We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zafiro Cala Mesquida
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Capdepera
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed her with my girlfriend and my two kids in july. The hotel is really family orientated, and lots of stuff to do. Nice and quite area. We did go all inclusive. Breakfeast was really great. Dinner was ok. Room was ok, really nice bathroom I would go again to this hotel, but only if I where going with kids.

Really liked:
Pool area
Beach
Kids entertainment
Breakfeast

Cons:
All the people smoking on the sunbeds around the pool. The beds are really close, and it can be quite annoying when you get smokers next to you.
Nothing more to see than hotel and beach in that area.
Really slow service in the entertainment area during shows.
The gym was small, but then again it is supposed to be vacation :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    115
    44
    8
    3
See reviews for
251
31
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel caters mainly for families with children (or was it the time of the year?) and there were hordes of them. If you ar not (very much) into children, don't go there, otherwise the noise will drive you crazy - not relaxing at all (and to relax was the main reason why I chose this hotel in the first place). In other respects I don't think this hotel lives up to 4-star standerd either. The food, even if the choice was big, was plain and rather tasteless. The balcony was never cleaned, and splashing toilet produced the sound of a plane taking off, every single time. The hotel doesn't have its own parking space, and it was always problematic finding a space on the street for my rent-a-car. The hotel has also an intricate and rather absurd system of getting and changing your pool-towel. You can only do it on certain days (three times a week) and between 10-11 and 15-16 o'clock. If you happen to be on the beach (rather long walk downhill from the hotel) or somplace else at those times, you end up never being able to get the clean towel at all. The beach itself is beautiful but crowded. Beach-beds cost 6 EUR, and if there is wind (half of my week there) it's not possible to swim. I won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JasminaM270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Cala Mesquida, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Jasmine

Thank you very much for your comment about our hotel. In first place we want to apologize if you did not find what you expected in our Family hotel. Regarding your comment about the food, please be sure that it has been forwarded to the person in charge of the hotels catering. Please note that our buffets in main season are prepared for about 1200 guests, this is the reason why we have to be careful with the species.

The main idea of our pool towel change system is to keep it as easy and comfortable as possible for our guests. Of course our hotel staff is very flexible with guests who are not in the hotel to the indicated times for towel change.

We want to thank you again for visiting our hotel and the time you spent to share you experience which for us is very important to improve our service.

Your Viva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We asked for a quiet room and got one! Saying that, everything goes quiet by 1100pm anyway which is perfect. We have just come back from an 11 day holiday, 2 adults 2 children aged 12 ande 11. and it was the fabulous. Great apartment (room 4114) lots of pools, great beach (can get a bit rough but there are life guards) food good, very clean resort, entertainment v good especially the Michael Jackson Tribute. The kids club really good, ours were not keen to go but once they went they really enjoyed it, the staff are lovely. I cannot fault this hotel or resort, it was perfect for a family. Quiet resort and very cosmopoliton, Lots of nationalities, we did meet up with other British Families. If you want a busy Brits abroad resort - this is not for you, if you want a quiet refined family resort - this is the one. Disappointed with Thomas Cook as they did not provide a Rep. They are pulling out apparently for next year which is a shame as it may not be advertised as well and you would need to go independently now. We, The Scott Family will be returning one day and we look forward to this.. Thank you for a great family holiday.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room away from the pool area just ask before arrival. You have to pay more fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Cala Mesquida, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear. Mrs. Scott

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback regarding your stay with us. Please be sure that your comments have been forwarded to the person in charge of the hotel. We really would like to welcome you in future again as happy customers like you, inspires us to improve our service level day by day.

Again Thank you very much for your holiday review and hope to see you soon again in Hotels Viva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klagenfurt, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The landscape around the hotel and club is amazing (It is even possible to go hiking) but there are nearly no restaurants or bars around, so if you want to spend time outside the club this is hard. There is a public bus service to go to Cala Ratjada but as we stayed there in May the timetable was poor. Best opportunity would be a rented car to travel the island. Going to Palma is about 2 hrs by bus.
The rooms and facilities are convenient, clean and spacefull. Food is fine - very european and some local specialties.
The staff is very friendly and helpful (they give advice and organize things) and speaks German fluently.
In May there were many families with small children - the Club offers best facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just come back from Viva Cala Mesquida Club, I travelled with my husband and two children (14 & 12). This was our 5th visit to one of the viva hotels and as usual we were not disappointed, the hotel and its grounds are fabulous, clean and spacious. There are 3 pools, the main family pool where the activities take place, the chill out pool and another small family pool over looking the sea.

We booked a swim up apartment which meant that we had a garden with a table & chairs, 2 sun loungers and a hammock which led straight out onto the chill out pool. This apartment was beautiful, it was large and accommodated the four of us perfectly. The apartment was cleaned every day (even though it says 5 times a week). The chill out pool was used by children (including our own) but there were only a few and all of them (regardless of age) behaved very well, no one was messing around and they respected the fact that it was meant to be an adults only pool.

The food in the hotel was great (even for fussy eaters like me). They have a great vegetarian selection and meat selection. They cook fresh food on the grill at each meal setting and there is lots of variety.

The staff were very friendly (in all areas) and the common language spoken was English. The resort appeared to be made up primarily of Germans and Dutch which made for a very nice atmosphere in the resort.

The only down side that we can think of was the evening entertainment, however we entertain ourselves anyway playing games and cards so this wasn't really an issue for us.

The resort is out of the way and thats why we chose it as we do not enjoy the more noisier, busier areas, we go on holiday to relax and chill out. This is not a resort for someone looking for nightlife, bars and restaurants.

Last year we stayed at the Resort (which is next door) and we actually enjoyed this one better as the kids were encouraged to get involved in the activities which they thoroughly enjoyed -however there is not much difference between them.

Its worth noting that the reviews for the Park are likely to be reviews for the club as well as they share the same facilities but not the accommodation. They are just across the road from each other.

Room Tip: The swim up apartments are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMB0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We loved it here been able to use facilities at both park & club meant we were never bored. We went as a family if 4 with the children aged 11 & 7 & they had a fantastic time. The food was great but the vest thing about it was the staff they were so pleasant & helpful & especially the kids club staff they were amazing. The place is kept so clean & I would def stay here again had an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Our family: english husband and wife in our mid-thirties and two children (ages 6 and 4.5 years old).

We stayed in a royal terrace room during the first week of the school summer holidays at the end of July 2013.

Positives: stunning location next to the beach, sand dunes and mountains (our room had a great view of all three of these), very easy access to beach, clean rooms and public spaces despite being very busy, good kids club (must be over 4 years old to be left without parent) with multi-lingual staff (albeit staff mainly spoke in German as most people were from there), good nightlife/shows and kids made welcome until it finished at around 11pm (although the tables were hard to come by as it was busy).

Negatives: service was poor ( we complained to reception staff about waitresses walking off to talk to colleagues half way through taking our food order on more than one occasion and rude staff at the pool bar), the adult only pool was supposed to be for over 18 s but consistently had children and babies in there with the life guard turning a blind eye day after day, which we also complained about without much change), sun beds had towels etc left on them from very early morning and sometimes overnight without any policing, so it was hard to find a sun bed that was free), even with a royal terrace room, it will only sleep four people and two people are on uncomfortable sofa beds which take up most of the lounge area when unfolded for the stay. Would be nice to have some two- bedroom rooms.

Conclusion: we loved the royal terrace room with the jacuzzi and well-equipped and luxurious terrace area with the great views, but overall would not return to this particular viva hotel as we preferred the service and food at viva blue hotel (also in Majorca). If we go back, we will book at viva blue in a royal terrace room, even though the location and views would not be as good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allthekingsmen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva h, Gerente at Zafiro Cala Mesquida, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,
first of all we want to say thank you for taking your time again in letting us know your comments to your stay (as you did already the 27/07 in the hotel). They are very important for us and help us to improve our service level day by day.
Please be sure that all of them has been sent to the responsible person of everyone of the departments involved. In reference to your comment about your Room we are happy to read that you enjoyed, the wonderfull views and the room facilities. We really would like you to see the improvements we are planing for the upcoming season, like an additional pool, to create even more space for our guests to enjoy the beautiful surrounding area etc.
We hope to have the opportunity to attend you in future again in Viva Club Cala Mesquida.
Kind Regards
Your Viva Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capdepera
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Park Cala Mesquida
Zafiro Park Cala Mesquida
#2 of 2 in Cala Mesquida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cala Mesquida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
17.2 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
15.3 mi away
Zafiro Mallorca
Zafiro Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
15.1 mi away
Zafiro Can Picafort
Zafiro Can Picafort
#1 of 39 in Ca'n Picafort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Cala Mesquida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Cala Mesquida

Property: Zafiro Cala Mesquida
Address: Urb. Cala Mesquida, s/n, 07580 Capdepera, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Cala Mesquida Club & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Capdepera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Capdepera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Cala Mesquida 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cala Mesquida is surely one of the most authentic and best preserved places on the island. And only 400 meters from the beach is the amazing Viva Cala Mesquida Club. Due to its location and the quality of its services and facilities, this Aparthotel is the perfect place for those seeking a peaceful Holiday in Majorca. You will find fun for the whole family: our animation team with an entertainment program and activities, Mini Club for the kids, kids Splash Pool with Pirate Boat as well as sports facilities. Everything ready for your perfect family holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zafiro Cala Mesquida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Cala Mesquida Club Hotel Capdepera
Zafiro Cala Mesquida Majorca/Capdepera, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing