We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay would not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Almendra y El Gitano
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agua Amarga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2009

we stayed for 2 nights in august - the hotel was very very very remote with no restaurant which meant driving to the nearest town (10 min ) drive. There were lots of flies and mosquitos - breakfast was sparse and we felt considerable ripped off at 125 euro per night after paying only 100 euro at the 5 star ac santa paulo in granada the night before.

we were asked to leave our room keys on top of the unmaned bar - so any one could have been in the room - there was no safe in the room so all valuables were carried to the beach!

definately not value for money - but very pleasant - enjoyed the time - not as good as cases noves another hotel on the little hotels of spain site

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janejoecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2009

2. La Almendra y El Gitano

This accommodation was everything it claimed to be on the website. It was quiet with beautiful scenery and the owners were more than nice and very welcoming. Our room was lovely and spacious and was cleaned every day with fresh towels if requested. We have recommended this accommodation to friends who will visit in the near future.

This is the perfect location to get away from it all. Owner particularly good at recommending wonderful beaches and good restaurants in the area which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scallyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We booked this hotel hoping to find a nice romantic little place from what we saw on the various promotional internet sites. While our GPS could not find the hotel and we had to call around to find the place in a remote corner off a unpaved road, we did still believe that this could fill in our expectations when looking at the building from the outside.

Unfortunately it only took 2 minutes to shatter our dreams. Here is a concise but true summary of our experiences:

> the male host was friendly enough to provide the obligatory introduction to the hotel and the most interesting sights in the area in a three minute conversation. It seemed he was more of a garden lover than a guest fan.
> his lady companion (we can't imagine her to be the dream lover from the website) acted as if we were air even as she sat by the pool only with ourselves. Mind you, she may have been in upper spheres as the place is stuffed with zen tuition books.
>The place is guarded by a pitbull type dog to ensure people don't start feeling too comfortable.
> The hosts had organized an extra-terrestrial party for their Spanish friends and a oversized stereo installation shouting odd music in the peaceful valleys had to support the dog in its guest freightening activities.
> we got the to the rooms (these are very safely locked with medieval cast iron) and were overwhelmed by mosquito spray. The bed was quite comfortable. Soon we noticed however that taking a shower was a mistake as the water turned out to be mud after having dried ourselves in the white towels. Unfortunately these muddy waters also vented rather unpleasant odours in room during the night as flushing proved to be ineffective.
>The swimming pool is quite nice but we had to stay under water to escape from the swarm of flies occupying it.

We wanted to leave after night one but given the 125 € cost per night and the fact that we couldn't cancel the second one we decided not to let this place spoil our fantastic vacation and sweat it out till the next hotel (see other truly recommending reviews of this author on trip advisor).

The positives are the beautiful beaches in the area and the great fish dishes in the surrounding fishing villages.

All in all we had a truly different experience but unfortunately not different enough to justify a 250 € stay in this former ruine.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Lijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We saw an article about this hotel in the Daily Telegraph and looked at its website. We couldn't believe that it would live up to the descriptions but it certainly did. It was very quiet, peaceful and just special. There are only 6 rooms and no food other than breakfast, and it is a 5 minute drive to Agua Amarga, but if you want peace and quiet with absolutely no riff-raff then this is the place to go. You definitely need a car, or preferable a 4x4 as the last section of the road is very rough, and the hotel drive very steep, although we did manage with a saloon. Don't expect attentive service - they do what needs doing, and do it well, but they respect your privacy and are not always available. The buildings have been restored recently from ruins and all rooms are unique and furnished with quality fixtures and fittings. It is definitely not suitable for disabled visitors - our bed was very low, and there are steps with no handrails, a steep drive, and a steep path and steps down to the pool. However all these things added to its charm and we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick's wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mivecinototoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Rbc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agua Amarga
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Tio Kiko
Hotel El Tio Kiko
#2 of 3 in Agua Amarga
184 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Senderos
Hotel Senderos
#3 of 3 in Agua Amarga
100 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Cala Grande
Hotel Cala Grande
#1 of 2 in Las Negras
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
795 reviews
20.1 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
2,425 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel de Naturaleza Rodalquilar Spa Cabo de Gata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Almendra y El Gitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Almendra y El Gitano

Address: Camino de Cala Plomo s/n, 04149 Agua Amarga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Agua Amarga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Agua Amarga
Price Range: $145 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Almendra y El Gitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing