We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday Venue!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hipotels Hipocampo Palace
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Venue!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are not in the habit of writing reviews, but we have just returned from a week's stay at the Hipocampo Palace and felt compelled to write one! The hotel lived up to every photograph and every positive comment listed on Tripadvisor. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending anyone to holiday here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    110
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
172
246
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Family holiday for a week in July travelling with child age 6 months. Rooms are of decent size with sufficient storage space for clothes. Large pool with separate splash pool for younger children. Multiple clay tennis courts available for hire at reasonable rate but wouldn't recommend playing at midday!

Stayed half-board so breakfast and evening meal were supplied - large selection of buffet items with varying themes for each night. Hot plate where fresh fish/meat can be prepared to your tasting. One member of the party has coeliac disease and staff made every effort to point out what was gluten-free - even prepared fresh gluten-free bread for us.

Evening entertainment each night although a little cheesy at times. Large wedding was hosted by the hotel on our last night which looked great, until the disco kicked off at 3am and left the hotel vibrating. Only sour note to what was otherwise a fabulous time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good things:

The hotel was spotlessly clean, and the pool man in particular worked tirelessly during his shift. The food was outstanding, as per all other reviews, though being on the 5:2 diet for a while meant that we couldn’t seem to manage our normal holiday pig-out this time round! It was so refreshing to find that people didn’t generally try to reserve sun beds (though there are always the sad few who feel the need); there were ample free beds available throughout the day. The pool area was very spacious, though completely accessible from the road, and therefore not particularly secure. Service in general was very good, though the restaurant services were a bit hit and miss. Good location for nipping to the local Spar to stock up on snacks and drinks for the pool or room (unless paying six times the cost for an equivalent beer is no object; it soon adds up though!). There was a bus stop just outside the hotel for easy access around the island, and plenty of places to walk to during the day or in the evening. The immediate area was Spain meets Blackpool, however, and nothing whatsoever worth buying from the shops. A stroll to the left of the coastline afforded lovely views of the bay, however, and a natural reserve to get lost in for a while.

Not so good things:

We booked a studio, but I personally found it rather claustrophobic, and would rather have had a more spacious single bedroom. Lots of storage space, however. The decor of dark wood and orange/brown tones was rather drab and depressing, in my opinion. There was a lot of ground associated with the hotel, and we felt that much of this was wasted – particularly the area behind the main building, which consisted of grass, trees and a few benches. Water features and flower beds would have been nice here, offering a quite place for a pleasant evening al fresco drink (away from the entertainment). The pool was very big, but tended to be dominated by (the ever-present in the school holidays) screaming teenagers with lilos brigade. Unfortunately, it seems to be the case (no matter what class of hotel one chooses), that children are just left to get on with it on holiday. There were also a lot of babies here, who didn’t seem to appreciate the midday heat or being forced to sit in a high class restaurant late in the evening and conform; I wonder why!

In summary – The hotel had quite a bit going for it (with even greater potential), but there was nothing about it that would make me want to return. In fact, it seemed a bit soulless. The spa area was particularly average. We found the Parc Natural in Playa de Muro (2012) to be an infinitely better option, on many levels (please see previous review), and wish we had re-booked that hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a great experience at the Palace. The room was big with a huge bathroom and 2 balconies. I hate buffets but have changed my mind here. Normally buffets are big dishes of gloop but here the buffet is amazing with freshly grilled meat and fish and greeat starters and deserts. The staff are really friendly too. It is July and i expected the usual summertime scrum at meal times and for the sunbeds- but none of that here. A really good experience which i would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fusslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hippocampus Palace is an excellent Hotel providing 5 star facilities and service. The only thing I would recommend would be the addition of an a la carte restaurant in addition to the excellent buffet. The pool is spotless as is the rest of the Hotel and the staff are professional and friendly across all services.

It's a shame about Cala Millor because its not a great resort with very few passable restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summertimespecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just spent a week in the Hipocampo Palace with my wife and our two 16 year old boys.

The previous reviewer is correct about the wedding. It was the wedding of the daughter of the owner of the hotel chain. I imagine the hotel manager had no choice in the matter. It was actually quite interesting to see the preparations but the incredibly loud outdoor disco must have kept the whole area awake. But there was no effort to compensate for this disruption e.g. free glass of bubbly, dancing for the guests. It seemed like chain owner was abusing his power at the expense of the reputation of the hotel which undoubtedly is the jewel in the crown of the hotel chain.

Anyway apart from this, the quality of service was fantastic. From the moment we arrived the staff were smiling and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff, including cleaners and maintenance staff, are very pleasant. Whoever you come across they stop what they are doing, greet you and give a sincere looking smile like they are genuinely happy to see you. Pablo the towel man has such a wonderful "joie de vivre" handing out the pool towels which is quite infectious - I want to be more like Pablo in my work too!

The food is, of course, as awesome as everyone says. We went half board and just had a snack between breakfast and dinner. The snack bar food is also excellent and reasonably priced but don't overdo it, you will regret it if you are not hungry for the delicious dinner.

The only minor negative point is the breakfast coffee which is not too great. These days we are all spoilt with fresh ground espresso based coffees and anything less is a bit disappointing - please get a good "bean to cup" vending machine for breakfast.

Also, my wife who is spanish was not happy with the churros, a typical Spanish breakfast item, which were always cold. They appeared to be for display only which probably is a reflection of the very few Spanish guests staying there.

The animation/entertainment is also excellent quality. Dani is a ball of energy and seems to be busy day and night. I recommend his aqua gym which is marvellous fun for men and women. The rapport Dani had with our teenage boys was great and they really enjoyed the activities which kept them entertained while we relaxed.

The evening entertainment was varied and good quality - the Abba Tribute band and the Brazilian Show were particularly good.

The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and well maintained. The decor has a feel of luxury, lots of walnut and marble with sumptuous furnishings; even the lift is high class.

Our fellow guests were also pleasant. It's true that over half the guests are German but they are well mannered and some quite friendly. There were also quite a few families with young children but they were mostly well behaved and not a problem.

The hotel has a respectable gym (free to guests) with all the usual machines which were readily available as it was never very busy. We didn't try the sauna or any of the beauty treatments.

In summary, thank you Hipocampo Palace, we had a wonderful week and we return to England with our "batteries" fully re-charged.

Tips :
Get water from the vending machine in the gym. It is ice cold and only 80 cents for 500ml - a bottle of water from the bar is double the cost for only 330ml.
Share your lunchtime snack with with your partner - it staves off hunger pangs but leaves plenty of room for the evening feast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I disagree strongly on this hotel. You see my wife "lives to eat" whilst I "eat to live". Food is not everything in my opinion. What I cannot disagree with is that the quality, variety of choice and the whole dining experience is first class!

So you may wonder what is wrong with this hotel?

I have a couple of complaints which are as follows:

On our stay we were advised that there would be a wedding reception and we were asked to show respect for the party. No problem there I thought and even took a photo of the rather posh table layout prior to it starting (uploaded to trip advisor). What I didn't know was that the reception wouldn't start until 23:00hrs and that following the meal they would be starting the music in the function room attached to the bar! The loud booming music rose through a central courtyard and kept me awake all night. By 5am I got up, got dressed and went down to complain to the night porter asking what time the music would stop? After a phone call to whoever I was advised that it would be 5.45 to 6am! Having expressed my displeasure I was advised that the manager would get back to me later in the day. That never happened nor the following day nor the next 7 days when we checked out. Not so much as an apology was given by the manager!

It seems to me that the Hipocampo Palace have forgotten what there core business is and that the manager doesn't give two hoots about the resident guests! Having shown respect to the wedding party they showed non for the resident guests.

My second and relatively minor point is that whilst the quality of entertainment was good or better with all the acts bought in there was 4 out of 10 nights when no entertainment was provided. In my opinion that is not acceptable!

Room Tip: Do not accept a room above the bar area because if there is a wedding you will get no sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank art c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Millor
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#5 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
Hipotels Hipocampo Playa
#12 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
SENTIDO Castell de Mar
#8 of 60 in Cala Millor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hipotels Mediterraneo
Hipotels Mediterraneo
#4 of 29 in Sa Coma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Hipocampo Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Hipocampo Palace

Property: Hipotels Hipocampo Palace
Address: Calle Estanyol 13, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hipotels Hipocampo Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hipotels Hipocampo Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Hipocampo Palace Hotel Cala Millor
Hipotels Hipocampo Palace Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing