We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
35
12
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
35
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice week tribute acts room key pool area is family hotel large balcony main building german guests every morning nice hotel plenty of sunbeds sea front half board sea view luggage seafront adults
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a shame that I’m rating this hotel at 3 stars because the facilities are truly 4-5 star.
To begin, I tried emailing the hotel many times before arrival to confirm that the sofa bed would be made up into a bed and ready for me on arrival (my arrival time being midnight, and 3 guests checking in). I also tried posting on tripadvisor for a suitable email as the one provided never got a reply but never heard back. Unable to receive a reply from the hotel I called Expedia – whom I booked the hotel through- who called the hotel who confirmed that yes, the sofa bed WOULD be ready upon arrival.
We arrived at the hotel after midnight and were greeted by a man who spoke Spanish and German but little English. Check in was slightly slow and laboured due to the no English but we got there in the end. We made our way to the room and alas, no sofa bed was made up.
Almost 1am at this point I make my way to the reception, struggle to explain to the man on reception that my bed was not made up, there was three of us and only two beds. Eventually a pillow was delivered and a sheet to use as a duvet. It was a struggle. Not a great arrival.

The room however is to a high standard. The décor is modern, the room of a great size, bathroom a nice size with a great waterfall shower. Balcony of a nice size and view looking out to the sea and palm trees really nice! Walls in room a little thin, could hear guests conversations next door but they didn’t stay up too late so could get to sleep no problem. The breakfast is really great – lots of options – pastries, cakes, rolls, all cheeses and salami, eggs, everything you could want and always fully stocked and the chef on hand to fry eggs, bacon and make crepes which was amazing. The pool area is really amazing, two pools, lots of areas to swim or use the water jet areas and the décor is very fancy and modern. The hotel is 95% German guests who are generally quiet and keep to themselves, but this also means that the sunbeds are reserved from as early as 8AM!!! I got up most days at 9am and was just able to get the sunbeds I want. Some sunbeds are really nice comfortable lounges, the others the standard mesh and plastic ones. I didn’t mind that but if you want the good ones you’ll need to beat the Germans to the beds. The music played in the pool area is of a nice noise level, not too loud and overbearing and the music is mostly relaxing old school songs, not that horrible club – heavy bass music you get sometimes. It was a very chilled out pool area and one of the best I’ve had the pleasure of relaxing in. WIFI was almost non existent so used my data the whole time.

Staff are so-so. The young girl and boy working in the day were always smirking and laughing– one bumped into me at one point and offered no apology. Rude. But the waiter in the evening was very pleasant, helpful and kind.

On one of the days we went up to the rooftop spa/cocktail area (also adults only- in the adjoining Marins Playa) for a few cocktails. One of the waiters there was really nice and helpful and put all the rest to shame really. The area up there is so nice, nice view at the back of the mountains where we watched an amazing sunset and a view to the front of the sea. Not so busy either.

On check out we were able to store our luggage and have a key for easy access to come and go which was appreciated and we were able to use the communal showers before heading to the airport which were to a high standard and was very much appreciated.

Upon leaving we triple confirmed with the hotel reception on where we should stand for our shuttle bus pickup. They confirmed- right outside the hotel reception. Long story short our bus left without us as it stopped down the road and not at the reception. The reception made us wait until half an hour later after the bus left without us before calling the shuttle bus company. After waiting one hour and getting precariously close to missing our flight, we hurriedly booked a taxi with the hotel. They confirmed it was 80 euros. It actually came to 94 euros. This reflects poorly on the hotel who either lied or mislead us to believing the fare would be a set 80 euros.

It’s such a shame that all of these situations occurred because they are so needless and the hotel facilities are 4 star as advertised.

I’d advise- book a car- don’t rely on Spanish transport options or what the reception advises, don’t arrive in the early hours of the morning, and don’t expect any requests beforehand to be honoured.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinsHotelsCM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marins Playa Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback on your holiday with us. Sorry for any misunderstanding when you arrived with the sofá beds, but they are made and just need to be opened up and extra pillows are always provided in the wardrobe, but understandably at this time of night there was some confussion. We do have a sunbed policy in the hotel that guests cannot reserve any beds with towels and the lifeguard is ordered to take them off if they are not being used, but it is an issue which is difficult to address. We would just like to point out that the information that the reception provided was correct, the pick up point for all the buses is just outside the reception, the bus drivers have to come in to reception and ask for guests by name if they fail to collect them and get a stamp, which on this occassion did not happen. If the bus did stop at the end of the street then you must take this up with the tour company that you booked your holiday to make a claim for your taxi charges as it is them that has mislead you. We are sure that the reception team called the tour company and also organised for a taxi transfer for you, (taxi are charged by meter and we cannot give an exact price) the receptionist did not lie about any fares and went out of the way to help you in a moment of need. We trust that this has answered some of the irritations that you had whilst here with us, and are sorry that for these reasons your holiday did not live up to its expections.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

We have just got back from this hotel and once again fabulous!, the hotel is just lovely its so quite and the best thing is its a adults only hotel so its great to relax and chill out, the room was amazing so clean and lovely décor and facing the pool and sea as all rooms do here which is a added bonus, the only thing with the pool it was very very cold which it was not like this on our last visit?, the food was so good with plenty to choose from and all staff were amazing so helpful and always with a smile, we cannot wait to return next year thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilybits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinsHotelsCM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marins Playa Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us again in the Marins suites. Sadly the weather the last few weeks has not been so good possibly resulting to the pool being a Little too cold. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

Just returned from our second visit to the suites, and once again not disappointed, this hotel has one of the nicest positions in Cala Millor, right on the seafront,every room has sea view and overlooks the pool area, the biggest positive to us is that it is adults only, so quiet and relaxing never any problems getting sun beds pool never full (it was very very cold this year), food excellent great choices always plentiful and fresh, the staff across the board from reception,bar,waiting and cleaning fantastic everyone greets you with a smile! Our favourite moment of this week has to be the piano player at breakfast what a lovely way to start the day, loved it so much already booked again for next summer, so thank you all for your hard work, and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Littleannie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinsHotelsCM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marins Playa Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Sadly the weather the last few weeks has not been so good possibly resulting in the pool being too cold. We try our best to make you welcome and we are glad that you appriecate the work we do. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

First visit to Cala Millor/Bona and this hotel, recently spent 5 nights there with my daughter to celebrate a big Birthday, so wanted somewhere special and we certainly weren't disappointed. We stayed in a beautiful suite with sea view (think all rooms have sea view} it was spacious, clean and very well equipped, only slight criticism was the lack of a dressing table, luckily I had brought a mirror and used the dining table so it wasn't too much of a problem, great bathroom with amazing shower (wanted to bring it home)This adult only hotel is extremely peaceful and relaxing, it has beautiful surroundings including 2 pools with plenty of sunbeds, the adult only chill out roof terrace with Jacuzzi pools situated in the family hotel is an added bonus. The staff are very friendly, cheerful and helpful. Only had breakfast which was very good with plenty of choice, even had a main playing the piano while you ate one morning which was lovely. Bar food was also good and reasonable prices as were the drinks. Overall this is a great hotel with a great atmosphere that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or return to.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank lynnmerritt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinsHotelsCM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marins Playa Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the suites and the rooms are fantastic, we are sorry that we do not have dressing tables in any of our rooms. The atmosphere of the Marins playa suites is one of total relaxation and we are happy that you experienced that with our piano. We look forward to seeing you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

Stayed 5 nights at Marins Playa Suites. These are in complete contrast to the family Marins Playa opposite i.e a haven of peace and quiet with a lovely uncrowded pool area as opposed to the busy family hotel behind the suites.
We stayed on bed and breakfast basis and although generally more expensive than other 4 star adult only hotel accommodation, we felt it was worth paying extra.
The breakfast although aimed at Dutch and German guests was nevertheless really enjoyable and of an high standard.
My only criticism would be that the WiFi in the Suites area was intermittent as compared with the main reception area at the family hotel, in which the signal was very strong and reliable.
The staff were extremely friendly and we will definitely (god willing) return !

Room tip: All rooms have sea view.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffreyv593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinsHotelsCM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marins Playa Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Thank you for you really kind remarks. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday with us in the Marins Playa Suites, we are sorry that you found that the wifi network was not working as it should be...we have already notice it to our technician. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews