We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest foreign hotel I've stayed in.”
Review of Hotel Sumba

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cala Millor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sumba
Ranked #28 of 59 Hotels in Cala Millor
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for a week and loved it!

The all inclusive beer is good (not always the case in some hotels) and the selection and quality of food is brilliant. The staff were all very friendly and had a good grasp of English.

The only reason I have not rated this hotel at 5 is that on the first night when we arrived, we were told that there was no room for us that night and were put into a taxi to another hotel for the night. We were compensated for this and if I'm honest, it made little difference to us as we would have gone straight to be anyway since we arrived at about midnight. After this though, our stay was perfect and the staff were very apologetic and keen to make it up to us.

My only other negative comment would be that we were outnumbered considerably by Germans and so were limited in who we could talk to, but this is not fault of the hotel's really.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Col A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 263 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I must say the hotel was clean and tidy and staff were nice my biggest bug bear was when we arrived we didn't have a room so was shipped out to another hotel by taxi We felt like we had lost two days to our holiday by the time we got back the next day as we didn't get into the rooms until after lunch.The room we did get was over looking the pool which had a lovely view of the beach.All in all we did have a nice time but be warned not many Brits get there so its full of Germans I've nothing against them but they do take over

Room Tip: poolside rooms are the best we were on 4th floor so we had good veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We spent a beuatiful summer holiday on Mallorca, and we choosed very good quiet and calm hotel. The staff in the hotel was very friendly and helpful, our room was clean (they cleaned it every day).The variety of the food was wide. With the breakfast we were satisfied, but at the dinner the meats were sometimes little bit raw.
Our room was refurnished, with clean and designed bathroom.
The beach is very close to the hotel, so you no need to rent loungers on the beach, you can use loungers next to the pool.
We planned to use late checkout ( because our airplane was leaving Mallorca only at 22.pm.), we have agreed on the reception day before, but unfortunately on the next day there was not able to free room, that mean we had to checkout at 12:00 from our room, and we had to wait for transfer 7 hours... And at the reception they just tell us, that they are Sorry....:(
Overall it was beautiful holiday at Mallorca and at hotel SUMBA, so we will return! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Balazs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived very late in the evening due to lengthy Jet 2 transfers ( that's a different story) !
On arrival we received a pleasant and friendly welcome from the male hotel receptionist who spoke good English. However, the information we received regarding the hotel was slightly limited and we were to discover all the hotel facilities ourselves during the week's stay.
A cold buffet was laid out for late arrivals with plentiful bottled water which was very welcome after our long journey. We later discovered this was layed on every evening and presume it was for all inclusive guests.
Our first impressions of the room were that it was a bit on the small side and suprisingly carpeted as opposed to a tiled floor which is more usual for a Spanish hotel. However it was very clean and adequately furnished so we unpacked and retired for the night. Bed was very hard as we have come to accept as the norm for Spanish hotels but as the week went on we got used to it and after a lot of walking and sangria we were very tired !
Food at the hotel was excellent, plentiful and hot, we were half board and didn't really need to eat during the day as we were so full from breakfast . Plenty of choice for all nationalities including full English ,yes the bacon is streaky and not really to my liking but again this seems to be the case in all foreign hotels we have visited. Choice at dinner every night varied and of superb quality and service was excellent.
Location of the hotel is on the sea front at the Sa Coma end of the resort in a quiet area however very close to shops and bars and the main walk into Cala Millor. Centre of the resort is only a 5 to 10 minute walk away, Sa Coma a 15 minute stroll down a quiet but main road and Cala Bona is approxiamately 20 to 30 mins walk.
Swimming pool area quite crowded and my gripe being that sunbeds were reserved with towels from 05:15 as witnessed by my insomniac husband surfing the internet in reception in the early hours ! This was followed by a constant stream thereafter consequently come the afternoon I couldn't ever get a sunbed so had to resort to the same tactic myself . There was entertainment around the pool each afternoon which I cannot comment on as I prefer to listen to music or read and just chill.
Evening entertainment that we saw was very amateurish however other guests seemed to be enjoying it . We prefer to go out and do our own thing and then return to our room for drinks on the balcony.
Hope this review is helpful just nitpicking really at any faults we found as we really enjoyed our week's stay here and will be happy to return to this lovely hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HenrysmumEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our second All Inclusive holiday to the Sumba hotel and yet again it was absolutely fantastic. The staff are brilliant, extremely attentive and go out of their way to assist. It was our wedding anniversary while we were there and when we got to our beautiful spacious sea-view room there was a bottle of chamagne and a lovely basket of fruit for us upon our arrival. The hotel is spotless and rooms are cleaned every day. Bed linens are changed daily and fresh towels supplied daily too (a big thank you to the lovely ladies who do such a great job and always with a smile). The food was amazing, and if I had one tiny criticism at all it would be that I would have loved to see proper sausages at breakfast time instead of several options of frankfurters but there was plenty eggs, bacon, toast, fruit and cereals to chose from, and the hotel guests are predominately German so it is understandable that they cater for the majority. The lunches and evening meals were outstanding - the head chef certainly knew his stuff. There were so many options! Everything was delicious and the sumpious and decadent dessert selection was to die for! There were themed nights and we were treated to culinary delights from different countries e.g. Mexico, Thailand etc with free aperitif cocktails before evening meals. The hotel is situated in a quieter end of the "strip" and directly across from the beach but just 10-15 minutes walk from the many shops and restaurants etc in the hub of the shopping precint. We absolutely loved it and would highly recommend this hotel which in my opinion should be 5 star! Thank you Sumba for a wonderful and memorable holiday. We would definately stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karysma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked a 3* in Cala Bona, and on arriving at 10.30 @ night, were told loosely we had been moved to a different hotel by somebody not speaking any English. This was a rubbish experience with an 8month old and 5 yr old after a long day.

On arriving by taxi to Hotel Sumba, the staff were excellent. They explained why, and were very reassuring. The other hotel hadn't told them we had a baby with us, so they put a cot in our room immediately. We even got to eat as they have late night snacks. All that aside, it was a fabulous hotel on its own merit !!

The hotel is very modern and clean. We had a great view of the sea from our balcony. A nice room with modern bathroom - the shower was brilliant, given how often you use it after dips in the pool/sea. Only 3 lifts but never a long wait for one to come. The air conditioning in the hotel and room is more than sufficient.

The food was the best I've seen at an all inclusive. Huge choice each meal time. Always fully stocked, no queue's, variation each night, and table service from extremely pleasant staff for your drinks. Parker, our 8 month old was always charming them and they loved him ! The drinks are great too - nice beer and wine (incl sparkling Cava), with the usual soft drinks.

We put our 5 yr old in kids club most days, and he loved it. Even though other kids were German/Spanish, they all got on well, and the entertainment team spoke all languages so they never felt left out. They have a mini disco each night for the kids where they get a certificate for joining kids club.

It's right next to the beach, loads of stuff to do within a short walk - hire bicycles, electric scooters, shops, restaurants, with watersports and boat trips a little further, but not too far.

You can use facilities at the Hotel Borneo next door too, it's the same hotel chain.

There are mostly Germans there, but it wasn't until we got to the airport that we realised what bliss it was to have been away from fellow Brits :-p

We didn't leave until 5pm and still got the all inclusive perks until we left, which was good.

Overall it met and exceeded our every need. We would definitely go there again, after such a wonderful holiday. Top marks...

Room Tip: All seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I am always a little dubious booking hotels without knowing the area/ hotel chain fully but I needn't have worried. We arrived late in the evening to be greeted with some food and fortunately the bar was open still to get a lovely Mahou beer. The room was perfect, staff very helpful and the hotel is extremely clean. Where do I start with the food.. amazing, plentiful, something different every day and always fresh salad and bread. It is a predominantly German hotel however all nationalities seem to get along very well. Amazing holiday...

Room Tip: Our room over the pool 145 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leona7584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#14 of 59 in Cala Millor
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
#21 of 59 in Cala Millor
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Mercedes
Hipotels Mercedes
#20 of 59 in Cala Millor
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Bahia Grande
Hipotels Bahia Grande
#15 of 59 in Cala Millor
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 59 in Cala Millor
594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
#10 of 59 in Cala Millor
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sumba

Address: 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#13 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#18 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range: $124 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sumba 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Also Known As:
Sumba Hotel Cala Millor
Sumba Cala Millor
Hotel Sumba Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing