We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Afan de Rivera
Ranked #2 of 7 Ubeda B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice historic hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Upon directions of the friendly owner Jose, we visited lovely Ubeda. The hotel is located at the heart of this town in a very old almost medieval building. Room was very neat, with a spacious bathroom. Breakfast was awesome, with a very broad collection of local jamon, cheese and sweets.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0hnSc0tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    24
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
71
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san clemente, ca
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Beautiful, bello, espectacular, magnifique! Right in the historic area of Ubeda. We stayed two nights in a beautiful room decorated tastefully with antiques. The owner is a wonderful host and the breakfast is plentiful and very good. I loved the figs from the island of Menorca and the lemon breakfast cake.

Room Tip: Our host, Mr. Paya, gave us a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afarfaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We loved our stay in this wonderful historic hotel. The owner, Jorge, could not do enough to make us feel welcome - the breakfast offers a terrific selection of Spanish treats including home cooked tortilla and several types of ham which Jorge takes great delight in explaining. The location is terrific and we would love to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

It took a bit of an effort to find the hotel and after dropping off my wife I made a right instead of a left turn on the narrow cobblestone street and got myself stuck on a dead end street. I managed to back up a long way, good adventure.
The hotel is very charming and very much a part of the historical character of the town.
Our room had no windows just a large skylight, not for the claustrophobic. The room was very well appointed with one of the nicest modern bathrooms we saw on our travels.
We walked around the historical core and bought some very unique pieces of the green pottery. They made it home and sit on our table.
Our Spanish is very poor so we weren't able to have much conversation with the owner Jorge, but he was a very charming helpful individual
We enjoyed our one day stay in Ubeda, but one would have to be a real Renaissance afficianado to spend any longer.
I would recommend a stay, if even to get away from the tourist crowds, and enjoy a day in a picturesque renaissance city.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic of California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

You'll find Hotel Afan de Rivera tucked away on a cobblestone side street in Ubeda. This small hotel.....with 5 unique rooms.....offers style with a renaissance flair. The bed was incredibly comfortable with an extremely large, contemporary bathroom with nice amenities. Our particular room offered a sky light and was very quiet.

The buffet breakfast was most elaborate for a small B&B. Often in Spain we were served tea/coffee, toast and jam for breakfast which we realize is a classic spanish breakfast. However, this is not the case at Hotel Afan de Rivera. Each morning we were offered local cold meats and cheeses of a high quality, always there was a loaf of sweet bread (orange or apple), as well as a fruit tart, toast, jams, sometimes an egg dish, fresh juice and coffee & tea.

The highlight of our stay at this hotel was clearly, Jorge, the host. He is charming, gracious and is always available to answer any question or need that you may have.

Our three night stay included New Years Eve. Almost all the restaurants in town were closed. Jorge set up a very special table for us in the dining area where breakfast is served. The table was nicely arranged with candles, champagne, sweets and the classic 12 grapes (per person) that is the tradition to eat at midnight....bringing in the New Year. We couldn't imagine a better way to bring in the New Year while traveling than staying at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank useetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I arrived in Ubeda on the last day of a long weekend festival and there were no taxis. I started to walk through the town in search of the B&B and quickly realised this was a mistake so I rang Jorge and he very kindly came and rescued me.

Jorge speaks Spanish and French and a few words in English. He is a charming host and goes out of his way to be helpful. His breakfasts included some of the best food I'd eaten in Spain and he was very obliting in supplying the recipe to a couple of the dishes (although I would have loved the recipe for the pimiento jam). The room was the quietest I'd had in Spain. Partly because it had thick stone walls and no windows and partly because it is only a small establishment. I visited the Parrador Hotel nearby for dinner and this was a magnificant building but much more expensive.

Ubeda is a small and very unique town with beautifully preserved buildings. It has a wonderful view over the surrounding countryside. Lovely ceramics - I wished I could have handled the extra weight in my suitcase. There is a special community feel about the town and I got the impression that tourism is tolerated but not particularly encouraged. You need to bring a good guidebook with you and learn some Spanish before you go!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneEchidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I added Ubeda and the Hotel Afan de Rivera to our trip as a last minute day filler. WOW! were we surprised with this enchanting find. Afan de Rivera fits right in with the Rennaisance feel of Ubeda - No detail has been spared in decoration, comfort and attention to comfort details. Jorge, the owner, is a lovely man who shares his knowledge of the history and interesting sites of Ubeda in such a way that your experience is super enhanced. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer, but should we be fortunate to return to Ubeda, we will be staying with Jorge once again. Ubeda, by the way is a gem not to be missed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Besttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ubeda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Postigo
Hotel el Postigo
#3 of 13 in Ubeda
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
Hotel Nueve Leyendas
#1 of 13 in Ubeda
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Rosaleda de Don Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alvaro de Torres
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Ubeda
1.0 mi away
Hotel RL Ciudad de Ubeda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Afan de Rivera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Afan de Rivera

Property: Hotel Afan de Rivera
Address: Calle Afan de Rivera 4, 23400 Ubeda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Jaen > Ubeda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ubeda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Afan de Rivera 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Afan de Rivera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing