We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Ubeda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Maria de Ubeda
Ranked #2 of 7 Ubeda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Great location for Ubeda”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

You cannot get a better location than built into the wall right by the plaza you want to see during the day and again at night! Wow..This town was wonderful and one of my favorite authentic places in Spain. And we got a parking space right in front too. The couple who run this hotel are so nice and helpful and the place itself was great. Nice room and bathroom, quiet location, and easy access. We walked all over town and totally enjoyed coming back to stay here. And easy in and out of Ubeda too without getting into any narrow streets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
46
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2013

It is a small hotel run by a lovely couple. They only speak Spanish but can get by with sine language. She does wonderful breakfast with delicious 'jambon' and toasted French baguette. Freshly squeezed orange juice and wonderful coffee. The rooms are nice and all en suite. A cute lounge with fireplace is available for the guests.
Really very recommendable and reasonably priced. We were even lucky to have a parking spot right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was the second leg of our Andalusian tour after Granada, and it was a lovely one night stopover in this converted convent. The couple who run it are attentive, friendly and made it feel very comfortable for us, even though we were the only people in the hotel for the night. Ubeda is a renaissance delight: wonderful squares and churchs, and Santa Maria is very close to the centre of it all. Our room had views onto the street which is full of trees and bird life, and down into the small courtyard; it was spacious, clean, with a contemporary touch. The breakfast was basic but delicious: hot bread with a selection of jams and the compulsory Iberian ham.
This is somewhere we would definitely return to.
A note to anyone driving: because of a miscommunication with the hotel, we made the mistake of parking in the centre of town in the underground car park (which cost us about 27 euros for the day). However there is plenty of unrestricted street parking outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Only saw one but I think they all face onto the street. There's a lift so no problems for people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNettell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited Ubeda for a wedding in May and could not have been happier with the hotel. The friendly and helpful owners made sure that our stay was comfortable and relaxed and were always on hand with information and advice. The hotel is located in the central old town of Ubeda and is just a short walk from a glorious view of the beautiful countryside of Jaen. We were very happy with our stay and could not recommend more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennybrooks193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this little cosy hotel. A pity that we were able to sojourn here only one night. We enjoyed the tastefully decorated rooms and common areas, the generous breakfast and, during the evening, the savory home-made orange liqueur by the fire place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaka_Golosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
353 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a nice hotel this is. Just opened for 7 months (January 2013) so everything was spic&span. The young couple that runs the place put their heart and soul in to make you feel comfortable. He is still a Professor of Arts in Ubeda and combines this with managing the hotel with his wife.

The hotel is just below the square with some of the most important buildings in town and if you go down the street you will have a stunning view over the valley from the “balcony”

The main entrance and the interior are decorated in style and there are paintings and drawings everywhere. (Secret info: all made by the owner's father)

There is a cosy corner with an open fire. There is a high tech elevator.

My room was also decorated nicely and had a comfortable bed with beautiful decorations. A nice clean bathroom with a good shower. The only thing missing for me was a small desk for my PC.

Free WiFi worked well with sufficient speed for live streams.

Breakfast was served at the table and was very tasty. Fresh bread, just in from the baker, fresh orange juice, cheese, ham, coffee, etc

The hotel has a clever electronic access system where your room card opens all doors including the main gate and the front door. Very safe.

When you are lucky you can park your car in front of the hotel. If not, there is a free parking 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

I can very much recommend this hotel as it stands out of the ordinary, you will not regret your visit.

Ubeda is a nice village where you can spend a couple of hours wandering through the narrow streets of the old town and visiting the main attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeimenBurum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Santa María de Ubeda is a small 6 room new hotel in a renovated heritage house just behind the cathedral. It has parking outside most of the time and is located right in the world heritage precinct of this great old town. They have a lift, serve a good breakfast and the owner seems to be friendly and attentive. The only complaint I would make is about the security system, one uses the security card to get into the small courtyard then into the hotel itself, if the card fails you are either locked in or our? Regardless this is a very nice, intimate, clean hotel in a wonderful town.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Trampsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubeda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel el Postigo
Hotel el Postigo
#5 of 13 in Ubeda
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Ubeda
1.0 mi away
Hotel RL Ciudad de Ubeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#2 of 13 in Ubeda
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#1 of 13 in Ubeda
227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Rosaleda de Don Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria de Ubeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria de Ubeda

Property: Santa Maria de Ubeda
Address: Calle Prior Monteagudo 1, 23400 Ubeda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Ubeda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ubeda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Santa Maria de Ubeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing