach holiday, you're on the beach within minutes. If you fancy exploring the surroundings, there's good access to public transport and plenty of parking if you have a hire car (as we did).
4. The rooms, while not very large, are comfortable with very nice, bright, probably recently renovated bathrooms and adequate storage space. Good, strong air-con. Modern flat-screen TVs with lots of Spanish , German and French TV channels plus BBC1, BBC2 and a couple of English news channels. The balcony, which was facing the road, was a nice touch, though we only used it to dry beach towels etc.

Negatives:
1. The dining room is a massive let-down to the hotel. Firstly, it is dark and dingy – it would have been lovely to be able to sit outside for some meals or to at least see some daylight. Secondly, there are too many tables too close together, making this even more claustrophobic. Thirdly, the air conditioning was completely inadequate, so it was really too hot to sit in the dining room for longer than absolutely necessary. Even in the mornings, it was stiflingly hot in there.
2. The food. Breakfast was by far the best meal, with a selection of cold meats and cheeses, full English breakfast (with eggs made to order), yogurts, fruits, cereals and a good selection of breads and rolls. It would have been nice if they had managed not to burn the croissants / pastries at least once during our stay! However, lunch and dinner largely consisted of deep fried or bland, overcooked mass catering-style food. 'Average level canteen fare in varying shades of brown' is how my boyfriend described it – very fitting. However, the salad bar and fruit available for dessert were ok and ensured that we didn't have to go hungry. We ended up eating out a few times rather than clogging up our arteries with the hotel food, which was a good idea. So we would not recommend staying at this hotel on an all-inclusive basis.
3. The evening entertainment was quite poor. I appreciate that it's incredibly difficult to put on evening entertainment to suit all tastes – this is highly subjective. During our week at the hotel, there was a Flamenco show (really quite poor dancing skills), a 'musical duo' who seemed a bit bored with their own efforts (the keyboard player seemed busy watching the footie on the screen above the bar rather than concentrating on his music) and a very, very German 'disco'... well. Not for us.
4. The hotel pool is very small and 'crammed in' – not really a nice space to relax. But we were keener on the beach anyway, so not a big issue for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 6th to 13th July 2012 and I endorse most if not all of the comments posted already. The hotel is clean which I expect, the food was good and reasonably varied and the majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was popular with German tourists – not sure why – with British and Spanish making up the majority of the rest of the clientèle. Entertainment was provided 3 nights out of 7 and was standard Spanish fair but a walk along the Beach front meant you could also be entertained by Amy Winehouse, Lady Gaga, Michael Jackson etc who were all good professional turns and only cost you the price of a pint.
The hotel location is two streets back from the sea front. The sea could just be seen over the roof tops from our room on the third floor at the rear of the hotel which we had requested .The Hotel’s Pool was a little on the small side but more than adequate and the beach is within a one minute walk if you want the beach and a swim in the sea.
Nice room and bathroom which were cleaned daily and the best selection I’ve had of British TV channels were provided gratis on the modern LCD TV. The hotel is ideally located on the main street of Ca'n Picafort – which is a small place but still a bigger resort than we had anticipated with plenty of local shops and restaurants. An evening dress code was suggested for the dining room, but regrettably as usual this was ignored by a significant minority.
If you want to weigh your bags in the hotel when leaving it is one euro each time you put a bag on and off of the scales. I didn’t use this service and for being negligent it cost me 20 Euros as I was 1 Kilo over my allocated 15 k for hold luggage when weighed at the Airport. Thanks for being so understanding Ryan Air! And as I wasn’t allowed to “guide” my hand luggage into their metal contraption it cost me a further 50 Euros for it being apparently oversize – Although this small suitcase has been used on 10 occasions before with Ryan Air with no discernible difference in the content and no problems encountered previously. Transfer time to the airport by shuttle bus took us nearly 2 hrs on the return journey due to numerous pickups on the way.
Would return to Ca'n Picafort and use the same hotel again. And although it is far more convenient for us to fly from Prestwick we will not use Ryan Air in future to get there.

Room Tip: Back of Hotel . Third or 4th floor for views and to keep any noise levels to a minimum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SkelKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

we have just returned from a short 4 night stay and got just what we wanted . a very clean,freindly hotel ok the food was aimed more at the german market but there was alwas something to choose from and the staff were very helpful. now to on the beach on there photos they have pictures of this hotel and a similar named 2* hotel in sa coma which is where they will try and send you! anybody booking through another travel company and you want somewhere quiet and relaxing and 50 metres from the beach then enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank trident2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We went to this hotel last year with my son and his family and had a nice time.
My wife and I decided to return this year- big mistake. The air-con was not working and we were roasting in our room so decide to open the balcony doors.
The mosquitos loved us!!
We spoke to 5 different members of staff and were given 5 different reasons for the lack of air-con, in fact we were blatantly lied to.The air-con came on after 5 days and we were told that it was just a case of turning it on and that the reason was economy.
The food was not as good as last yearwith the breakfast bacon being inedible and some evening meals having meat that could have been used to sole shoes!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beejay287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ca'n Picafort
0.3 mi away
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
Grupotel Gran Vista & Spa
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
BQ Can Picafort Hotel
#3 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exagon Park
Exagon Park
#5 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,801 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Son Baulo
Hotel Son Baulo
#9 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sea Hotel by Grupotel
The Sea Hotel by Grupotel
#1 of 2 in Santa Margalida
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THB Gran Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THB Gran Playa

Address: Passeig Colom 126, 07458 Ca'n Picafort, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Ca'n Picafort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
#11 Family Hotel in Ca'n Picafort
Price Range: $82 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel THB Gran Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the centre of Ca'n Picafort in the north of Majorca, only 50m from a magnificent beach. The Hotel THB Gran Playa offers a bar-cafeteria, dining room with buffet service and show cooking, lounge, satellite TV room, a completely air conditioned main floor, board games, billiards and internet access. Outside there is a swimming pool for adults and children and our SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel THB Gran Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gran Playa
Hotel THB Gran Playa Ca'n Picafort, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing