We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmm...ok...dated looking hotel, but friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
smartline Anba Romani
Ranked #26 of 60 Hotels in Cala Millor
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We arrived at the hotel after the hours trip from the airport. On entering the hotel, the general feel of the hotel is that is hasn't been renovated since the eighties, dark wood, orange exterior, and anaglypta wallpaper. The staff are friendly, and explained things well. The rooms are a bit rubbish. Don't expect luxury, there are no tea making facilities, and we only had 6 sachets of shower gel and shampoo (3 of each) which weren't replenished. The towels were laundered but did have unexplained (rust?!) stains on them....chairs and wall lamps were also stained. The pillows are long and thin, which were ok, but some might find them too thin. There is a safe in the rooms, but they cost (i think) 2 Euro a day, plus a 3 Euro deposit. If you have a room in the building where the main reception is, you won't have a full sea view. The second building is closer to the beach, and this also has the dining room and bar in. The pool is quite depressing to look at (we had a room over looking it) and I didn't see that many people use it. The indoor pool is ok, but small and luke warm. Jacuzzi was put on whilst we were in there, but was freezing. The sauna (if you're half board) is free between 10am-2pm, otherwise it's 9 Euro each. The food was ok, but not brilliant. The hotel is geared up more for the Germans, as is the food and entertainment. We did check out the entertainment which consisted of some old dude on a synthesiser....mmmm, not the best. the good thing was, as we had long sleeves on, (all inclusive guests have wristbands on) the barman thought we were all inclusive and gave us enough vodka to hospitalise us. Local booze only though, Jack Daniels, for instance cost 5 Euro. We did visit some of the places mentioned on other reviews, Cheers, Rose & Crown (which is feels like you've stepped back in time to the 80's). Two places we liked were The Sun Deck , and definitely check out Cafe Del Sol, near the Rui hotel, lovely venue, and a 'chilled vibe'. There are lot of Spa shops near by and places selling the usual holiday tat. We went in April so it wasn't terribly busy but it was a bit windy! Oh and watch out for the countless hire bikes/scooters/buggy's etc, even though there is a bike lane, they do have to veer off it in places. If you get a chance, do go to Cala Ratjada for the market, which is on the back streets (go before 12pm) and Porto Christo, really pretty places for a days visit.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anouska75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 207 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in February, we found the hotel staff helpful and friendly. The biggest problem that most of the guests found was that the walls were so thin that every conversation. t.v. cough, sneeze etc. could be quite clearly heard in the adjoining rooms. Towards the end of the week constantly being woken in the night by toilets flushing, other guests just talking in bed, where the head boards in adjoining rooms were back to back became extremely stressful.
The meals were O.K. but there was very little variation in the menu from one day to the next.
However for the money we paid for the holiday it was extremely good value and the evening entertainment varied from day to day and the young Dutch compere was excellent.
The hotel catered largely for German guests in fact at one stage my wife I were the only British couple in the hotel and therefore the catering and the entertainment was mainly geared in that direction. The German guests themselves were very friendly and sociable and we thoroughly enjoyed their company

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fevertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

I was worried when i read other reports, but decided to book anyway. We arrived at 4am and found the reception very helpful in showing us to our room. The room was fairly clean but a bit dated and depressing, also the air conditioning is not very good at all. I traveled with my wife and 5 year old son. The hotel pool is not good at all for children, as children under the age of 7 will not touch the bottom of the pool, and the childrens pool is only the size of a snooker table. On the plus side the breakfast was decent and the staff very friendly. But the biggest plus point is that the fantastic beach is just 50 metres from the hotel.I would go to Cala Millor again but to a more child friendly hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcrazyderby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

Hi.

I was wondering if anyone could help me, i was just wondering if anyone knew how long it took them from the airport to the hotel resort.

Thanks

x

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank charlotteford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

I have stayed in many many hotels and hostels and can officially say this was the WORST place I have ever stayed. To start I went with my boyfriend, and we requested a double bed, well their double bed was two beds pushed together, so needless to say we had a version of the" grand canyon" between us! the beds kept seperating! The bed covers were just sheets everytime I woke up the sheets were off and I was sleeping just on the mattress, I woke up with a ton of bug bites. The bathrooms were o.k, but bring your own towels, the towels are tiny, and they do not provide beach towels. The air conditioner did not work at any point either.
What really hurt this place, is the dining room! It is in a basement, so you cannot eat outside and it is very unpleasant and almost a " downer".
The other reviews are correct, you can hear everything from the other rooms, walls are paper thin.
The staff were nice per say, but they didnt know much about activities or stuff to do in the area.
The one good thing about the place is the location, it is close to the beach and central to downtown.
This hotel is very plain and doesnt offer much, it is really just for use of a room,, which really isn't very good. If you are willing and wanting to meet ppl I say stay in a hostel you are better off. I strongly do not suggest this hotel for younger couples or travelllers , you have much better options.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecialKay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Having read some of the bad reviews i thought i would put mine across.

I am 17 and have been back a day from the lovely town of Cala Millor with my boyfried, 18.

As this was our 1st holiday together and not that much money to spend the hotel "An Ba Romani" was great value and perfect.

We stayed for a week, half bored. and on arrival were greated by the reciptionist who spoke perfect English. We wernt showen to our room but we were giving directions to get there which didnt bother us. The room was great, small but was clean, comphatable and well equipted. The maid cleaned the room daily, changed the bedding and towels every day to fresh clean ones and the floors where swept.

Every day the food was good quality, vaired and very nice. It was a bufffet style so we could help our selfs to how much we wanted which was good as we new we wouldnt get lunch. having said that, we ate so much at breakfast that we would ever need lunch. tea was also good, with a different soup every day, fresh salad and a wide range of meats, pastas, pizzas, puddings and fruits. for us as going half board we would get frinks included for breakfast but have to pay if we wanted a drink with our tea which was understandable.

We didnt ever stay in the hotel at night as we found a lovely bar that did quizzes and happy hour just down the road called YATES. But the entertainment that they did do was German orantated.
i would say that that was the only disapointing thing, lots of Germans and not many Brits. We didnt have any trouble but just kept our head down and every thing was fine. This is a mainly German hotel but we where warmaly welcomed so it didnt feel strange.
I would have thought it was more than a 3 star hotel, it really was lovely.

We love Cala Millor, such a lovely town and we where every surprised with how much we enjoyed it and have already started planning nexts years visit there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalaMillor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks all enclusive holiday at Anba Romani in Cala Mallor, and having read a few very negative reviews we were a little aprehensive about our stay.
We arrived at the hotel and the check-in was very simple, the recepionist was very helpful. Our room was not huge but certainly big enough for two to three, although the walls are quite thin and we could hear a little noise from next door. We then moved onto the bar and the drinks list was excellent, it was lovely to sit outside with the beach just across from the hotel.
The food at the hotel was superb, buffet style help yourself and eat as much as you want, very European and very good quality with a wide variety to choose from, nice to try things we wouldn't normally eat, great salad and sweet selection also. Came home about a stone heavier.
Guests were mainly German or Spanish and a few Brits and it was a nice friendly atmosphere with lovely helpfull staff, a very pleasant relaxed atmosphere in the hotel.
There wasnt much entertainment - bingo, music quiz, a man playing keyboard and singing along to to backing tapes, and the very strange Majorcan enterainer!! with a laptop and hats that the Spanish loved.
The main holiday season hadnt started so entertainment might get better - it couldn't be much worse, still there wasn't any karaoke garbage thankfully.
Nice big cosy bar though with good quality and variety of drinks, all free if you are all inclusive as we were and thankfully none of the horrible aniseed tasting dodgy spirits that some lesser hotels serve.
We had a great holiday and would certainly visit this hotel again. The only thing I didnt really enjoy was that a few thoughtless people smoked in the bar, Spain doesn't have the smoking ban yet.
I would give this hotel 9 out of 10, better than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthCentralScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
#9 of 60 in Cala Millor
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Said
Hipotels Said
#12 of 60 in Cala Millor
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
#20 of 60 in Cala Millor
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Don Juan
Hipotels Don Juan
#22 of 60 in Cala Millor
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Bikini
Universal Hotel Bikini
#24 of 60 in Cala Millor
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marins Playa
Marins Playa
#11 of 60 in Cala Millor
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Anba Romani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Anba Romani

Address: Avenida Cristofol Colom 21, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel An-Ba Romani)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#17 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: $89 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — smartline Anba Romani 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart Line Anba Romani**** is situated in one of the principals Avenues in Cala Millor, in front of the beach, just separated by the promenade, and surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. Smart Line Anba Romani**** ha been completely reformed during winter 2015 with and elegant and a comfortable design that will amaze all the family. With two swimming pools, one in front of the beach, with a very beautiful view, and the other in the midle of the hotel complex, and a children's pool, both with parasol and sunbeds, and a snack bar service. All our rooms have been reformated and will offer all what the family needs: air conditioning, 32" Sat-T.V., bathroom with haidryer, safety deposit box and mini fridge. You your amuse is garanteed with our daily animation program and night shows, also with our jacuzzi, sauna and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Anba Romani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel An Ba Romani
An Ba Romani Hotel
Smartline Anba Romani Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing