We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday destination!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hipotels Bahia Grande
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great family holiday destination!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked last minute for an All Inclusive family holiday for a week over Easter 2013. Travelled with my wife and 2 boys ( aged 6 and 9 ) and upon arrival was dealt with quickly and efficiently. We were given a room on the 1st floor overlooking the park area at the rear of the hotel ( 110 ). Very spacious, very clean, comprising of large twin bedroom, decent sized patio, 2 x single sofa beds which the kids had, TV with limited english channels, mini kitchen, dining room table and chairs and a decent sized bathroom.
Linen was changed once during the week and towels as you needed. No real complaints about the rooms although shower wasn't brilliant as it is an overhead attachment with no real power.
As were all inclusive, we ate and drank each day/night in the hotel and were overall impressed with the buffet selection. Always a good breakfast selection with some excellent varieties at lunch and dinner. Food such as fresh cooked meat and fish available daily with other selections such as beef strognaoff, chicken curry, burgers, pizza, chips, pasta daily and a varied large salad bar. Sandwiches and ice creams available all day in the bar area, with a small cake selection in the afternoon also.
Drinks on the all inclusive was good. San Miguel on draft, Cava and the usual spirits and wine selections. Fruit juices, all soft drinks and slush puppy's included for the kids.
Entertainment was mixed. Kids club consisted of pirates day on the beach, colouring and crafts and a few activities that had to be paid for such as t-shirt painting and pony trekking. Evening entertainment was ok with some guest acts such as Brazilian night ( very good ), Flamenco night ( average ) and magician ( good ). There was a quiz and bingo on other nights and also a Champions League night when the Bayern Munich game was shown for the German guests. All nights finished early ( by 10pm ) with only background music played onto 11pm. This is the only area that could be improved as the guests all felt a DJ/Disco would have been great to carry the evening on. Dorka ( female childrens entertainer ) provided great enthusiasm for the kids who all seemed to love her.
Outdoor pool had plenty of sun loungers and as it shaded for half the day, the pool is pretty cold and so didn't really get used much at this time of year. Indoor pool is smaller and was mainly used by kids ( although not really supposed to be in there ) but worked fine for us with our boys. A small park area, a free table tennis table and a pool table at 2 euro's a game.
The area was ideal for us as the resort is flat, with access to the beach within 2 minutes. The hotel is located at the top end of the beach and is about a 10 minutes stroll into Cala Millor centre where there is a good selection of shops and activities for the kids.

All in all, a really enjoyable family holiday and excellent value for money. Would definately recommend to families.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    102
    30
    13
    5
See reviews for
162
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked a bargain break over easter for my family ( 2 adults 2 kids) every thing was great. Rooms spacious clean well presented dining was a joy good selection of meals on offer the wine was poor but plenty other options! Great service friendly staff. Pool area was smallish but never crowded and found it easy to keep an eye on kids. Plenty sun beds and brollies great big towels too.
Cant wait to return as the hotel is ina super spot by beach and a walk to the town. Highlyrecommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigelsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and 10 year old son stayed here for one week early April during the school holidays. The hotel itself was around a 50/50 mix of English and German people, mostly families. Food the standard continental all inclusive buffet style fare, generally of a high standard with wine beer, fruit juice, fizzy drinks and water all available. Hotel public areas very clean, well maintained and modern. Staff all seemed friendly and ready to help with any questions you may have. We were in an apartment which was really large, loads of wardrobe space, tv, kitchenette, nice bathroom, small balcony with seating. Beach a 2 minute walk away. Pool area fairly small, not a problem when we were there but I should imagine it will be packed come summer. Inside pool heated and a godsend as weather a bit cool, 2nd floor sun terrace with shower and a gym on the first floor but we didn't use these. Overall a really lovely hotel, my only criticisms would be that for me personally, it's a bit too far from the main shops and bars, and the AI alcoholic drinks are noticeably watered down, although the wine in the dining room to be had with meals was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We ended up here as our first choice - The Cala Millor Park, couldn't accommodate a cot for our baby. We weren't disappointed - this is an excellent hotel.

It isn't on the same scale as some AI hotels and thus there isn't a choice of restaurants. However, my husband and I, and our 10 year old son, considered the food to be first class and easily comparable to some 5 star hotels we have stayed in before.

The staff were fantastic with our baby and I agree with the previous reviewer in that this really is a child friendly hotel. It felt really friendly and we enjoyed the fact that it wasn't a completely English dominated hotel.

The pool area is small and almost always in the shade but as the beach was so close this wasn't an issue. There was also a lovely sun terrace on the 2nd floor which was in full sun for most of the day.

We enjoyed the position of the hotel - about a 5 - 10 min walk to the centre of Cala Millor. It really didn't feel out of the way at all and it was nice to have the option of getting away from the hustle and bustle - particularly with a baby.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel - particularly if you have children. It has a lovely friendly feel about it and I think the size of the hotel helps with this.

If you want lots of options of places to eat then this isn't for you. If you want a family friendly hotel with excellent food give it a try.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank vic75Rutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Excellent hotel. Very good for families with young children. Food superb. We would certainly visit again. We stayed at the hotel at the same time as the couple who have commented on the badly behaved children. This is a child friendly hotel where the staff respect children. Maybe it wasn't the sort of hotel for them but it certainly suited us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenyantrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a 7 day holiday at this Hotel.. We had been recomended this Hotel By on the Beach as our original Hotel the parrisio had been closed.
Firstly Our Appartment was spotless and very nice. The weather was great,we agree with other reviews that this Hotel is mostly geared for Germans and we also were spoken to in German as staff assumed we were German .We were all inclusive no problems with this all the food was great and all the staff in the resteraunt were amazing, helpful and polite thank you guys .
Only bad complaints were us being abused by 3 German and 2 English children totally unsupervised by there parents. The indoor pool clearly stated no under 18 year old admittence this is why we used it as we have no children of our own ( our choice) however parents dumped their children there and left. My husband and I were hit by children kicking a hard football across the length of the pool and I have a lovely bruise on my back ( thank you to the young lad you know who you are )and doing diving bombs landing nearly on top of myself.NO LIFE GAURDS ON DUTY AT THE INDOOR POOL thankfully no incidents occured that would have warrented a life guards help what would these parents have done if their child had got in to difficulty??? . The same children later that day decided to nearly blind us with lazers shining them in our eyes and at computor screens whilst we were using them and ran off when I challenged them and when they saw me complain to reception. again no supervision . Complained to reception they did not care and stated what can we do!!!!!!!! PARENTS CONTROL YOUR CHILDREN PLEASE,and shame on you for not being aware of there antics. OK RANT OVER . We will not be returning to this Hotel due to the lack of reception staff listening to our views on the above issue. on a positive note the entertainment was good and the animation team well done guys. Excursions booked at reception to Marineland and Palma Aqaurium were excellent and reasonably priced. Outdoor pool was a little small however NO ONE USED IT only parents sun bathing. and as stated in other reviews Towels were placed on sun beds and left and not used..The beach was a 5 minute walk through the hotel garden and was spotless and you can walk the promanade to Cala Bona which my husband and I did and it takes about 40 minutes .

Room Tip: 5th floor room that we had was lovely excellent and a lovely sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian and kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 5 nights here for my birthday in the beginning of October. I would agree with a lot of people, cala millor as a whole is very German orientated. When we arrived at the Bahia Grande, it was assumed we were German, and my boyfriend and I looked very puzzled as I was trying to remember some of my GCSE German, until the assistant finally realised we could not understand a word they were saying really. Despite this, the staff did speak good English, and were very helpful and friendly.
As for location, the hotel is very close to the beach which is great. However it is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the centre of cala millor and the main attractions, which was a problem for us as my boyfriend had difficulty walking long distances. If you just want to beach and a couple small shops nearby then this is perfect. If you want to be close to the heart of cala millor, though this is not it.
As for our room, we booked the cheapest option as we were on a budget. We booked the standard hotel room, and im almost certain they made a mistake and put us in one of the apartment rooms which is much bigger and has sofas and a larger living area. Our room was AMAZING! and the cleaners go to a lot of effort. The only thing wrong with our room was the shower was just an open shower, so water went all over the bathroom floor and splashed everywhere. The beds were very comfortable! the best hotel beds I have slept in so far. And the kitchenette was great. Everything we needed was there (toaster, hob, saucepans, cutlery, sink). And on my birthday the cleaners left a lovely little present in our hotel room which was very sweet.
The indoor pool and sauna was great to relax (though for some reason the doors to it were locked from our side of the hotel), the outdoor pool was nice, and the bar had great cocktails! The nightly entertainment looked very fun, but unfortunately we didnt get to see it any of the nights as we got back too late from dinner. We didnt have dinner at the hotel, but the breakfast was lovely - there was such a wide variety! If you o out to dinner, we reccommend finding the Twenty Twenty. Its run by a lovely english couple, who we liked very much, so my boyfriend left a tip and when we returned they offered him a free drink for the tip. Lovely couple, and great food! Reccommend the spaghetti bolognese and fish and chips.

Overall, it was a lovely hotel! just a little far from the centre of cala millor for us, but beach being so close made up for that! I only wish we stayed longer than 5 nights! We will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.4 mi away
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
Hipotels Cala Millor Park
#3 of 58 in Cala Millor
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#4 of 58 in Cala Millor
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#10 of 58 in Cala Millor
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hipotels Said
Hipotels Said
#11 of 58 in Cala Millor
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
Hipotels Flamenco Cala Millor
#16 of 58 in Cala Millor
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
Hipotels Dunas Cala Millor
#23 of 58 in Cala Millor
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hipotels Bahia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hipotels Bahia Grande

Property: Hipotels Bahia Grande
Address: C/ Castell, 1, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cala Millor
#13 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hipotels Bahia Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hipotels Bahia Grande Hotel is an impressive 4 star aparthotel located in the town of Cala Millor right in front of the beach. This cosy hotel has 159 rooms distributed in two buildings of six and seven stories and a great deal of facilities designed exclusively for making your holidays in Majorca, unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hipotels Bahia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hipotels Bahia Grande Aparthotel Hotel Cala Millor
Hipotels Bahia Grande Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing