We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect oasis for everything: laughter...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
13 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Loja, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KelleyOsb...
Tunbridge Wells
1 review
“The perfect oasis for everything: laughter, silence, connection, solitude, play & peace.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We hosted a yoga retreat here in June and El Cachete surpassed our expectations! The villa itself is arranged and decorated with such thought and care, which lends itself to being a real 'home away from home.

The location is serene, rustic and utterly peaceful.

Jim and his family are real gems. True pleasures to work with - a perfect balance of charm & insight and professionalism.

We would love to host retreats here regularly and would reccommend to anyone looking for a restorative getaway, with both large and small groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and the swimming pool.
Liked least: Some of the single rooms were a bit dark.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
461Pamela...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“I will return some day! It was the most fabulously relaxing holiday I have had in a long time.”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I was invited to attend a friends 40th birthday party to a villa in Spain with a bunch of his close friends and family, but had no idea just what I was in for.
On arrival we were greeted by the lovely Molly who showed us a very large selection of rooms, ranging from singles, doubles, twins, family rooms and even a four poster, all with stunning views of the hills and mountains. The kitchen was a cook’s paradise with a complimentary selection of food waiting for us, and the large lounge (complete with piano and other musical instruments) had a well-stocked bar with a fridge full of wine, beer and soft drinks.
The swimming pool area was as large as you would find in any resort hotel, with enough deckchairs, hammocks and loungers to suit the whole family!
The night of the big birthday was a night I will never forget, with Flamenco and Paella to satisfy the hungriest. We ate outside in the large courtyard and were entertained by one of the best Flamenco troupe I have ever seen. We danced till the early hours!
This beautiful villa is ideal for large family parties and suitable for children of all ages, and is perfect for a special celebration, as ours was. I would not hesitate in recommending El Cachete to anyone wanting a villa holiday. You’re in for a real treat!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, but also the exquisite food cooked by the owners and Carmel.
Liked least: The distance from the villa to the nearest beach, but the pool more than made up for that.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelTra...
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A truly fabulous week at El Cachete”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having just returned from a week at El Cachete celebrating my 40th birthday, I have to tell you not to pass by on the opportunity of staying here!

In all, 22 of us stayed at this stunning villa and all had an incredible time. I was searching for a villa that would comfortably accommodate us all but I got much more than that. As a family-owned villa, I was welcomed warmly from my initial contact, right throughout the booking process and during the holiday itself.

The other reviews are spot on with regards to the house, gardens and pools. There was plenty of space for 22 of us to comfortably relax without getting in each other's way. What made the holiday so special to us though was the service that the owners' family provided. Given the size of the group, we weren't looking to eat out at restaurants very often. On offer was a superb choice of freshly-prepared meals that were frozen in advance of our arrival and thawed and reheated as required. In our group were a mixture of meat-eaters, vegetarians, pescetarians and vegans which might have stumped some chefs. Not Molly and her Mum! We ate like kings every day and I would strongly recommend that you take up this option. Try the pea curry - it's a spicy winner!

Carmen cleaned for us every morning and the gardens and the pool were tended to daily without us really noticing (possibly due to the vino).

As we had two children in the group (12 and 2), there was a chance that they might get bored but there were plenty of games, DVDs, CDs, books, the pool, table tennis, table football and a fantastic (very springy) trampoline to keep them entertained.

On my birthday evening, we were entertained by the musicians and Flamenco dancer as detailed in other reviews. If you are in a group celebrating a special occasion, this really is a great way to get the party started. Carmen prepared several beautiful tapas dishes and sangria followed by a huge traditional paella and an excellent vegan version. The memories of this night will last forever.

El Cachete is a gorgeous property in a beautiful location (the ONLY negative being that the directions to the property are a bit sketchy and we made a couple of wrong decisions! The owners have been advised of this so hopefully they will be improved by now). The villa is run incredibly well with the attention to detail and service that you would not normally find in a villa rental.

I couldn't recommend this property highly enough and if you're planning a visit can I come with you?

Sobresaliente!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food, the location, the attention to detail. Too many to list.
Liked least: The directions to the villa (now corrected)
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 25, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing the property, in response to your helpful comment we have now updated the directions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandiszup
Wirral, Merseyside, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful character property for a relaxing holiday with family and friends”
Reviewed August 6, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from spending a magical week at El Cachete with 12 other family members. The property is charming, with both original artwork and rustic features, plus the comforts of modern living. Inside, there are so many bedrooms to choose from and the living room is gorgeous, with its comfy sofas and piano. The kitchen is spacious, with two large fridges plus fridge in the bar area. The owners generously stocked these with drinks both soft and alcoholic completely free of charge, and also provided plenty of food including some lovely, freshly prepared lasagne, again free of charge. I have never seen such a large pool attached to a rental villa before! And there were several places to sit outside. We ate at the large tables in the courtyard each evening, then moved to the terrace to watch the sun go down behind the hills. There are supermarkets within a 15 minute drive, and the beautiful towns of Cordoba and Granada are both within a drive of an hour and a half. The jewel in the crown was the fabulous flamenco evening that the owners organised at the property. We were served fabulous fresh prawns and other tasty nibbles by the wonderful Carmen, followed by her fabulous paella, all for an affordable 15 euros per person. This combined with completely authentic flamenco guitars, voice and dancing made for an unforgettable evening. Totally amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Mountain bikes not up to husbands expectations
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kateedwar...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breathtaking villa with pool, views, and character!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

El Cachete is a really special place. It is absolutely beautiful inside and out - from its antique wooden doors, pillars and windows around the enormous swimming pool, many secluded seating areas, fountains, a hidden courtyard, mature garden, huge verandas overlooking the extensive olive groves, the art work - it was an endless source of wonder and discovery for our large group visiting. Unlike many holiday rentals, it felt well loved and inhabited and was beautifully furnished.

It was a major advantage to our group that every room has an ensuite bathroom. The beds are comfortable and there is no noise from roads or neighbours. It is in a great location to get to the beach, mountains, Granada or Malaga, but you definitely need a car because it is very remote.

We plan to take many more holidays at El Cachete in years to come!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: There is no internet
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing