We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family holiday”
Review of Hotel Talayot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Talayot
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for the first time this year, just the three of us. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Our room was basic but clean and, as we had a sea view, the view from the balcony was lovely. Some people have said that the noise was an issue on lower floors due to the entertainment, but we were on the first floor right above the bar area and didn't have a problem. The entertainment finished on time every night and then the hotel was very peaceful. The towels around the pool were an issue on a few days, but not too bad. The food was good with plenty of choice of main courses and the head waiter allocates you a table for your whole stay, which we thought was an excellent idea. The only downside was having to pay 20 euros each for the safe and fridge and only 3euros each was returned on checkout. Good location in between cala miller and cala bona.

Room Tip: Request a high room if travelling with young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 647 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed 13-27 july. Having stayed here twice before I knew what to expect and I wasn't disappointed.The hotel is in a wonderful position between cala bona and cala millor, the beach is near by and really clean.The food at the hotel is still as good as i remember plenty of choice and very tasty.The bar staff and restaurant staff are really excellent special mention for Gabriel and Nicolas, however the jewel in the Talayot crown is undoubtedly Santi the resident entertainer, a very funny man who kept everyone entertained during the day and evening with his quizzes , bingo and very funny sense of humour. Yes two weeks of absolute joy at the Talayot thanks to everyone for making our holiday memorable especially Santi.See you all again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogerbarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Knew what to expect and were Not disappointed. All staff are welcoming, hardworking and friendly. We had large corner room with pool view. Maria & Tony are welcoming hosts who like all their staff do their best to ensure you have a good holiday. Sante the entertainments host works very hard during the day and forms good relationships with the young folk, makes a point of learning names. Evening entertainment is mixed -David Nichols is a great singer on Sat. nights. Bingo and the quizzes by Sante are very amusing! There are a variety of seating areas which give good view of the stage and it's lovely sitting on the veranda in the evening people watching with a lovely Irish coffee or whatever takes your fancy.
Food is very good and plenty of choice, Raphael and the other chefs are friendly and Gregory the res.manager & his staff efficient (dirty plates disappear quickly, food replenished promptly ).
Location could not be bettered with ample choice of outside bars to try, many with entertainment provided.
Hotel prices are reasonable for drinks and good for snacks. A lovely pizzeria attached is well worth a visit. The hotel supermarket is well stocked and good prices. Recommend you try a filled baguette from their bakery ,lovely! Useful to take to the beach for lunch. Sa Coma beach is always a must visit for us-large, clean, pretty, safe and has lots of water sports should you wish.
Already looking forward to next year and hoping for the wonderful weather we have just had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186478Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed here before and this time opted for a sea view room,it is well worth the extra.
All corner rooms are double balconies,we had 502 great views,this room has been very stylishly upgraded .
Rooms are cleaned daily,entertainers do work hard but it is not to my personal taste but that's to be expected as you can't please everyone.
The location is first rate and is quiet and good for families. The promenade is flat and ideal for hiring bikes ( from 5€ a day), you can hire segways as well.
The meals are all buffet and there is not a great variation but I always find something worth a try.
The pool and associated pool area has got your usual sad nutters who get up at the crack of dawn to reserve sun beds and then disappear for the day,although you will always be able to find a sun lounger.Clearly many of the British residents of the hotel have trouble understanding the concept of portion control or 12000 calories is not the intake for every meal.The sheer acreage of flesh is some thing to behold! Most of the women seem to have modelled themselves them on the late Ted Bovis,minus the moustache but not the sideburns .The men are not far behind in the lardy stakes and the children look like they could do with could do with eating less cheese strings.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank rexmundi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in 401 in the corner, with a fabulous view, hotel workers were excellent and for the most part very friendly...things to be aware of rather than gripes - wifi is at best patchy - for some these days, me included, it's an essential part of a holiday, the cost of and wifi policy is quite poor - the wifi is per device and not per room so you'd be paying €15 per device which if each of you have a phone or iPad, as we do, you're looking at €60 per family which is scandalous for a service that is so inexpensive to install - the signal is also virtually non existent - tip though, we did manage to negotiate 2 devices per room and the receptionist rang the company in question and agreed relatively quickly... The food is plentiful and if what you're after is pretty much the same type of food you eat at home in the uk, this is the hotel for you - if however, you like to experience local cuisine and you prefer your food not to be cooked in large quantities of oil, perhaps think again...there are plenty of local bars and restaurants - check out trip advisor for reviews - other issues with the hotel are the fact you have to pay €20 surcharge for each of the safe and the fridge, which is expensive and in the case of the safe, probably slightly naive - imagine the reviews for theft after the hotel charged for security.

Finally and this is just my observation, and although far from the responsibility of the hotel its worthy of note, if you don't like the morbidly obese, stay clear of the pool...

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Absolutely thrilled with the Talayot, reading Kevin G's feedback below (which might I add is appalling grammar and incredibly childish, I shall say no more) I would just like to confirm for the sake of the Talayot and any potential guests that I can categorically not fault any aspect of our stay (yes, I am the 'Neighbour from hell'). The restaurant staff, bar staff & Santi the Entertainer were incredibly hard working & friendly and we made some really good friends. If at any point I moaned.....which is quite contradictory given I loved the hotel and resort, it would not have been regarding the Talayot. I would recommend to anyone & would not let anyone put you off taking friends or neighbours as generally, in my experience, it's allot of fun with the right people.
Will definitely return and hopefully meet up with some of the lovely families we have met.

Room Tip: Ask for floor 4 or 5 as these have been refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabs855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For the most part the Talayot is an ok Hotel. Yes its dated but nothing to worry about. I read reviews on here about the single rooms and the one i was allocated was indeed poor with no view at all & i had to go down three flights of stairs just so i could check out the weather. Having said that i did get the room very reasonable so i have no complaints just be warned the rooms are not great.. My biggest gripe would be the meal arrangements. I travelled solo & on my first night there i went to the dining room & was allocated a table where a couple were already half way through their meal. This was not fair on them to have a total stranger put on their table or on me. They could of been having a nice romantic meal only for me to show up and put my food on the table. For the life of me i cannot understand how anyone would think this is an acceptable practise. At the time i went down there was plenty of free tables for them to sit me. I asked the couple if this was going to be the same all holiday & they said yes what they've given you is what you have for the fortnight so with that i got up & walked out & the only meal i had was on the morning of departure. Incidentally the restaurant manager is one of the rudest men i've ever met.
As for the other staff on reception, bar & maids they were absolutely charming & a credit to the Hotel. The location of the Talayot could't be better between Cala millor & Cala Bona.
A nice stay but not memorable.

Room Tip: For a couple staying in an ordinary twin room there was upgrades to a sea view room for 3e per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.2 mi away
Hotel Atolon
Hotel Atolon
#6 of 19 in Cala Bona
633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#10 of 58 in Cala Millor
287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
Hotel Catalonia del Mar
#8 of 19 in Cala Bona
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#5 of 58 in Cala Millor
321 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
Aparthotel Ferrer Isabel
#3 of 19 in Cala Bona
370 reviews
0.8 mi away
smartline La Santa Maria
smartline La Santa Maria
#30 of 58 in Cala Millor
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talayot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talayot

Address: Calle Sard 2, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#9 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: $110 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Talayot 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Talayot is a 3-star hotel in Majorca which enjoys an excellent location at the seafront, in a pedestrian area on the Bay of Cala Millor, surrounded by a virgin coastline that makes up Punta Amer Natural Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Talayot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talayot Hotel Cala Millor
Talayot Cala Millor
Hotel Talayot Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing