We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Ange”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sportsmans Bar

The Sportsmans Bar
Ranked #9 of 114 Restaurants in Cala Millor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks Ange”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Very well looked after. Made to feel very welcome and children very well catered for with complementary ice lollies and meals prepared for any fussy eaters. I asked if a sandwich could be made up to take to the airport for a pending night flight , this request was met without any hesitation. Great atmosphere, and delivered a welcome relief from the other mainly German bars that the resort had to offer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheesecob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    40
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Had several drinks and lunch there. Food was lovely
Had a nice medium white wine. A lovely day to spend lunch or dinner

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunwee1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Best without doubt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have been to Cala Millor for many years in and out of season - I hate writing reviews but I feel I must to challenge the negative ones below. What sort of people go to a bar have a bad time (because they are boring) and then feel because it wasn't for them they must warn others to stay clear. SAD! Family bars will have children and loud music readers and the owners and staff will try and have fun with their customers - so if you have gone there for a quiet conservative drink your in the wrong place.

Most people including myself run tabs (trusting the owners and staff of the Sportsmans) these tabs are always calculated correctly to the fraction of a Euro - quite often loyalty discounts are given - to accuse owners of staff short changing you are totally out of order reviewer!

In my opinion the bar has unfortunately been losing customers for years but so as all the other bars - this is mainly because of all inclusive deals at neighbouring hotels. When Chubby, Natalie and Donna were there the bar was busier but before them when "Trigger" was DJ and Ian, Jane and others worked the bar, the Sportmans was even busier (no all inclusive then).

On a personal note I am very friendly with people who own apartments in the Cala Millor, Cala Bona and the Sa Coma area - the majority of those owners (that practically live there) use the bar because of Tony Ang Shaun and the Welsh boys make them so welcome. There is no better advert !

A great place eat and have a social drink and a welcoming place to meet friends you meet every year. Please support this Bar - Tony and Angela + others do a great job.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“August 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great place to eat, drink and socialise. All the football games were shown which was a relief as we were there at the start of the Championship and Prem.
Food was great! Good tasting food.
Will definately go back there next year.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jas_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not for a relaxing meal!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having praised the Sportsman after two holidays in Cala Millor,this time was a bit of a let down.We called for a coffee about 11.15am,and the guy had to tear himself away from the TV,and took ages to serve us,and did so without a word,Returning for an evening meal,we were met with blaring TV screens,pushchairs,kids crawling round your feet,and people smoking feet from our table,on the so called "outside".The meal was average,and couldn,t really be enjoyed.They also tried to charge me for drinks I didn,t have,probably a genuine mistake on their part,but as another reviewer has mentioned this,check your bill,Maybe we caught the Sportsman on an off day,but its not ideal if you,re after a quiet relaxing meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank billyspartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sportsmans Bar also viewed

Cala Millor, Majorca
Cala Millor, Majorca
 
 

Been to The Sportsmans Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing