We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way a three star maybe in 1970”
Review of Blue Sea Don Jaime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Sea Don Jaime
Ranked #56 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No way a three star maybe in 1970”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and i were supposed to stay for a long weekend, but only managed one night. We had to book into another hotel at the other end of cala millor. Arrived late at night around 1am first impressions were not good, the outside and surrounding area seemed a little run down. Checked in and headed up to the room along the worn, heavily stained carpet which runs down each corridor. Strong smell of cigarette smoke coming from a number of rooms. Opened the door to a tired looking room which to be honest looked like something from 1970, with nicotine Staines on the walls and around light switches. Bedding and matress both heavily stained with mascara and god knows what. Bathroom was very tired and finished to a very poor standard, the bidet was heavily stained with what I didn't want to know. Water struggling to get through the shower head because of the lime scale clogging it.
Beware this is a very poor one star at best.
Sorry didn't take any photos couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Reception Dpt. at Blue Sea Don Jaime, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We really welcome all your comments in order to improve our service and we apologize on behalf of the hotel if you did not enjoy your holidays.

We have cleaning service every days except Wednesdays and Sundays, also for the "water problem" we have technician every days to fix any problem in our hotel.

We can say that our location is good (near to the beach and the center).

Kind regards,
Hotel Blue Sea Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    211
    222
    154
    199
See reviews for
246
382
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I went here for 13 nights from the 23rd June to the 6th July. After reading some of the reviews on here I was very apprehensive about coming, as I am very picky about certain things and get quite worried and anxious about things. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff on the desk in the reception and were told where to go, as we were staying in the apartments across the street as we went self catering (due to this, I cannot comment on the food).
As we got to the room I was pleasantly surprised as we had 2 balconies, one in my room & one in my mum & dad's room. The room isn't all that exciting but at the end of the day it was very clean and kept tidy as the maid came in more or less everyday to ensure it was clean. I don't understand why some people on here are complaining about the rooms, you get what you paid for and at the end of the day, you're on holiday, you're not going to spend that much time in your rooms anyway.
We also had a great view of the pool and were able to look out on a morning to see if we could get any sunbeds round the pool, which we could almost everyday. The pool itself was very clean and very refreshing, especially if it was a hot day.
The bar staff around the pool during the day were also very friendly and made sure to remove dirty glasses and cups from around the pool to ensure it was kept tidy.
The hotel is in a very good spot as it is walking distance from many bars, restaurants and shops and I would gladly recommend you take a walk to cala bona. We ate in the same restaurant almost every night and it's called Sonny's. The chef there cooks amazing food and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We also stayed out to drink on a night in a bar a bit closer to the hotel called Sunset bar. The staff here were amazingly friendly and put on the racing for my dad on a Saturday afternoon and were more than happy to sit around and have a good laugh with you on a night.
The hotel also offers wi-fi for the rooms and it's just 20 euros a week, which I didn't think was too bad, as some hotels I have stayed in haven't got any.
Overall we had an amazing holiday and it was nice to get away and have a few weeks in the sun in a relatively nice hotel. I have no complaints about this hotel at all and like I said previously, I am very picky and cautious about things and I had a wonderful time, so don't listen to the bad reviews and go see for yourselves!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Reception Dpt. at Blue Sea Don Jaime, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much on behalf of our team for all of your comments, most of the customers take time to write bad reviews about us, but who is happy don´t say anything, so THANK YOU!!

We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and in the surroundings, that is our main objective.

We look forward to seeing you next year.

Kind regards,
Hotel Blue Sea Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My 2 teenagers and I stayed at the hotel in june 2011. We all had a fantastic time. The weather was excellent very hot every day. The hotel was a bit dated but was very clean. The staff were very pleasant and were always very helpful. Clean towels and room every day. We stayed all inclusive and the food was very nice. The all inclusive bar went don a treat with the kids. The hotel is very well placed and close to the beach and local bars and restaurants. I would definitely go back. I read the reviews after I booked and was very worried, but I found the hotel very pleasant and got exactly what I paid for. The pool was also very nice and always got a sunbed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Receptionist at Blue Sea Don Jaime, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your nice comments and we´re glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us and you took your time to write about it.
We are located in a very pleasant area where the customers can enjoy and relax.
Thank you very much again and we look forward seeing you again at Don Jaime.

Kind regards,
Hotel Blue Sea Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed from 6 to 13 may,and enjoyed the break.Staff are good,food is adequate,you can have cereal and bread ,cheese,ham etc if the cooked stuff is not to your liking.Clean, and very cheap.In fact my only complaint is that i suspect the alcohol is Low Alc,even the spirits are weak,but don't taste watered down!You make your own good times,dont expect the Hotel to do it for you.It's not as bad as some are saying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank william o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Reception at Blue Sea Don Jaime, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear customer,
thank you for your positive comments, it´s nice when someone recognizes our good job, we always try to do our best to make our customers happy.

We´re glad that you have a nice holidays here.

Best regards,
Hotel Blue Sea Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were a group of six ladies away for a long weekend for our friends 40th, we arrived after a horrendous 2 hour transfer from the airport at 2:30 in the morning, we were told on arrival that we would not be staying in the hotel but across the road in the self catering appartments which was not in the most attractive building and although the rooms & patio area (we were on the ground floor) were large they were very tired and required updating. The sheets on the bed were clean but cigarette burns were in all of them!! and I'm a smoker! After a restless night we decided that as we were only there for a short time we would make the most of it and as the weather was gorgeous we spent the day by the pool and although other reviewers suggested there was not enough sun loungers we had no trouble at all in a good spot by the pool, we had a fab day and met a group of really fun people we shared a giggle with, and not to mention plenty of alcohol, although the plastic cups only held two mouthfuls so you were up and down at the bar like a yo yo.
Evening entertainment, don't even bother, a game of Bingo and that was it, the young girl that had been there a matter of weeks did try but she would have probably been better getting a job stacking shelves! she was a bit of a drip.
The resort itself is great, not Magaluf if your looking to party, but lovely restaurants and we found a fantastic bar called the British Bulldog about 20 minute walk along the prom and down one of the side turnings by the Tex Mex restaurant (dont eat there its awful). The fun and games we had both evenings we were there at the bulldog made our break and we met lots of people, we played silly pub games Karaoked and danced all night long! Unfortunately we had to sleep in the hostel from hell! no its not as bad as that but would have preferred elsewhere in the resort.
One more thing, the food is sometimes inedible, green boiled eggs!!! Yuk and same old same old chips chips and more chips!!! soup was ok, anyway hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor in appartments, very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liftbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Reception at Blue Sea Don Jaime, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We´re glad that you enjoyed in our lovely Majorca and we can say that Cala Millor isn´t Magaluf, but there is a good entertainment offer too in this area.

About the sheet you could tell us and we could change them without problem.

Best regards,
Hotel Blue Sea Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cala Millor hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 24th June to 1st July 2013 it is an average 3 star hotel, A lot of the reviews on here are from people who are expecting a 5 star service from a 3 star hotel. I should point out at this point that the hotel name is pronounced as “Hotel Don Hime” as we didn’t realise it was our hotel when the coach driver shouted the name. We booked this all inclusive holiday through Easyjets holiday website and after reading the reviews I was a bit worried but I needn’t have been as the hotel is exactly like any other 3 star hotel in Majorca. Meal times are Breakfast 8am – 10am, Lunch 1pm – 3pm and Dinner 7pm – 9pm there are snack available from the pool bar in between these times but it’s not something I bothered with as 3 meals a day are enough for me, drinks are served in plastic cups just like all other all inclusive hotels in the area each person can get 2 drinks at a time if you are all inclusive. Food at the hotel is buffet style there’s always a good selection of food available and there’s different foods available each meal time. The main hotel has 2 lifts fitted which is handy as there are 5 floors so the stairs can be a bit much for older people. I had room 408 on the 4th floor which has a pleasant view of the pool area and mountains, rooms on the front of the hotel have a better view and get the sun on the balcony on an afternoon. The rooms are clean and all have a TV (not that we used it), Bathroom with sink, bath with shower fitting and toilet the rooms have air conditioning which is great in the hotter weather. A safety deposit box is available for 18 Euros per week plus 5 Euros returnable deposit. There is a daily maid service where the maid will come in and make your bed, clean bathroom and change towels (towels to be put on floor if you want them changed) the maids day off is a Wednesday and Sunday so I advise getting towels changed on a Tuesday and a Saturday as nobody comes in on wed or sun. The pool is large enough with a sun terrace where you can almost always get a sun lounger as the hotel do not allow people to reserve sun beds by putting towels on them. There’s a children’s pool and small play ground also a children’s entertainer on site most days. There is evening entertainment on at the hotel most nights but we didn’t sample it as we would rather get out and about in the resorts many bars instead several of the resort bars offer free WIFI so as long as you buy a drink they will let you use it. We hired a car from Hiper car rentals through holidayautos.com which cost us £71 for 3 days. There are several comments on trip advisor relating to the hotel manager’s poor attitude however every time we passed him he always said hello and was very pleasant. All in all it’s a bargain hotel if you’re on a budget we enjoyed every minute of the holiday and I didn’t want to go home at the end. A holiday is what you make it but if you want a 5 star service I suggest you stay in one of the 5 star hotels in the area and pay their prices.

Room Tip: Rooms on front get better views and get sun in afternoon, higher floors get a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Reception Dpt. at Blue Sea Don Jaime, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for all this information, you explained very well how is our service and for the future customers it could help and the won´t only read bad reviews about us.
We are really glad that you enjoyed in our hotel, we try to do our best at any time in order to please our customers and it´s really nice to know that our job has been well done.

We look forward to seeing you again next year (or maybe this summer again, we still are in July...)

Kind regards on behalf of all our team.

Hotel Blue Sea Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Hotel is definately not a 3 Star, 2 at the most. We booked apartment with twin beds - we were shown to a ground floor apartment, with double bed, dark, smelly, patio area just a large peice of concrete with no boundaries, felt very unsecure, no outside furntiure, kitchen cupboards hanging off, fridge dirty. We asked to be moved and were offered a room in the Hotel, a cheaper room but no refund and not much better. The air conditioning outside our room was leaking through electic lights, when we reported it they just shrugged and said that nobody could attend until the morning!! We all know you get what you pay for but don't waste your money, far better 3 star hotels in area. Only positive was the resort and would definately return to area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Reception at Blue Sea Don Jaime, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear customer,
we can say that we offered you an apartment on a higher floor with twin beds and you refused it because you preferred stay in a double standard room in the main building, we gave you a standard room as you wanted when even your booking was for an apartment and with all the inconveniences about your change for us (we explained you at that time) we did it just to please you.

You asked us about the price and we even told you that it could be cheaper, but not always because sometimes we launch offers and it was your travel agency who has to explain or give the refund, not us. We explained you.

You were here for 4 nights and after the first night you wanted to change to the apartment again, and we accepted too, but you finally stayed in the standard room for the rest of your holidays.

About the A/C we can say that we have technician at our hotel who repairs the damage every day.

We apologize on behalf of the hotel if you did not enjoy your holidays.

Best regards,
Hotel Blue Sea Don Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.3 mi away
Elegance Vista Blava
Elegance Vista Blava
#35 of 58 in Cala Millor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.0 mi away
Blue Sea Gran Playa
Blue Sea Gran Playa
#18 of 29 in Sa Coma
3.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Sea La Pinta
Blue Sea La Pinta
#36 of 58 in Cala Millor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Blue Sea Costa Verde
#17 of 44 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Peymar
Hotel Peymar
#8 of 13 in S'illot
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
15.3 mi away
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
OLA Aparthotel Cecilia
#6 of 7 in Porto Colom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Don Jaime

Property: Blue Sea Don Jaime
Address: Calle Jordana 20, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Sea Don Jaime 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Sea Hotels & Resorts is proud to introduce the charming Hotel Don Jaime, a 3-star family-friendly complex in the centre of sunny Cala Millor. The hotel is located just 250m from a gorgeous golden beach, providing the perfect base to soak up the sun, sea and sand on the popular Balearic Island of Majorca. The Blue Sea Don Jaime Hotel is home to 117 warm and welcoming rooms, apartments and studios with a range of modern amenities to make your stay extra comfortable. With air conditioning, satellite TV and in-room WiFi, you can be sure you'll have everything you need, and a large airy balcony completes the perfect setting. The outdoor swimming pool at Hotel Don Jaime is surrounded by an expansive sun terrace complete with loungers and parasols for an idyllic afternoon of tanning. There's plenty to keep the whole family busy at the Blue Sea Hotel Don Jaime, with daytime and evening entertainment for kids and adults alike. Enjoy music and organised activities that will put a smile on everyone's faces. The Don Jaime Hotel restaurant offers a great selection of buffet meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner to enjoy in a bright and friendly setting. The poolside bar is on hand to supply you with refreshing drinks and light snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Blue Sea Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Jaime Cala Millor
Blue Sea Don Jaime Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing