We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an ok stay but food was Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Green Garden
Ranked #10 of 59 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We thoroughly looked into which hotel to go to on our family summer holiday this year meticulously as we were pushing the boat out and going 4* all inc.
The hotel on arrival does have the 'wow' factor with the very impressive looking reception area and the ponds with turtles & fish, however our room was more mediocre 3*.
On a positive the food was excellent and always excellent - for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, plenty of choice, always hot and replenished regularly. The choice of drinks was very good as well both alcoholic and soft drinks.
The kids club staff were very enthusiastic and a offered a good schedule for the kids and I enjoyed the daily aqua aerobics too!!
The other staff were courteous. Our cleaner Melina was friendly and did a good job & Alberto in the dining room was friendly and very helpful. Also Carmelo in the pool bar taught me some Spanish too and did a mean La Mumba!!
The pool didn't seem big enough when the hotel was at full capacity - especially as the top pool is deep so the kids can only really use the lower one and there was an issue with lack of sunbeds. There are not enough for the amount of people who were staying at the hotel. The hotel policy to remove towels on unused beds is not enforced by the hotel so my husband had to get up at 7am every morning just to get sunbeds for the 4 of us..!!!!
There also seems to be a lack of staff at the hotel. This is reflected in the waiting times at the bar at night & lack of maintenance & small things like drinking glasses which were left on the outside tables from the night before not being collected until well after breakfast was finished!!
Our room looked sad and tired and needed some TLC i.e. painting, grouting etc. Around the hotel there were cracked floor tiles & the back of the pool area was a dumping site for old and broken sun beds & umbrellas & used drinking cups. But the main maintenance issue was the gym!! This wasn't even 1* but a health & safety hazard. Now I know some people say 'why use a gym on holiday?' but I do and a lot of other people were too & it was one of the reasons we chose this hotel as it listed it on their website. Every machine in the gym was rusty, the walls had paint cracking and falling off, there was a hole in the ceiling, it was never cleaned when we were there and there were dirty cups left and never collected even on our last day!
Overall though we did enjoy our stay at the hotel but we disagree with the rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becky2003_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director General at Aparthotel Green Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Becky,

Thank you for taking the time to review your impressions about our hotel. We are pleased to know about your satisfaction with our food and the service of our staff. On the other points you mention, we take note to include them in the improvements plan for next season.

Best regards,
Joan Sastre Flexas
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 465 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

we stayed here in june 3013 as a family of 5, we would definetly go again, the service was excellent, hotel spotless, good variety of food, fantastic packed entertainment, the list is endless...no faults what so ever!! yes it is mainly german, but so what! they are well mannered n polite, plus it allowed us to spend the time together as a family without having to mix....we had great weather n came back with great tans...
the pool area is lovely, not once did we b without a sunbed....the local town was nice n friendly, great shops n a lovely sandy/blue sea beaches.
market on a sat morning
the entertainemnt staff work very hard n are very friendly with the kids n really get them involved, plus they can communicate with the children in all languages....only wish id of brought the cd lol

so if ur hesitating to book, then just go ahead u wont b dissapointed....i will definetly be going back next year

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director General at Aparthotel Green Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Kerry,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at our hotel.
We are pleased to see that we have not met your expectations, which is to reach our goal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next vacation.

Best regards,
Joan Sastre Flexas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely hotel and excellent value. If you're expecting the Ritz then it isn't that, but for the price the place is great. The best things about it are the hard working and friendly staff, the excellent food ( lots of choice), and the drinks (plentiful and decent). The rooms are fine, although next time I would choose a higher floor perhaps, but really, who goes on holiday to sit in their room?
The resort of Cala Ratjada is really lovely and is a short pleasant walk away from the hotel. The bars and cafes are great, lots of choice. It has a very laid back and relaxed atmosphere. This primarily a German resort and all the better for it, so if you're looking for full English breakfasts and Sky tv showing English football then this probably isn't for you. If you are looking for a slightly more well heeled and relaxed feel then head here.
The beach of Cala Agulla is a short and lovely walk away through a beautiful pine forest. The beach itself is beautiful, but get there early if you want to rent sun loungers, it does get quite busy. The small beachside cafe is lovely, with some great fresh fish specials for lunch, the grilled sardines were fab!
The one very small downside on being at this side of the island is the transfer time, we were only there for four nights, and had we known about the three hour shared bus transfer we would probably have chipped in for a private transfer as it did eat into our holiday time. A private transfer only takes fifty minutes....worth considering if you're on a shorter break.
I recommend this hotel and also this resort. The hotel had a lovely mix of age ranges and groups, from families to younger groups, couples, friends and solo travellers. It would suit most people unless you're looking for a manic Magaluf style holiday....then you should head there instead!
Overall, great for the price and a well managed hotel...

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a high floor. All rooms the same but those on lower floors are a little dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Aparthotel Green Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear happy75london,

Thank you very much for your review and your kind words!

We appreciate your opinion because it encourages us to continue in the same line of work.

We hope to have you with us again soon.

Joan Sastre
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel but ate here. I am coeliac and struggled to find gluten free food anywhere. The staff were very good, the chef came and showed me what was gluten free on the buffet and also gave me a choice of foods he was prepared to cook for me especially. I will definitely be looking into staying here in the future. I also had a wonder around the pool area and it was very nice.

The newcastle girls!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Wendy_nufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Aparthotel Green Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments about our food for celiacs.

We are pleased to see that you value ​​our effort to offer a wide range of quality food for celiac patients.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you in our hotel on your next vacation.

Joan Sastre
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The stars were 1. great continental mix of guests. 2. great restaurant staff. 3. excellent; energetic; attentive entertainment staff throughout. 4. cleanliness of pool
For us, not 4 star food; not 4 star accommodation (within block 3); not 4 star juices at breakfast (from a machine)...
Liked the turtles though and the transfers by resorthoppa/A2B were as described even though I had booked less than 24 hours in advance. Despite some fears, we were on their list and our return time was produced by the hotel upon request 24 hrs before departure. I could complain about the 2hr 20 return time to the airport this morning but that would be unfair. If I wasn't prepared to accept the pickups from other locations, I should have shelled out a lot more and got a taxi.

Room Tip: I understand some of the rooms are of a much higher standard - my budget was fairly high so expected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanGallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Aparthotel Green Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Jean,

We thank you your comments about your stay in our hotel.

We are very pleased with your satisfaction with the work of our staff and we welcome your feedback about our rooms and food. They will help us to improve.

Best regards,
Joan Sastre
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from 10 days holiday at Green Garden (May 2013). It was our first experience of an all inclusive holiday and first experience of travelling as a family of five, and I have to say we had a brilliant time - mainly due to the excellence of the hotel facilities and its staff. I have to say some of the reviews on here feel at odds with our experience of this hotel.
It was well-staffed, exceptionally clean and very well run.
We arrived in the middle of the night after a long transfer - around 2 hours if there are lots of other people to drop off. Checking-in was easy although we weren't expecting to pay 40 euros for the cot we had requested. However, I was relieved to see it was a proper cot and not a travel cot when we got to our room and our two-year-old slept soundly in it for the whole holiday. The apartment was clean and functional - we don't spend much time in our rooms on holiday so can't really see why basic facilities are such an issue for so many people? Importantly, the bathroom was absolutely spotless and we had clean towels and also sheets for the cot whenever we needed them. We also requested an extra pillow and blanket at some point in the holiday and this was delivered quickly and with no fuss. The reception staff also helped us out with printing out new boarding passes with no problems at all.
Yes, Cala Ratjada is predominately a German resort but so what? Getting away from beered-up Brits is not such a bad thing and all the staff spoke English to us when we needed to. We were lucky enough to be out there for the European Cup Final (two German teams) - many fans were there, the atmosphere was great and yet there were no fights or raging drunks to contend with. There was one night where there was some noise but nothing to warrant a complaint. The resort itself is a lively town with a great Saturday-morning market. The hotel has three beautiful beaches within walking distance - Cala Aguila is particularly lovely and you can get there through a pleasant forest walk.
I was particularly impressed with the language and child-entertaining skills of the Kids' Club /Events team. They were energetic and extremely kind to all the children; even our two-year-old, who was too young to join club was included in some of the games which was beyond the call of duty. There was a wide variety of events for the children, including horse-riding and daily "medal games", which the children love. The nightly kids' disco was loved by all the children, especially our toddler and I bitterly regret not getting the chance to buy the disco CD as our children are still singing the songs. The club was run primarily through German but when the staff met us they made sure they used English too. I was extremly impressed. The Kids' Club had its own hut in a little sand-floored play area so the children felt quite secure and were happy to play there. After a day with the children, the events team then led the evening entertainment for the adults - quite a feat of endurance. This team is such a brilliant asset for the hotel group - you should be very proud of them!
As we visited Green Garden at the beginning of the season, it was relatively quiet. I can't vouch for what it would be like in the high-season as it is a large complex, housing around 800 I was told. The usual "Germans with their beach towels" debate was a nonsense and not an issue in my experience there. There was an air of expectation in the hotel during the time we were there: trees/shrubs were being trimmed, bushes planted and all the TVs in the rooms were being upgraded to big flat-screen models. Still showing German channels but we watched either BBC World News or Fireman Sam in German (Feuerwehrmann Sam if you are interested).
The food and also the food service were excellent. I am quite a strict vegetarian and only struggled to find a main meal once in the 10 days we were there. Having never chosen all-inclusive before, we were a little apprehensive that the food would be repetitive, but it wasn't. Our children (9, 5 and 2) could always find something to eat and loved the desserts most of all. There was a huge choice of salads and vegetables, with pasta and at least two sauces always available. There was a grill service at every meal which meant our 5 year old was happy and tried many new dishes. You could live on chips if you wanted but we didn't. The staff in the restaurant were great and seemed very motivated. They would whip your plate away if they even suspected you were finished and always made an effort to seat us personally - we were an awkward number of five people. We never queued for a seat or for food. There were plenty of options for drinks and San Miguel on tap which made my partner very happy. In fact it was the restaurant's Matire' D, Alberto, who prompted me to write this review as he mentioned that not many British people came to the resort.
I would recommend the resort and this hotel - we had a lovely time there and would definitely return. We were a bit unlucky with the weather but we simply used the indoor pool for entertainment - it's a very well-equppied complex and the children were never bored. My family had a fantastic time and I felt the trip was great value for money. I returned home happy and relaxed, which is an achievement in itself as we travelled there and back wtih Ryanair.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are right by the entertainment stage - if your kids like to go to bed early then don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sianier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Manager at Aparthotel Green Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Sianier,

Thank you very much for your great review!

We appreciate your opinion very much because we are working to have more british guests in the future.

We hope to have you with us again soon, this time, for sure with better weather !

Joan Sastre
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here on 2nd October 2010. Upon booking we didn't realise the area and entertainment was mostly focussed around german occupants. This wasn't a BIG problem because the staff all spoke english aswell, it was just harder to interact with other guests.
The receptionist didn't seem to understand English which was a little frustrating at times but they were helpful. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Food was delicious, and there was a great variety, though you had to be seated by a certain time or no entry to the restaurant. All inclusive included a lot of alcoholic cocktails, and lots of virgin drinks for my pregnant girlfriend (at the time). The rooms were clean and we had no problems with ants or flooding, or noise... Fair enough, some of the rooms didnt have a brilliant view, but nobody goes on holiday to majorca, to sit and look out of their hotel windows, really???
The pool was refreshing and there was plenty to do. Would reccomend this resort to anybody, everyone was fantastic! Thank you.

Room Tip: Didnt spend an awful lot of time in the room... might as well stay at home if you want to sit in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Ratjada
0.3 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#4 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#8 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Pineda
Prinsotel La Pineda
#18 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
254 reviews
26.3 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
0.2 mi away
Hotel Illot Suite & Spa
Hotel Illot Suite & Spa
#49 of 59 in Cala Ratjada
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Green Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Green Garden

Address: Calle Castellet 59, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range: $90 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Green Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Garden Aparthotel is synonymous with nature, relax, sun and beach in one of the most beautiful natural nooks of Majorca. This apartments hotel for families in Cala Agulla offers all the necessary services for a holiday full of entertainment with children and a fabulous location surrounded by unique natural landscapes at the foot of the Mediterranean. A destination for living unforgettable moments with your family. Always with the personalised attention and guaranty of Garden Hotels. The Green Garden Aparthotel stands out for its 4-star services specially designed for children's entertainment and adults' relax, and for its privileged location near Cala Agulla beach and a few kilometres away from the Península de Llevant Natural Park. Enjoy 3.000 square metres of gardens, terraces, outdoor swimming pools, sport facilities... The perfect accommodation in Majorca for those looking for calmness and comfort: our hotel in Cala Agulla beach combines spaces for rest with endless activities for all ages, tastes and interests. In its 236 apartments you will be able to enjoy all the comfort and the necessary services for your holidays, as well as thousands of customised plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Green Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Garden Aparthotel Hotel Cala Ratjada
Aparthotel Green Garden Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Aparthotel Green Garden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing