We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sumba
Nearby Hotels
Hipotels Mercedes(Cala Millor)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipotels Don Juan(Cala Millor)(Great Value!)
$151
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Cristina Villas Apartments(Cala Millor)(Great Value!)
$105
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hipotels Bahia Grande(Cala Millor)(Great Value!)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$224
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marins Playa(Cala Millor)
$182
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveler rating
111
95
31
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
95
31
20
7
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 264 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A great location in a lovely resort, but what a disappointing hotel - mainly because of the food and the way the restaurant was run. We avoided stomach upsets by steering clear of the mixtures of vegetables and other "unknowns". There were not enough staff in the restaurant to maintain a good flow through of guests. It was common for clean cups, plates and cutlery to run out. Food got burnt on the show cooking griddle while the chef had gone off to the kitchen to get new supplies. Hot drinks machines ran out of coffee and/or milk and there was no one available to restock. Food was almost the same every day.
Bedrooms were okay with great showers. Beds were appalling. Rooms had ceiling fans as was as air cionditioning - this was excellent.
Be prepared to get up at 6 a.m. to book your sunbed.

Room Tip: Request a high floor overlooking the pool - i.e. and odd number from 501 - 557 (the higher the better.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Hotel Sumba, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear guest,

After reading your comments, we feel sorry for all the problems you have experienced during your stay.

About the problem with food, I would like to tell you that we are working hard in order to improve our service and make the stay of our guest completely satisfactory.

We will pass on your comments to all staff, all the points are always checked by them to know what we are doing wrong and therefore must be improved.

We sincerely thank you for your comments, please be assured that we will take them all into consideration.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the "Globales Group".

Yours sincerely,
Quality Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Brilliant stay at the Globales Sumba food fantastic beach at a perfect location ,staff friendly and hope to return again to the same hotel.

Room Tip: ask for pool view
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank telle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Hotel Sumba, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about your stay at Globales Sumba hotel.

It is really rewarding to read your positive commments and we are glad to know that your stay in our hotel was enjoyable.

Thank you for your preference and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Best regards,
Quality Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in hotel sumba for 7 nights in the first week of June. We were had a fab time. The hotel staff are very friendly and professional. The only small issue was the lack of vegetarian food as I and my mother in law do not eat fish also. We spoke to one of the kitchen staff (Aida) who was happy to make omelettes for us.
My husband and father in law who both eat meat were impressed with the vast choice of food.

I really recommend this hotel to families with young children. The entertainment staff were lovely and made a real effort with all children. My daughter is two and was a little young for the mini disco and mini club but staff were very accommodating to her. I had a great time dancing away with them all.

Thanks hotel sumba for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k12upa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Hotel Sumba, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of all our staff and management of Globales Sumba we want to thank you for your review and recommendation. We are glad to know that our facilities and services were as expected.

We will forward your review to the staff, especially to entertaiment team, they will be happy to know that you and your family enjoyed their shows.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future in any of the hotels of the "Globales Group".

Kind regards,
Quality Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

superb hotel went ai .well worth it, hotel kept spotless by an army of mrs sheens modern rooms with flat screen tv,s but only two channels for the brits,learn german for a bigger choice nice rain forest shower in modern bath room ,food is just ok pork and fish most days in different sauces but other days fish and pork ...but plenty salad and cheeses,,where they excel is the deserts wow ,,more cakes than mr kipplings daughters wedding all belt busters...the sumba is in a good location just across from the lovely beach,,,,but the bad bit,,the rooms at the back face some private appartments one has three dogs that yelp and bark now and then and in the still of the night the sounds are amplified,, solution,,, get a pool view room if you can,a superb hotel spoiled by scroates

Room Tip: pool view rooms a must
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin.eastam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a short break from 2nd to 7th April 2012. Arrived and was very impressed with the hotel in general, the position being right on the beach, and the room was first class. Everything was fantastic, however on the 2nd evening, my husband fell ill with chronic diarrohea and sickness. He had to see the doctor twice, and spent two days in our room. He was diagnosed with gastroentiritis, however in the surgery we met another family who had all been ill with the same thing, and who had known of several others in the hotel with the same thing. COINCIDENCE!! Also they had said that the Chef and his family had also been ill. The night porter was completely unhelpful, when I needed help and a mop and bucket which he gave me, but no disinfectant or cleaning materials!! my bathroom was in a hell of a state and he offered no cleaning fluids at all. I managed with a bottle of Listerine antiseptic mouthwash!!! which I threw around the bathroom. Our short break was short lived, and my husband suffered greatly. The food was luke warm most of the time which was a huge concern, and I fortunately didnt eat meat at all, but my husband did, and I was ok.

What a terrible shame, as the hotel was and is beautiful and the location is great. The all inclusive service was great, and we can honestly say that the decor and cleanliness around the hotel, furnishings etc, were fabulous. Possibly the best (comfort wise) we have ever stayed in!!
The staff in the restaurant and the entertainment team were lovely and very obliging! The manager welcomed everybody every meal time at the front of the restaurant. Unfortunately, we only saw him twice!! Joking apart, be warned.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as you get the pool and sea view combined. A sea view request can get you a room at the back of hotel, but still has a sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debbytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews