We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Illot Suites & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Illot Suites & Spa
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Cala Ratjada
Yeovil
1 review
“Lovely, clean friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very clean, friendly staff, fantastic food (buffet - lots to choose from), small but nice pool, good air conditioning in room, huge balcony, fridge in room, décor up to date, we arrived at 4.00am and were given dinner in room (very impressed), nice indoor pool.
Only criticism is the sunbeds were all reserved for 9.00am!! but I guess you get there anywhere!
The town and beach were OK but a German Magaluf describes it well! Buying food expensive I would recommend at least half board.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    80
    42
    22
    31
See reviews for
113
64
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just been to this hotel for two weeks with two children aged 2 and 5. I had read reviews before booking so I knew what to expect. Overall the hotel is good but definitely needs some work doing and I would not go back again until this work has been done. The decking around the outdoor pool is broken in a lot of places and could become quite dangerous if left for much longer. The entertainment team are excellent and work very hard. My children loved them. There was a good mix of British, German, Spanish and Italian guests when I was there which I liked. The guests were all really nice which helped make the holiday enjoyable for us and our children. All staff apart from one on reception were very friendly. The doors to the rooms do not lock from the inside, my two year old could open the door from the inside which was a nightmare, we had to block it with a pram to keep her in. The food was good and most children would find something they liked to eat. Cala Ratjada is beautiful. The harbour is only 5 minutes away and is excellent during the day and evening. We went in peak season but Cala Ratjada did not seem to be too busy at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. Rooms at the back do not have a good view and could be quite no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went to this hotel with an open mind as it was a last minute thing. Generally speaking thought it was a good hotel despite the very long (2 hour via resort hopper transport service) transfer. The hotel catered very well for families with children under 10 but would not sustain teenagers well. The hotel was peaceful and located in a quiet location so one could not hear any street noise or music from clubs or bars at night. The hotel was clean and tidy but there is evidence that it needs a refurb e.g wooden decking at front dipping and gapping in parts, wcs off reception very tired. There was lots of talk about it being swamped by Germans which was not necessary true. There were a good mixture of British, Spanish and Germans there and a sprinkle of Italians and french when I was there. Saying that the male entertainer did seam to have a preference for speaking in German. The specific areas I would comment on are:
Staff- Generally very nice espcially the femail animation team. Male animation chap a but full of himself and not as pleasant. Reception mainly pleasant but there was the odd one who looked like they had been sucking lemons all day.
Accommodation - Had a mini suite which had a double bedroom and a large lounge which had some chairs that converted into comforatable beds, a kitchenette and dining area. The rooms was plainish but adequate. Not kettle to handy to have microwave for making hot drinks. Negatives were tv did not have any english speaking channels but had other languages (German, French). Bathroom had walk in shower but was in need of overhaul as water 'leaking' from seal heavily. Cleaner made a visit every day but gave the room a light touch focusing on beds, towels and bathroom. There were no pool towels supplied which is unusual .
Food - The all inclusive offer may not satisfy everyone as beyond the standard meal times there was not an abundance of food on offer. The meals were buffer style and had a very good selection e.g lunch would have several salads (with seperate choice of dressings) 2 meats, 2 fish dishes, pastas, vegeterian offers, pizzas and bread crumed items, 2 choice of ice creams, cold meats, veg, various bread, choices of fruit, cakes and tarts. You could not starve. The drinks on offer include wines, soft drinks, hot drinks and some cocktails. Down sides were that the all incl drinks stopped at 11pm, in a country bursting with fruit it was sad to not have any 'fresh' juices not even a breakfast.
Entertainment/Activites - Hotel had 2 pools, an outside one with a small section for babies and an indoor cold hydro pool in the 'spa' area. The outside pool was adequate but inside one had needed tidying up as there were sharp edges (a girl cut her foot in pool). There were enough loungers, tables and chairs there for all guests. The was a squash court and gym on site as well as good excerise timetable on offer. The Children had mini disco before the main entertainment for 30 mins. The main evening entertainment was not wonderful. On the first night there was a tropical animal presentation (which had snakes, eagle owl , iguana), night 2 was a belly dancing group which had good props but I was surpised to see a snake show on day 3. The tropical animal and snake show were very kean to take pictures with you and their larges snake!. The worst show was a transvesite pair who dressed up in various outfits, with balloons as a bust who then mimed to various songs. It they were dressed up and able to dance like Britiny Spears or sing like Leona Lewis I would not have a problem but they were two talentless chaps who acutually looked better as men. Sadly some of the men in the audiance could not wait to have their faces plunged into these chaps 'bust'.
Other matters- There was a port area 10 mins walk from hotel which offered good shops and resturants and boat trips. Also good market on Sat by the port. Beach also 10 mins walk or one could take the shuttle. Was a also land train running around town. Cala Ratjada is a peaceful pleasant resort. If you are looking for lots of action and nightlife you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Was on the 3rd floor over looking pool which was nice. 1st floor rooms may have larger patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meluk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights twice a year for last 4 years.Food is great and plentiful.Staff are helpful.Hotel very clean.Entertainment is mostly in German but we have still enjoyed it.Easy to get to the local market on a saturday and the sea front has a lovely promenade.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just returned from our summer holiday at the Illot Suites & Spa, Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain. On the whole it was a good tonic for my wife and our two children, 6 & 8.

About the hotel: Itl is very clean, airy and light. The main reception is big and quiet, even when busy with check ins and out. The Reception is well run, but a touch moody when asking basic questions. I struggled to find any real help from their staff.

The pool is ok, but busy at the best of times, watch out for the nails sticking out around its perimeter, not ideal. It's surrounded by wooden slates that need some tender loving care. My kids enjoyed the pool and spent a lot of time jumping in and out. There is no lifeguard.

The quiet Spa adds value to this apart-hotel and increases the hotel's rating to 4***, I can't see how this property runs a high level of quality, without it.

The Restaurant is pretty big and as you'd expect at peak times is busy. The food is ok, not great. Breakfast buffet was well runand enjoyable. Lunch: The pasta for the kids, and let's face it most kids want food they are familiar with when away is not good. The pasta was wet, the tomato sauce was bland and the pizza wasn't recognisable. The daily fish was good, salad bar plentiful and the deserts selective. Kids were very keen on the ice cream selection. On the whole the food is average, not the best sourced local ingredients - felt like a lot of the produce came out of tins.

We were half board, so ate out most evenings. Go to the port/marina, plenty of restaurants, lively bars and a great place to enjoy the style of the Spanish, however, there is no getting away from the fact that the resort is very Germanic as was the hotel, which didn't worry or bother us, it's a very nice part of the resort.

Kids Club, run by the hotel team, were pretty good on a daily basis - Monday is their day off.

The Rooms: Clean, airy and a basic kitchen set up. Air Con was questionable, didn't work in the main bedroom. The living area was large enough and the balcony was pleasant.

To summarise, this is not a very good 4*** hotel. We enjoyed the break, but the hotel is not outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _designandinternet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We (25 family and friends) have just returned from a fantastic 10 day break!! It's is our second trip to this hotel and we enjoyed it just as much!

The staff were truly amazing - all of the animation team, many of the restaurant staff, the bar staff, the cleaning team and those on reception. The entertainment was diverse, catering for small children, bigger children and also adults.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel get sun on their balconies late in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just got back from a weeks holiday - 2 adults a 6yr old and 3 yr old.

Room - we were on the third floor and over looked the pool with sea view - could hear bar and entertainment but all quiet by 11:30. Beds OK - sofa beds awful 3yr old grazed her legs several times on the protruding legs. Bathroom good, only have shower which leaked over floor alot. Cleaned everyday but beds not tucked in so bottom sheet moved with you!

Food - really nice and good variety to suit everyone kids always had option of pizza, pasta and breadcrumbed stuff and we enjoyed squid and Majorcan dishes. Cake and sandwiches served at 4pm were nice touch. To take lunch out you need to pay the night before. This did not suit us as we are on holiday to relax not have a timetabled schedule when we tried to pay at breakfast we were told it was impossible by very curt restaurant manager and receptionist - basically if taking a few sandwiches out is impossible it highlights their inability to provide quality hospitality.

Pool - oh dear where do you start!!!!!! Shocking. I read the reviews thinking it couldn't be that bad but it was worse! The decking probably looked nice for the first season but they obviously didn't realise wood shrinks an expands it has buckled and they have fixed loose planks with screws which jutt out. This wood is also round the wall of the pool instead of tiles and this has come off in places and nails stick out . Many inflatables were up punctured - luckily no children were! The handrail came out of its base in the water while we were in the pool and a man fell on me as he lost his balance holding on to it. I saw the animacion team go round with a hammer attempting to fix the sticking out nails!!!! My son and another child had ear infections which could be from pool

Spa - i didn't have treatment but facilities nice. Good you can take kids in there in a.m. however on close inspection the water was full of dead skin, tiles were filthy and again the famous decking is a law suit wait in to happen!!!

Entertainment - really good animacion team good fun. We watched a brilliant Western comedy show which the kids loved

Resort - v German but looks like it could become more British. Beach beautiful and 15 mins walk. Harbour 10 min walk, follow path to the left and there is a beautiful tiny cove beach.

We would go to the resort again but certainly not the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozza81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Ratjada hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
Hotel Bella Playa & Spa
#7 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
Hotel & Spa S'Entrador Playa
#8 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
Protur Turo Pins Hotel & Spa
#2 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Diamant
Aparthotel Diamant
#18 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amoros
Amoros
#13 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
THB Guya Playa
THB Guya Playa
#6 of 60 in Cala Ratjada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illot Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illot Suites & Spa

Property: Illot Suites & Spa
Address: Calle Hernan Cortes 41, 07590 Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Ratjada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cala Ratjada
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cala Ratjada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Illot Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Illot Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illot Suites And Spa
Illot Hotel Cala Ratjada
Illot Suites & Spa Cala Ratjada, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing