We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the Thompson Rep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Protur Playa was all we had hoped for in a re-furbed hotel. Everything in tip top condition, staff all very helpful and friendly. No request was ever too much. Location is great as is the wide flat promenade alongside the beach. View from hotel out over promenade to the lovely beach and sea was the best ever. Plenty of local bars and cafes in short walking distance.
The Thompson rep, Priscilla, was so full of herself it was untrue, would only talk about things she had an interest in. When asked about other things in the resort she didn't know and didn't want to know AND didn't trouble to find out either. Asked one evening about the entertainment and the timing all we got was "Don't know Jess does that" and then walked away. We have never in over ten Thompson holidays ever met such a bad rep.

Room Tip: We had room 727 but any room 227,327,427 etc were just as good with a great view of the sea and the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cribmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
There are newer reviews for Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,327 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have just returned from this faultless hotel. All the facilities wonderful as are the staff. We used both pools, both hot tubs and the gym - brilliant. Great room, lovely spacious hotel as well as excellent restaurant and food! All the staff work quietly, efficiently and are always happy. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

We do, however, enjoy entertainment in the evening which unfortunately was lacking. As we have been to this resort before, we took a leisurely walk along the prom after our evening meal and watched the evening entertainment in the Hotel Bonamar or the Levante. This was fine but I would have preferred supporting the hotel we stayed in as it was so wonderful.

The only downside of the holiday was Thomson who were all but invisible on arrival and on departure as wecwerecgiven no information had to hunt the correct check in. Package holidays used to support transfers but alas no longer. I did email the 24/7 office as I was not given info re departure pick up and our reps went missing but he evening before we left. The 24/7 service was good but I shouldn't have needed to use it.

Room Tip: I just booked a room. Got 419. Sun all afternoon. Plenty of room, storage, tea facilities and a wet...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JandASKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

immaculate hotel with staff to match.Don,t normally return to same hotels but I think this one would be very hard to beat ,Food choice varied and all good. stayed on half board as all inclusive not available when we booked. this meant we were not tied to lunch time and were able to spend plenty of time on the beach which is not many steps across the traffic free pavement at the rear of the hotel, The sunbed situation was a joke but is being sorted by management. People could have been less greedy and due to meal times etc sunbeds would have become free more often through the day,but instead many guests were determined to stake their claim early in the morning but many beds remained empty for hours with nothing but a towel on them, The morning we left at 6.30am there was a queue of people wanting to put towels out which eventually the staff allowed then promptly removed them all, best entertainment of the week, Due to much needed rest on our holiday we did not get a sunbed all week but did lay out at 7.30 one evening and had the whole pool area complete with warm sunshine all to ourselves. The guests that needed to be first to the sunbeds also seemed to be the ones who needed to eat first rather than making the most of the great weather .This issue had no detrimental effect on our stay as the beach with its sunbeds and shades at a nominal cost was so close, great seafront café de sol was always open day and night or the spa shop provided a very good choice of food for a beach picnic.We stayed in room 217 and still had very good pool and sea view, the hotel and surrounding area had a very relaxing atmosphere and the staff were everywhere but not over powering . Every single member of staff had a smile and seemed happy to be there.Our room was excellent and kept very clean, nice modern switch system to control everything including the do not disturb sign . We had a very nice rep Priscilla from Thomson and saw her on her day off on what would have been a boring day trip on the mallorcan dreams boat if she and two of her fellow reps were not present. Over all we had a great time in an outstanding hotel with staff to match

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dallara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just returned from a 10 day holiday in the most lovely settings the hotel has to offer. We had a pool/beach view. The rooms were very clean and well presented. The bed was massive. It must have been a queen size bed. There is a powerful hair dryer, kettle and fridge stocked as a mini bar, take some more tea bags with you though. Bottled Water is given to you a few times a week. Tv was good with English channels. Only thing wrong in room not much hanging space for 2 people's clothes. All mod cons in the room tho. The food was nice but not always hot so had to be warmed up in microwave. It was a bit repetitive but arnt most hotels! The pool is gorgeous and was lovely and warm. The built in sun beds/ lilos in the pool was a great idea. Only thing was there was not enough sun beds so be prepared to get one early. You will get a note left if you leave your towels unattended and may be removed depending what life guard is on duty. The beach is just outside hotel though which is one of the best beaches on the island. The promenade takes you all the way to Cala Bona. The big thing that does let this hotel down is lack of day and evening entertainment. Not unless your happy with tapas and sangria making or a walk in the day time! The odd quiz happens occasionally but nothing is announced around the pool. The evening is just as bad, the 2 male singers seem inexperienced and not much fun!! A few minutes walk is the Sportsman bar that does evening karaoke if your into that,with a great host Robbie who will keep you amused with his jokes. Every member of staff is cheerful and willing to help out. the manager can be seen about the place and again very helpful. If you want a lovely quite relaxing holiday this hotel would suit most people. I would be happy to return if there was a bit more going on.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view to take in the lovely views of Cala Millor. All sea view rooms and pool balconies l...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SheilaB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Quite simply this hotel is superb.
What we liked:
From the initial reception to departure the staff excelled themselves. They were warm & friendly, well informed and professional throughout our stay.
Our room on the 7th floor was just great with a wonderful panorama of the sea and Calla Millor resort. Fantastic shower and bathroom and the whole ambiance of the room reflected the ethos of this hotel.
Our visit to the A La Carte restaurant was yummy with the food and staff excelling themselves.
The buffet for breakfast and evening had a wide range of choices that were superbly presented and offered an admirable range of meal choices.
We also found the wine range competitively priced and quite enjoyable.
What we did not enjoy:
The sun beds – hotel policy was 8am – not implemented and it became laughable on Sunday 15th June when the management did try to implement it. At 8am I observed grown men and women of a certain age running across the pool area to ‘’book’’ their sun bed – get a grip please.
Dress standards at the evening meal – can management please ensure that guests are not subjected to men (in particular) who come to the evening meal in flip flops, shorts and T shirts – it’s not nice and please remind them that they are not going to a football match , the pool area or the beach.
Summary:
This hotel deserves its 4 stars. Well positioned at the south end of the bay, lovely check out room at great local rates.
Would we recommend? – Yes. Would we go back, yes.
Lasting impressions:
• Location, location, location.
• Room & view.
• Sun beds and the very silly nonsense of guests trying to get their ‘’favourite’’ spot
• And finally, the quite excellent staff who are admirable and marvellous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors facing to the north of the bay are best - example on floor 7 where we sta...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rosslareharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

fantastic hotel with very friendly staff wonderful views of beach and lovely rooms,the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted with a cool drink as we checked in and when shown to our room it was "wow" with all white furniture and yellow bedding. had a wonderful time and will definatley go again

Room Tip: rooms on floors 6,7 or 8 give the best views over the sea and Cala millor
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Returned 06/06/14 from a12 day stay at Protur Playa CM. Brilliant stay. Lovely newly refurbished hotel. Very chic. Nice open spaces. Very friendly staff from the reception onwards. Lovely room with late afternoon sun on the veranda, our idyll. Nice to have tea making facilities, but don't forget to get extra coffee, sugar or tea from the restaurant in the morning as you are only stocked up with enough for one drink. Excellent food in the restaurant, staff brill, manager Toni very attentive to detail and interested in people's opinions. Also works hands on and can be seen clearing the used dishes etc. There is also Antonia who kept my husband supplied with his favourite cheese all holiday even if it was not on the menu. Nothing is to much trouble and if you have a problem with the food consider that the issue may be you, not the hotel. The omelettes in the morning are fantastic but there is so much choice you could have a different breakfast everyday. Our morning waiter out on the terrace whose name escapes me always did his bit with a smile and a chat. They work long hours for our enjoyment and all, even if not named were excellent. We had one small complaint and spoke with both Toni and Pedro the hotel manager, our concern was taken as constructive criticism, we had no concerns with the way it was handled. The reps are great and always around, makes a difference even if you have a small query. The pool area is excellent made up of a different variety of sun beds around the pool some for lounging on and others for sitting in. There is also a lovely quiet area with an outdoor jacuzzi two lovely hammocks, lovely lounging sofas, and bed like sun loungers, bliss. Indoors there is a pool with a jacuzzi and a sitting area. The beach is a stride away and there is a long promenade to stroll on. There are lovely shops to walk through and an excellent bus service to get you to other parts of the island. Would recommend Porto Cristo and ?... Rataja or something similar where there are lovely fish restaurants and a marina to stroll along. Had some wonderful prawns in garlic whilst sitting on a veranda overlooking the sea. Heaven. Such an excellent holiday, we do not like to return to places again and again but would certainly consider doing so this time. My rating out of 10 would be a 10 plus. Well done everyone at the Protur Player CM, you run a first class facility.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 620 good for the late afternoon sun if you sit at the front of the veranda.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.5 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#6 of 58 in Cala Millor
314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
21.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 58 in Cala Millor
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protur Sa Coma Playa Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel

Address: Urbanizacion Sa Maniga, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala Millor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#1 Spa Hotel in Cala Millor
#5 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:4 star — Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Playa Cala Millor Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing