We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Andalucian Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Loja
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High Quality Andalucian Retreat”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

A great hotel in a beautiful setting. The swimming pool is enormous and had good facilities for children. Unfortunately the restaurant overlooking the pool was closed (open only during summer) but it would make a great venue for lunch. The other restaurants served excellent if somewhat pricey food. Staff are very willing to make recommendations of local restaurants though. We had one slight issue with the Spa through a temporary malfunction but management were quick to apologise and make amends so no problem there.

This hotel is also handily located for day trips to Granada, Antequera and even the Costa del Sol (if that's your thing).

Top tip - take an offroad buggie for a ride around the grounds; it's great fun. But don't drench your wife in mud by driving through puddles like I did!

Note: this is a popular hotel for weddings so you may find yourself in a minority. There was a wedding on whilst we were there but it didn't bother us. On the plus side, we probably got a nicer room than we had booked.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigOrangeTwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    97
    40
    8
    9
See reviews for
165
374
5
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

La Bobadilla comes with my highest recommendation.

We were here late in the Season - and it was perfect. Not sure I would recommend it (or the region) for the middle of Summer when it's undoubtedly too hot, but if you're around in Spring or Fall, don't miss this.

Make sure you rent a car with TomTom because it can be somewhat hard to find La Bobadilla. When we drove up the impressive drive-way and saw the sign of "Leading Hotels of the World", our expectation rose (we're big LHW fans and didn't realize Bobadilla was a member when we booked) -- we were not disappointed.

Pleasant rooms. Excellent restaurants. Stunning setting. Very friendly, professional staff. Good breakfast. Very nice pool.

We stayed 2 nights - did one day-trip to Cordoba and then headed off to Granada the next day, both easily reached by car.

If we're ever visiting the region again, we'll stay here again with pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We found La Bobadilla on the Leading Hotels of the World website as we are members of the Leader's Club and were looking for a country hideaway to spend a few days over New Year. We decided on La Bobadilla because of the LHW affiliation and because of the great location (it is situated inland about 45 mins from Malaga, close to Granada and the Alhambra and not too far from Cordoba and Seville).

The hotel itself is like a small hamlet located in huge private grounds and with every amenity provided including spa, two restaurants, bar, huge outdoor swimming pool (and indoor pool), quad bikes, karting, mountain biking, horse-riding, archery and most importantly peace and quiet in which to relax and enjoy the views of the stunning scenery.

The hotel staff from the manager down were friendly, welcoming and helpful and the events, dinner and party organized for New Year were great.

This is a truly special place that we intend to return to.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeTravellerGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

La Bobadilla was a major highlight on our recent trip to southern Spain. We went out of our way to rent a car and visit this hotel from Seville/Granada since the property looked so unique and beautiful. The hotel lived up to and exceeded expectations in many ways. The property itself is secluded and gorgeous set on hundreds of private acres in the countryside- really lovely. The staff was courteous, pleasant and helpful, and the guest rooms are unique, charming, comfortable, spacious and offer great views. The "board", although expensive, was excellent. The breakfast buffet was a site to behold and our dinner at La Finca, next to a roaring fire, was among our very best in Spain. (We discovered that in off-peak months, the same chef cooks for La Finca and for the less expensive, El Cortijo, so both meals we ate were delicious and the service was also excellent.) Hiking, horseback riding, and mountain biking were all a real treat at this beautiful property. Although there is a charge to use the pool and to use a computer to email, the spa is very pleasant and there is a computer available for a fee. We highly recommend this hotel to others and hope to return one day soon ourselves!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveladdict0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole, uk
Level Contributor
177 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Top class hotel in the middle of the Andalucian countryside with its own 25sqkm Estate. Everything is 5 star. ROOM: We had a beautifully appointed room with views over beautiful andalucian hills. Peace and quiet all night. SERVICE: All staff were all extremely friendly and hlepful at all times. FACILITIES: There are mountain bikes free to use which we just picked up and used to cycle through the estate on lotsof different tracks. I also went for horse-ride which was great value compared with UK standards (12 Euros per horse per hour) and as a competent rider I was confident to take the horse out without a guide. They will provide a guide however if you prefer. There are also Dune buggies for a charge and free archery. The outdoor pool is huge. The Spa and small gym area looked nice but we didn't use as we spent so much time outside. FOOD: Breakfast was excellent. For evening meals there were 2 out of 3 restaurants open: La Finca and El Cortijo. La Finca is "5 fork" (Michelin star equivelent) and menu excellent but BEWARE LA FINCA IS A SMOKING RESTAURANT. This is great if you have cigarettes to burn along with your cash but if you're a non-smoker and have enjoyed smoke free dining since the European ban, or have a touch of asthma made worse by passive smoking it is a nightmare. We were completely unaware it was all-smoking and had our lovely meal ruined by a big party of smokers near our table. The waiters were very apologetic and brought the remainder of the meal and wine to our room but we did not return to this restaurant. El Cortijo next door has a non smoking area and the food is nice but not quite as good as La Finca and it works out just as expensive. WE would have returned to La Finca had it been at least in part non-smoking, and perhaps earlier in the evening before the Spanish eat out it is less smoky, but we didn't want to risk spending so much on a meal and wine for it to be ruined again.
SUMMARY: Absolute peace and quiet get away from it all with excellent service but be prepared to spend some money on food and beware the smoking restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We stayed at La Bobadilla for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was our anniversary whilst there and we received a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was fabulous. The pool at the hotel was amazing - huge with loads of space for sunbathing. Food in the hotel was very good - breakfast was included in the room rate and involved a huge choice. We also ate lunch and dinner in the hotel on 2 occasions and on each occasion were very pleased with the quality. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere which is exactly what we were looking for. If you want luxury with very attentive staff, then this is the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at La Bobadilla for the last two nights of our holiday touring around Andalucia. It's an excellent place for a 2-3 night visit, where you just want to relax. As a former palace the hotel is stunning throughout, the room (ours was a junior suite) was enormous (bigger than some apartments in the uk!), with a private garden. A free half bottle of local wine in the room was a nice touch.

Service throughout is exemplary, the best we had in Spain and the swimming pool, if a little cold, was a great way to while away the hours when it was hot.

Restaurant wise, both were very good with the Finca being the best, would recommend the 55 euro chefs special menu. The breakfast buffet also very extensive. The bar lunches were far too expensive, sandwiches coming in at 12-15 euros

However, relaxing though it was I do feel that much longer a stay would have been too much, as the restaurants are expensive and you are not near a town to go elsewhere.

Lovely hotel, great for 2-3 nights, but probably not for much longer

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFullBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loja
6.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Llano Pina
6.8 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
20.4 mi away
Hotel Convento de la Magdalena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel El Mirador Loja
17.9 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
717 reviews
18.5 mi away
Hotel Antequera
Hotel Antequera
#2 of 15 in Antequera
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Property: La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
Address: Agregado Ventas Salinas Km. 65.5 | Finca La Bobadilla, 18300 Loja, Spain (Formerly Barcelo La Bobadilla)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Loja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Loja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Barcelo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo La Bobadilla Hotel Loja
Barcelo Hotel La Bobadilla
Barcelo Hotel Loja
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Spain/Loja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing