We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All German Hotel!”
Review of Garbi Cala Millor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garbi Cala Millor
Ranked #33 of 59 Hotels in Cala Millor
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Why we were put in this hotel I dont know! Saw a hotel in Majorca on teletext holidays website,when rang to book was told no longer available,was offered Garbi at same price,was not told by Purple Holidays this hotel only catered for Germans! Didnt read reviews as shouldnt be necessary price we paid and booking with "reputable" agents! We finally saw a Thomas Cook rep on our 4th day who was extremely apologetic and offered to move us to a hotel a few miles away,as we only had two days left we declined but she stated no way should we have been put there,she was a lovely German girl! Hotel very nice.pool excellent,daytime no problems,food was aimed at obviously for Germans,we ate mainly salad,only holiday I have been on and lost weight! Had to go out every night as entertainment German therefore spending more money which we dont normally expect on an all inclusive holiday! Staff were helpful especially the night porter who loved practising his English vocabulary with us! Just stay away if youre British!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCUN2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 59 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

Returned to UK on 9th October following a one week holiday at the 'Garbi' in Cala Millor.

If you're reading this review then you may wonder why there are very few reviews - the fact is that this hotel caters ONLY for German speaking guests and during most of our stay, the hotel was full with some 500 Germans and us!

We chose the 'Garbi' simply because it was the cheapest 4 star 'All Inclusive' we could find for the first week of October and having been to Cala Millor in the past, we knew that it is a really nice resort although dominated by Germans who must easily account for 80% of the tourists staying there.

The staff at the Garbi are obviously not used to hearing anyone speak English - the first night we asked for a drink at the bar, the barman - a miserable so and so called Leo, insisted on seeing proof that we were actually residents at the hotel BEFORE he would serve us - this really annoyed me!!

However, I have to say that the rest of the staff were very good - particular mention to Carlos who was extremely nice and seemed pleased to be able to speak English - I think he also felt a little sorry for us!! The reception staff were also very good and surprisingly spoke excellent English.

As far as the hotel is concerned, the room was adequate and clean although they have no maid service for two days per week which doesn't seem very '4 star' to me!

The food was pretty good - we have had better but also much worse and the pool area was excellent - plenty of sunbeds at ANY time of day so there was no need to beat the Germans to the sunbeds at 6.00am in the morning and it seems that most Germans prefer to go to the beach which is approximately 400 yards away from the hotel.

The public areas were also clean and tidy with the EXCEPTION of the bedroom corridor in horrible brown carpet which looked like it hadn't seen a hoover for weeks and in my opinion, this really let the hotel down.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay at the 'Garbi' but I would recommend that if -

1) you don't like Germans - don't go there as it is near 100% German.

2) If you don't like walking more than a few yards - don't go there as the hotel is situated well away from the seafront.

3) If you like to watch TV on holiday - don't go there as the first 19 channels on their TV's are German followed by some 50 or so Spanish channels - not one English channel to be found, not even BBC World News or even CNN!!

- none of this bothered either myself or my wife but it certainly wouldn't appeal to most Brit's!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank TelfordMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sebastian Charl... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Harald_F_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Andreas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinaukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morito Apartments
Hotel Morito Apartments
#32 of 59 in Cala Millor
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 59 in Cala Millor
593 reviews
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
#9 of 59 in Cala Millor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 59 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#15 of 59 in Cala Millor
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Said
Hipotels Said
#12 of 59 in Cala Millor
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garbi Cala Millor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garbi Cala Millor

Address: Avenida Cristofol Colom s/n | Urb. Son Moro, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: $110 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Garbi Cala Millor 1*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Garbi Cala Millor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garbi Cala Millor Hotel Cala Millor
Garbi Cala Millor Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing