We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back hotel near the sea”
Review of Family Agua Amarga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Agua Amarga
Ranked #2 of 6 Agua Amarga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grendon, Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Laid back hotel near the sea”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We've stayed at Hotel Family several times over the last 7 years and have found Marc and his parents to be most hospitable. This is a great value hotel within 3 minutes walk of the lovely beach and sea and the village of Agua Amarga, which itself is a jewel in the region. Some great walks from behind the hotel to access secluded beaches (1, 2,5 and 10k). Large bedrooms and functional bathrooms which are kept clean. OK, this isn't 5 star, but it's clean, friendly, laid back, great location and very good value. Sure some of the fixtures and fittings aren't contemporary, but everything is functional and we feel very comfortable there. The breakfasts are excellent and the home made marmalades are delicious. It has never been crowded when we have visited in June and end of September and usually have the pool to ourselves. I think the village and hotels are packed in August when the Spanish are on holiday. The dinners are very good size portions and cooked to a high standard and good value. However, we usually eat out in the evening and there's a good variety of restaurants in the area to choose from. We will be going back again and look forward to another chilling holiday in Hotel Family.

Room Tip: Rooms up the stairs at the back of the hotel all have balconies with lovely views of the village and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    32
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Family with my boyfriend for a week in June 2009. I originally chose it because I could not afford the other accommodations in Agua Amarga, and because I could speak with the owners in French (I don't speak Spanish). We were so much more than satisfied with our experience. The room was small and simple, but quite adequate and private with good air conditioning (very important in the desert). The breakfast, which is included in the (very reasonable) room rate, was to die for. I think some others who reviewed it only ordered one or two things at a time - we had all available options every day, which was included in the price: omelette, cheeses, yogourt, fruit, sponge cake, preserves, juice, toast, tea, hot chocolate...and then had no need for lunch, even during a long day of hiking. We found all the food to be fresh and delightful with great attention to detail - especially compared to the breakfasts that are standard in Spain (stale white bread with black coffee anyone?). People who complained about the lack of meat maybe don't realize that breakfast at all is fairly rare in Spain, and that you'll get more than enough meat at the other two meals? We had to leave at 6am on our last day, but the owners took the time to prepare breakfast for us and leave us with supplies to wrap some of it up to take on the road for later.
Dinner at the restaurant was absolutely amazing, although we only splurged on it once. The place has a beautiful garden and is a 3-minute walk from the stunning, pristine beach. I hope to come back here again very, very soon and recommend it to everyone I know. There are other places in Agua Amarga that are more 'luxe,' but Hotel Family was just what I needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sukkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castillejar, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lovely hotel in pleasant surroundings. Lots of variety for breakfast - plenty to eat but it felt ´healthy´ at the same time. Being on a budget we booked the two cheapest rooms but these were perfect for our needs - at the rear of the hotel with a shared porch and small patio with swing seat, great on a scorching afternoon for sitting and chatting in the shade after our siestas.Nice homely feel, definitely hope to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just back from our third stay at the Hotel Family in beautiful Agua Amarga.
As usual the food was magnificent and the owners and staff went out of their way to ensure we had a great stay.
OK, as a few reviewers have noted, some of the facilities are a bit dated - but to us that is part of the hotel's charm. It has a lovely pool and all the important services are great. If you want chic blandness don't go to the Hotel Family.
We have only visited in the quiet season when the hotel rooms are really great value. The food is as good as we have had anywhere. Although we booked bed and breakfast, we ended up eating in the hotel everynight - we just couldn't tear ourselves away !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLaura_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were recommend to Hotel Family by some friends & we were NOT disappointed. The hotel is very 'spanish' as in 'rustic' but nice and clean in all hotel areas. The bedrooms are fairly basic with balcony, beds comfortable and plenty of space. The restaurant was cozy with an open log fire. The food was AMAZING, the evening meal was one of the best I have ever had, I had the lamb,my partner had chicken and both were delicious. They was plenty of food and it was clearly home made and each course was delicious. The breakfast was as satisfying with home made preserves which were gorgeous & lots more! I really am not usually a person to crave over food but give this hotel a try you wont be disappointed.Service is good and all staff were very friendly and welcoming. We have already recommend it to other friends!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everycare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
537 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over New Year. The hotel is a little quirky, but the family welcome was warm. The bedrooms are comfortable, the food was excellent and the location is perfect for a get away from it all break.
And very good value for money.

Room Tip: Insist on a first floor terrace room with sea view. But be warned - there are around 25 stone steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We spent 3 nights at this delightful little village in the heart of the Cabo de Gato.
The hotel on the other hand wasn´t quite what we had expected. Having read the previous comments I was really looking forward to a hearty breakfast, but I found it disappointing. No Bacon or meats on offer, cheese was unexceptional and the home made preserves hadn´t been de-stoned and were over sweet. I had the omelette one morning and it was undercooked (wet on the inside), even the toast somehow was below par.

The evening meal was somewhat better the first evening (chicken cooked in a terracota pot), but it was dissappointing to find that all the dishes over the next few days were cooked using the same method, very tasty but not very inspiring.

The room was small but pleasant in a french / spanish rustic style, little annoying things like the sink plug not fitting correctly. One small piece of soap to share between the sink and the shower seemed a little mean. There was a limited number of electrical sockets which meant having to move the kettle to a not particularly safe position to boil.

The room was clean, but we didn´t like the brown towels! Who knows what nasties they could hold! Give me white or cream towels every time please!

Overall, nice location, uninspiring hotel and at 75euros a night not particularly cheap. But pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmeriaCocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agua Amarga
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Tio Kiko
Hotel El Tio Kiko
#2 of 3 in Agua Amarga
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Senderos
Hotel Senderos
#3 of 3 in Agua Amarga
81 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Almendra y El Gitano
La Almendra y El Gitano
#1 of 3 in Agua Amarga
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel El Dorado
Hotel El Dorado
#3 of 5 in Carboneras
81 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel MC San Jose
Hotel MC San Jose
#1 of 5 in San Jose
707 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel de Naturaleza Rodalquilar Spa Cabo de Gata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Agua Amarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Agua Amarga

Property: Family Agua Amarga
Address: Calle Lomilla N 6, 04149 Agua Amarga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Agua Amarga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Agua Amarga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Family Agua Amarga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing