We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time. Comfortable, centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palacio De La Rambla
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Ubeda
Sitges, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A step back in time. Comfortable, centrally located”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

For those who like a bit of old world charm, this is the place. Dates from the 16th century and some of the public rooms could almost be original. A little faded maybe, but who cares. The rooms are large and comfortable. They have been tastefully modernised and have air-con/heating. The large windows are double glazed ( most of the rooms look onto a small square ) but without removing the wooden shutters. As previous reviewers have noted, you sometimes get a 'bad water' smell from the bathroom. The central location means you are only a comfortable walking distance from the old town which is utterly charming. The breakfast is fine, although they do not know how to make tea ! One tea bag in a huge tea pot. And they bring hot water for cereals. Still all the staff are charming and the place competes very well with the Parador, which I guess would be much more expensive. If you arrive by car, there is limit space on-site but free street parking nearby. Recommeded especially to visit Ubeda and nearby Baeza.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    29
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
60
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponteland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A very surprising typical Spanish old town house.Beautifully and tastefully furnished with what appeared real antiques.Our suite was very large with a sitting room and bedroom and a very large bathroom(a little smelly)but clean.The Palace has a nice courtyard to sit out in and is very tranquil.The Hotel could not be more centrally located for restaurants and sightseeing with a car park,very tight entrance,get Rosa to guide you in.We only used it for one night and parked outside
For the other two nights free.lots of sights to see and do not miss the original and unrestored Jewish and Moorish house(not the Synagogue).
The breakfast at the house was great,egg and bacon cooked to order with fresh fruits,yoghurt etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed form one night only but would have loved to stay for a week. The staff were kind, helpful and welcoming. The courtyard and garden are idyllic - perfect for an afternoon reading or sipping celebratory Cava - as we did. The sense of history is palpable but the house is not gloomy and has a cheerful happy air. no ghosts here it seems. Mini bar was sensibly priced, breakfast was substantial and varied. Will be back and would advise anyone who has the option to stay here to do so.

Room Tip: Only saw 2 rooms but both were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey_Dripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacoste, France
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We just spent four nights at the Palacio de la Rambla. A beautiful experience. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. The palace is full of antiques and personal mementos of the family who once lived here. The location is excellent and the hotel offers parking on-site. Rosa and Tony were both extremely helpful - unlimited advice and assistance. Breakfasts were very good. If you want to find the real old-style Spain that is disappearing all too quickly, this is the place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nullifidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Only a bit separates this hotel from a five-circle rating, and that might be the slight air of faded charm, that could be depressing were one to dwell on the probable circumstances that caused this proud old family to turn it into a guest establishment. Once one accepts that, however, the reality of the place shines through, from the delightfully accommodating hostess, to the unusually lavish breakfast, to the interior ivied courtyard, to the private exterior garden that adjoined our room. (In that latter place, I completely relaxed, listened to the birds, gloried in the sunshine, and vowed to move to Andalucia!) The bathroom was an enormous tiled affair with pristine modern appliances in the midst of antique character. Our bedroom was a bit dark, furnished with heavy, dark antiques, and terrible reading light -- but still in character with the rest of this unique palacio. (One might get better reading lamps at a Holiday Inn, but who'd trade?) The serendipity continued with the sudden blasts of a brass liturgical band warming up for the day's Semana Santa contest, right outside our room in the adjoining tiny square. One could not have asked for more....but still the tiny scent of decaying decadence remained bittersweet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CapeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here in April and while it had some charm it also was a bit too old in its furnishings. It smelled rather musty and to enter our room we had to walk through a shared living room with the room next to us. The bathroom was nice and updated and very spacious. The hotel surrounds a courtyard that was beautiful and the breakfast, included in the price of the room, was quite nice. They also had a garage to park a car which was helpful especially since we were there during Semana Santas and parking restrictions existed. We would possibly stay in this hotel again, but we really prefer places that have been refurbished a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elbee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I booked Palacio de la Rambla for a one-night stay, and it didn't disappoint. The Palace itself is stunning, and is in the old town of Ubeda, which is a city that is well worth a visit.
All the rooms of the palace are set off a central courtyard, that was even more beautiful than the photos showed. We stayed in room no.1, and to get to it you get to enter through a small living room, that is shared with room no.2. Our room was enormous! It had a lovely sitting area, and a small bathroom (though the bath was brilliant!). My only complaint is that I had booked a double room, yet we ended up wiith twin beds. This has been my experience in a number of places in Spain, but I had expected that at the price I paid, to at least get a double bed! Nonetheless, pushed together it was fine.

Breakfast was great, we were greeted and offered a choice of hot drinks, and then we had a buffet of sorts with ham, fruit, croissants etc. And then we had a choice of eggs, bacon etc. The scrambled eggs was probably the best I've ever tasted!

We were able to leave our suitcases the next day, which suited us perfectly, and the staff were able to give us great restaurant recommendations.
I would definitely go back to this beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, specify!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubeda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Ubeda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#1 of 13 in Ubeda
232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Ubeda
Parador de Ubeda
#2 of 13 in Ubeda
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel el Postigo
Hotel el Postigo
#4 of 13 in Ubeda
290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ordonez Sandoval
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alvaro de Torres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacio De La Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacio De La Rambla

Property: Palacio De La Rambla
Address: Plaza Marques 1, 23400 Ubeda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Ubeda
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ubeda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Palacio De La Rambla 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palacio De La Rambla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio De La Rambla Ubeda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing