We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel irish 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Illot Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Illot Suites & Spa
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel irish 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in the lllot suite for 1 week all inclusive.We really enjoyed our stay there..Apartment was very clean and spacious.The food was very good and a great selection.The mini club was Great for our 4 year old,Barbara was the entertainer she does a Great Job and really connects with children,She really enjoys her job..Bar staff were very friendly as were restaurant staff..reception very welcoming on our arrival...I used the spa for a treatment and the indoor pool all very good..A cot was also provided in our room for the baby big and spacious!All in all i would recommend this hotel for a relaxing hol and atmosphere.Yes i would rate it as a 4 star.

Room Tip: Garden view are quiet if travelling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishholiday2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    80
    42
    22
    31
See reviews for
113
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from 1 week all inclusive with 2 kids. Hotel is in a great location - just over 5 mins walk to a lovely marina and 10 mins to the main largest beach. Shops, bars and restaurants under 1 min. walk. Our room was overlooking the pool with a view of the mountains, and was quiet at night. The hotel on the whole is modern, clean and spacious. The rooms are a decent size and modern, but basic. The satellite tv has no english speaking channels for kids, just 2 news channels. The rooms are "cleaned" daily. Beds made and towels changed, but very little evidence of actual cleaning.

The pool is the downside to the hotel - it is too small for a hotel of this size, and like all other reviews have stated, the decking around it needs urgent attention. Planks lift as you walk on them, and I actually came across a nail jutting out. If another guest hadn't banged it back down, someone could have been very hurt indeed. Young children just run along and don't look down at their feet! It also gets very slippy when wet. The annoying thing is that it could be fixed very easily and inexpensively. The hotel state that the pool area only opens at 8am and the door is locked to the outside until then, but on quite a few mornings there was hardly a lounger left by 8am. Many of the loungers are broken and need replaced!!! A large percentage of the pool area is in the shade by 5pm.

The all inclusive is just ok. Have been to much better. The food at the buffet is pretty good, although juices, tea and coffee could be a lot better at breakfast. Although there are different fish daily, there is a lack of decent cuts of meat - didn't even come across a chicken breast the whole week. We usually found something we all liked though. Outside the main buffet meals in the restaurant, there is very little else all inclusive. At the pool bar, there is a small selection of A.I. drinks, the tiniest tubs of ice cream you have ever seen, and late afternoon there are a few cookies, strange, not very nice pastries, and a couple of sandwiches. Where we went before in Mallorca the A.I. included all ice creams, crisps, a la carte pool bar menu all day and hundreds of drinks and a great selection of bottles of wine and beers. Here, it is wine by the glass - red, white or rose, and no choice.
Staff in the restaurant are friendly, and night time bar waitress, but rest of staff are unfriendly, especially reception. The entertainment team do their very best, and have to mention Ieva who was great with the kids. Would say that the hotel was 50% German, and the other 50% made up of English speaking, french and spanish.
Cala Ratjada is a lovely area with beautiful scenery. Cannot believe that someone referred to it as a German Magaluf. It is far from it!!!! It is a much more upmarket resort. The fact that there are less British people makes it classier. There are lovely restaurants down by the marina. The only annoying thing is that all of the menus out the front of these restaurants are in German. Even though I could understand them, I found this off putting as it's like they only want German clientele.
The safe and wifi should be free in a 4*. We found wifi to be very poor as not strong/fast enough to skype or facetime.
We had a great week, and would definitely return to Cala Ratjada, although I wouldn't return to this hotel. I would rate this hotel as a good 3*.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a pool view. If you are travelling without children, ask for a 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyWOnka55000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a great holiday at this hotel. We have two kids aged 4 and 6 and they loved it! The kids entertainer Eika was great! We went all inclusive. Food was really good with a great range of choices for everyone. Drinks were really good and ice creams were available all day plus snacks at various times. Evening entertainment was good - the kids loved it! There was also a decent gym, squash courts and paddle tennis. Indoor spa needs a bit of money spending on it but who needs an indoor pool when the weather is 25-30 degrees during the summer? Rooms are good but air con not great! There was a good shuttle bus to and from the beach which is really nice! One word of warning the transfer from the airport on the bus is 3 1/4 hours long when it states 1.5 hours long. We got a private mini-bus back which only took one hour! Overall really good value for money - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 1 week here and I can say definatly not 4* just scrapes by on 2* the kids are 8 & 12 and apart from the pool they had nothing to do in hotel and yes the annamation team do work hard but you have to be under 5 to enjoy it . The hotel is out dated with worn furniture and if you want a pool view room ask for a room with an odd number and 1st floor has massive balcony I was at rear of building with views of someones flat just 10 metres away not nice at all they seem to keep these nice rooms for germans only .food was very good and plentyful but poolside bar there's a horrible nasty man with a goaty on does not want to serve the british he moans at everything and allinclusive bar list is a joke out of about 100 drinks 8 are avalible for inclusive and my god the transfer 2-1/2 hours forgot to mension the herendous decking every where split ,bust,loose, and crap I would never go back here we did meet some lovley friends though that was the plus side hi alan,ann,izzabelle,and connor see you all soon

Room Tip: Pool views odd number doors and 1st floor balconys overlooking pool masive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala Ratjada hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Yeovil
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very clean, friendly staff, fantastic food (buffet - lots to choose from), small but nice pool, good air conditioning in room, huge balcony, fridge in room, décor up to date, we arrived at 4.00am and were given dinner in room (very impressed), nice indoor pool.
Only criticism is the sunbeds were all reserved for 9.00am!! but I guess you get there anywhere!
The town and beach were OK but a German Magaluf describes it well! Buying food expensive I would recommend at least half board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just been to this hotel for two weeks with two children aged 2 and 5. I had read reviews before booking so I knew what to expect. Overall the hotel is good but definitely needs some work doing and I would not go back again until this work has been done. The decking around the outdoor pool is broken in a lot of places and could become quite dangerous if left for much longer. The entertainment team are excellent and work very hard. My children loved them. There was a good mix of British, German, Spanish and Italian guests when I was there which I liked. The guests were all really nice which helped make the holiday enjoyable for us and our children. All staff apart from one on reception were very friendly. The doors to the rooms do not lock from the inside, my two year old could open the door from the inside which was a nightmare, we had to block it with a pram to keep her in. The food was good and most children would find something they liked to eat. Cala Ratjada is beautiful. The harbour is only 5 minutes away and is excellent during the day and evening. We went in peak season but Cala Ratjada did not seem to be too busy at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. Rooms at the back do not have a good view and could be quite no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went to this hotel with an open mind as it was a last minute thing. Generally speaking thought it was a good hotel despite the very long (2 hour via resort hopper transport service) transfer. The hotel catered very well for families with children under 10 but would not sustain teenagers well. The hotel was peaceful and located in a quiet location so one could not hear any street noise or music from clubs or bars at night. The hotel was clean and tidy but there is evidence that it needs a refurb e.g wooden decking at front dipping and gapping in parts, wcs off reception very tired. There was lots of talk about it being swamped by Germans which was not necessary true. There were a good mixture of British, Spanish and Germans there and a sprinkle of Italians and french when I was there. Saying that the male entertainer did seam to have a preference for speaking in German. The specific areas I would comment on are:
Staff- Generally very nice espcially the femail animation team. Male animation chap a but full of himself and not as pleasant. Reception mainly pleasant but there was the odd one who looked like they had been sucking lemons all day.
Accommodation - Had a mini suite which had a double bedroom and a large lounge which had some chairs that converted into comforatable beds, a kitchenette and dining area. The rooms was plainish but adequate. Not kettle to handy to have microwave for making hot drinks. Negatives were tv did not have any english speaking channels but had other languages (German, French). Bathroom had walk in shower but was in need of overhaul as water 'leaking' from seal heavily. Cleaner made a visit every day but gave the room a light touch focusing on beds, towels and bathroom. There were no pool towels supplied which is unusual .
Food - The all inclusive offer may not satisfy everyone as beyond the standard meal times there was not an abundance of food on offer. The meals were buffer style and had a very good selection e.g lunch would have several salads (with seperate choice of dressings) 2 meats, 2 fish dishes, pastas, vegeterian offers, pizzas and bread crumed items, 2 choice of ice creams, cold meats, veg, various bread, choices of fruit, cakes and tarts. You could not starve. The drinks on offer include wines, soft drinks, hot drinks and some cocktails. Down sides were that the all incl drinks stopped at 11pm, in a country bursting with fruit it was sad to not have any 'fresh' juices not even a breakfast.
Entertainment/Activites - Hotel had 2 pools, an outside one with a small section for babies and an indoor cold hydro pool in the 'spa' area. The outside pool was adequate but inside one had needed tidying up as there were sharp edges (a girl cut her foot in pool). There were enough loungers, tables and chairs there for all guests. The was a squash court and gym on site as well as good excerise timetable on offer. The Children had mini disco before the main entertainment for 30 mins. The main evening entertainment was not wonderful. On the first night there was a tropical animal presentation (which had snakes, eagle owl , iguana), night 2 was a belly dancing group which had good props but I was surpised to see a snake show on day 3. The tropical animal and snake show were very kean to take pictures with you and their larges snake!. The worst show was a transvesite pair who dressed up in various outfits, with balloons as a bust who then mimed to various songs. It they were dressed up and able to dance like Britiny Spears or sing like Leona Lewis I would not have a problem but they were two talentless chaps who acutually looked better as men. Sadly some of the men in the audiance could not wait to have their faces plunged into these chaps 'bust'.
Other matters- There was a port area 10 mins walk from hotel which offered good shops and resturants and boat trips. Also good market on Sat by the port. Beach also 10 mins walk or one could take the shuttle. Was a also land train running around town. Cala Ratjada is a peaceful pleasant resort. If you are looking for lots of action and nightlife you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Was on the 3rd floor over looking pool which was nice. 1st floor rooms may have larger patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meluk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#7 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
#8 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Diamant
Aparthotel Diamant
#18 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amoros
Amoros
#13 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#6 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illot Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illot Suites & Spa

Property: Illot Suites & Spa
Address: Calle Hernan Cortes 41, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Illot Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Illot Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illot Suites And Spa
Illot Hotel Cala Ratjada
Illot Suites & Spa Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing