We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Protur Atalaya Apartamentos
Ranked #12 of 58 Hotels in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in August 2012. Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Only problem is that due to its low price there were lots of undesirables who made far more noise than the bulldog pub.
Always ask for a high room as you can get away from these sort of people as they haven't the effort to climb seven flights of stairs carrying all there cans of beer and cheap wine.
Swimming pools were a tad small and the sunbeds were always kept cool as they were always draped in towels all day. If you get up around 6am you may be lucky enough to get one but don't blame the Germans, this hotel is 95% British.
Great location just a few hundred yards from a great beach.
Staff are first class.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garyrsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Protur Atalaya Apartamentos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 293 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

On Arrival we where greated by a nice man, showed us to our rooms, on getting to room there was no cot, had to wait till next day as the man didnt know where they where kept. Really dissapointed with the whole hotel in general, cleaner only came 3 times in 2 weeks as 3 where of sick apparantly. Only 1 of the pools where open which was FREEZING kids only spent 10 -15 mins in there and had to get them out. Really dissapointed with FIRST CHOICE it is not what they made out at all!!!! really shabby old fasioned hotel. was advised hotel was lively and had entertainment by first choice but neither was true!!! If i was you i would neva go here!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We arrived in reception and everywhere looked spotlessly clean. We had Room 1601 on the sixth floor with a corner balcony which was very nice.

We had a lovely view of the sea and it was a pleasure to get up and go out on the balcony. Our balcony door was also broke and never did lock although no one could have got over the balcony from next door and they certainly couldnt climb up!

We only sat around the pool once and it was a bit dirty and had a high volume of chlorine in, not nice for the kids!

We went onto the front and beach several times and it was lovely, 12 euros for an umbrella and two sun beds, quite steep we thought (£10).

As someone said it takes ages to boil the kettle! but this was all we used and just used the fridge to keep things cool, we didnt do any cooking.

We ate at The British Bulldog (which turned out to be the best in the area with huge and lovely portions!), Cheers bar (very nice food also), The Sundeck (nice food, very friendly people), The Rose and Crown (nice food, not much) and the Sportsman at the other end of town (didnt really enjoy this meal).

At the apartment we had to chase the maid (when we could find her) for towels after day 3. The bed was never changed and the room never cleaned in 5 days!!. I would say this really let the place down as overall it was a nice place.

Eroski supermarket is smack across the road and very handy and cheap! The British Bulldog is open late as people have said but we didnt find it a problem at all. The doors close at 12 on the dot and the bedrooms are on the back of the Hotel so you dont hear a thing.

There was a free buffet and Sangria on the day we left as it was Tourist Weekend. Not many people attended (to be honest we forgot and just happened to come back to the Hotel as it was raining) The maids appeared from nowhere and took all the food that was left!! Quite funny indeed!


All in all was a good break but the Hotel could do with refurbishing and the cleaners could call more often. Would recommend it though.

Room Tip: Good rooms are the higher ones where you can see the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medsec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just returned from a third stay here,the last being in 2009,and it,s good to see the high standards of cleaning are still being maintained.Sadly though,the apartment was showing signs of wear and tear.The bedroom window and balcony door locks were damaged through misuse,and could not be locked properly.The tables in the lounge were scatched and chipped,with what looked like a cigarette burn on one.The plastic table on the balcony was badly scatched,scuffed and marked,and my wife got a nasty scratch on her arm from a ragged metal wardrobe door catch.I would strongly advise taking your own electric travel jug/kettle rather than use the one provided.This is a heavy metal whistling type which has to be heated on the electric hob.As well as taking an age to boil,it needs to be lifted using a folded tea towel or similar,as the handle gets hot.It is also a bad pourer,and could be hazardous with bare feet around.The high floors(there are 10 with 6 apts on each)seem to attract less noise from the surrounding bars,which can go on well after midnight.A price to pay for the great central location,which has always been the Atalayas main attraction.Cala Millor has a lovely beach,lots of bars,restaurants and cafes,with a pleasant promenade along to Cala Bona,but be careful not to stray into the cycle lane,where bikes and four wheelers whizz along.The tourists here are mainly German,who bring with them their usual standards of manners and social graces!!!The Atalaya is still excellent value for money,but a refurbishment may be overdue.

Room Tip: Don,t expect privacy on the balconys as you can easily shake hands with your neighbour!.High floors...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billyspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The best aspect of these apartments is the location! Right in the middle of the action of Cala Millor, very close to the beach and also within walking distance to both Cala Bona and Sa Coma (about 40 minute walk).

The reception staff were lovely, especially the woman that checked us in (wish I had taken her name). She gave great customer service.
The hotel has two pools and both are fine but we prefer to go to the beach anyway.

The apartments were fine, clean and basic. We cooked twice in the kitchen using the stove and it was acceptable. There is also a pot that can be used to boil water for tea or coffee. The maid also left clean tea towels every day.
The bathroom towels were also changed whenever the maid came. However, the beds were never made up by the maid. Not much of a problem though as you can do it yourself.
The bathroom was fine, only thing that would have made it better is a hairdryer.

The living room had a small tv with some spanish and german channels plus euro news, BBC news, BBC1 and BBC3.

The aircon worked fine but it did make quite a racket! Perhaps Protur could upgrade these in the future.

Many people have mentioned the British Bulldog noise problem but it wasn't a problem for us and we were on the second floor! Never visited the place so don't know what time it closed but all the music and noise stopped at midnight or at the latest 12.30!!

Overall, a great stay! I would return as it is a perfect base for your holiday in Majorca! I've had so many great holidays in Protur hotels and the special offers on their website are great value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeK6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Taken a while to find time to write this.....We visited Cala Millor in August 2012. My in-laws booked the holiday and to be honest it isn't the usual holiday we go for(dont normally go package as the wife likes to look and book privately). There were 6 of us 4 adults and 2 children(13 and 9) On arrival around 4.30am we were greeted by a friendly chap on the desk who explained everything in detail. We made our way to our rooms in the two lifts available. I had read reviews of this place and had emailed requesting a room on one of the higher floors. We were given two rooms on the 9th floor at one end of the balcony which lent itself to a certain amount of privacy. We were also greeted in the moring by fantastic views of the beach and resort from the apartment balcony and of the mountains from the front door. The apartment was clean and spacious and was cleaned almost every day(think 3 days were missed out of the 14 we were there and fresh towels were left on every day apart from the last two. If there was one downside to the apartment it was there was no oven as we do like to eat in occasionally but there is a microwwave.
Both pools are good however the mickey mouse shaped one is better for kids as the other has only a small shallow area. The food available from the bar during the day(closes at 6pm) is a good standard and if you order fries you get a massive plate full. The lady who works in there is lovely and helpful. The people who work on reception are very helpful and you can change money there at a slightly better rate than most of the exchange shops should you need to.
The beach at Cala Millor is fantastic. There are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas...each bed/umbrella costs 4 Euros each. An old bloke comes round and takes the money. You dont have to use the equipment as there is plenty of space without them.
For provisions the Eroski supermarket is great value for money and the staff are very nice.
We sampled many bars English/German and Spanish....There are many Germans in Cala Millor and the pitstop bar is packed when football is on. The Bulldog pub at the side of the hotel is lovely and the staff are really nice...the DJ does a great job with the quiz and stand up bingo. They close the doors around Midnight to reduce the noise and once you close your balcony door you can hardly hear it if at all. Its done for the benefit of the people living across the road.
The Beach Boys bar is run by a lovely lady who even came back and asked us if we still wanted our drinks despite being told the kitchen was closed so we could go elsewhere if we wanted.
Yate's bar on the way to Cala Bona is a good night....The wife and I came across it when we were out celebrating our wedding anniversary. Dai who does the entertainment is very funny and a good host. The Asia buffet restuarant opposit the hotel entrance is worth a try to.....it has a long bench which the plates of food are placed on and go round...you just take any plate you want....it does Chinese,Japanese,Vietnamese and Thai. Along from there is a Pizza take away and it does the best Pizzas I have ever tasted, its called Frankys although on the advertisement it looks like Trannys.
We did the glass bottom boat trip and although it was nice unfortunately it was a fairly choppy sea and our daughter made use of the mop and bucket. Its worth a go and if you go to the Caves of Drach its advisable to get one with a bus up there. Will take you around 20 inutes to walk there its uphill and you will get a sweat on for sure.
We hired a "bike" with 6 seats and went all the way along the coast to Cala Bona which has a lovely marina and the cafe there is a lovely way to relax taking in the views...for a marina the prices were excellent where as in the UK you would pay much more in a place like this.
Overall the holiday was lovely and relaxing and have never been to Majorca before we loved it and would recommend the Atalaya apartments to stay at. A big thank you for our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to take advantage of the views on offer
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have just come back from a week at the Atalaya we enjoyed our holiday overall as calla millor is a lovely resort but the apartment was a bit of a let down after reading loads of really good reviews i expected more than what we got. I would only give this hotel 2* to 2+. I have stayed in far better 3* apts in Majorca previously all with Thomson.
PROS
*free air con
*spacious apt with plenty of storage
*excellent location
*two pools, both quiet and could get a lounger what ever time of day it was
*all apts have either a pool or see view
*very clean on arrival (but was not cleaned during our stay ?? swept the floor myself)
* wonderful beach just few yards down the road

CONS
* we were given apt 3104 on the smaller basic side of the hotel which was really bad and shabby, on arrival only two beds were made up when there was three of us staying?? reported this to reception and it was sorted straight away. but there were many other issues there was a smell of damp, drawer in wardrobe fell apart in my hand with rusty nails sticking out (reported but not fixed), also clothes rail was hanging on by a thread and was all cracked, bathroom door had severe water damage to the bottom causing it to be mouldy and the wood warping, rusty radiator, rusty ceiling, only one tiny mirror over tiny bathroom sink, beds had huge dip in the middle which we very uncomfortable, safe in room was rusty. we stayed in the room for one night and spoke to the Thomson rep in the morning to ask if this was the general standard of the hotel, she replied that we were staying in the economy part of the hotel and that it was more worn than the rest of the hotel. we were not very happy because there is no mention of when you book with Thomson that you might be allocated to the economy side of the hotel surely all rooms should be to the same standard?? we were offered to move to room 7102 which was in the larger part of the hotel on the 7th floor. The room was a bit better than the previous but was still very worn and needed updating, during the move to 7102 we encountered several problems.
*lock broke on door and was hanging off had to go to reception and get them to fix it. maintenance guy taped it up and screwed it back on and just shook his head and said hmmm dodgy.
* fridge was not working, had to go back down to reception to get that fixed, they told us that the fridge would take half an hour to go cold?? and that it was perfectly normal not to have a light on in the fridge. an hour later fridge still and not working had to go to reception once again and complain they then sent maintenance up to sort the problem.
* reception staff were not very pleasant or happy to help. when we reported the issues the one lady just kept muttering in Spanish pretending not to understand us when we were trying to explain the issue. an hour later when we went back we spoke to the same lady and she spoke perfect english to us in what sounded like a scouse accent very confusing indeed ??
* apts need refurb are very shabby and well worn,
* lack of tea cups and glasses.(there was three of us and only had 2 glasses and 2 cups ???)
* lack of clean towels and bed was not changed. had to keep asking at reception for clean towels or catch the maid and ask her. also the one day that are room was made up, we were given just two clean towels when there was three of us. another trip back down to reception for a towel these apts are supposed to sleep four and only have enough facilities for two???
*beds and sofas were very uncomfortable.
* bar / restaurant was very poor was only run by one lady so service was very slow. lack of choice for food and drinks. the drinks menu consisted of two pages with at least a page and half crossed out and not available. no cocktails no sangria was very poor variation.
* very noisy karoke until 3am, all the noise coming from the british bull dog bar near by. but we expected this due to it being highlighted in previous reviews.

i would not recommend staying at this hotel it is very run down and dont believe its value for money.
Cala bona the neighbouring resort is very lovely and well worth a visit to the harbour only a short walk from the hotel.
Yates bar on the way into cala bona is a lovely place to eat, very reasonable and has massive choice of food and drinks.
we hired bikes from papa's at the end of the street, very reasonable only 3 euro for 2 hrs. was lovely to cycle down the promenade would recommend this.

to some it all up. go to cala millor its a lovely area but just don't stay at this hotel if you like comfort and piece and quiet.

I hope this review is some help :) happy holidays

Room Tip: go to the larger part of the hotel as it is in a better condition to the smaller side.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirsty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cala Millor hotels
0.4 mi away
Cristina Apartments
Cristina Apartments
#4 of 58 in Cala Millor
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Talayot
Hotel Talayot
#13 of 58 in Cala Millor
634 reviews
0.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
IBEROSTAR Cala Millor
#6 of 58 in Cala Millor
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
SENTIDO Playa del Moro
#9 of 58 in Cala Millor
330 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Marins Playa
Hotel Marins Playa
#14 of 58 in Cala Millor
276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hipotels Don Juan
Hipotels Don Juan
#19 of 58 in Cala Millor
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protur Atalaya Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protur Atalaya Apartamentos

Address: Calle Sol Naixent S/N, 07560 Cala Millor, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Millor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cala Millor
#10 Family Hotel in Cala Millor
Hotel Class:3 star — Protur Atalaya Apartamentos 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protur Atalaya Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protur Atalaya Apartamentos Hotel Cala Millor
Protur Atalaya Apartamentos Cala Millor, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing