We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, views to die for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Los Caracoles
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigiliana
Certificate of Excellence
Goole
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, views to die for!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place in the hills ahove frigiliana. Very unique. We went for a meal here, although did not stay at the Hotel. The food was lovely - very succulent steak. The waiter was so helpful and friendly. He even brought our shawls forth daughter and I in case we got cold later on in the evening. A place that you really must visit !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deboraheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    21
    5
    9
See reviews for
26
113
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel was the first stop on our "ruta del sol y vino". We were coming from the north west (Torrox) and it was very difficult to find the place. Luckily the owner was so kind to come to pick us up. It took some time before we noticed the white car she described on the phone and that was a perfect moment to overthink the day.
We definitely made the right choice in combining a city trip (Granada) with some country sightseeing. The "ruta del sol y vino" is a perfect mix of very nice and spectacular views and it is passing through some very lovely villages.
We followed the owner towards the hotel and we were sure we never would have found the place ourselves.....We were presented our room which was decorated in a typical way; colorful and charming. We enjoyed the bath after a long but beautiful day.
The original plan was to go for dinner in Frigiliana, just a few kilometers further but, I did not feel like driving anymore through the area in the dark and so we had dinner at the hotel. The ambiance was nice and the food was good.
Waking up the next day was even more special. Once the curtains were open, the sun was providing us some breathtaking and wonderful views over the Mediterranean sea and over Frigiliana; a perfect and lovely white village in the mountains.. We had breakfast at the terrace and we realised how lucky we were to enjoy all of this. Breakfast was very good with some local fresh homemade products and a large variety of cereals, drinks and fruits.
We definitely recommend this place for staying one of more days; it really is a very special experience. Just make sure you arrive from the south (Nerja) ;-).
Sometimes a single picture describes more than hundreds of words; judge yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskerry, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is an incredibly unusual hotel, on the mountain roads above frigiliana, the most amazing views, a photographers dream. The rooms are a decent size with bathroom, there is no air conditioning which can make it pretty hot in the summer but well worth the inconvenience. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. This is a hotel to stay in to experience something different and you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: All the room are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleymcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

After making our way up the winding road through the stunning hills above Frigiliana, we arrived at Hotel Los Caracoles around midday to be greeted by the very friendly receptionist. She led us down to our room and when we entered, the room was in darkness. We rushed over to the balcony doors and threw them open, to find that we had a jaw-dropping view over the valley. It was absolutely perfect.
Our room was small and charming. I wouldn't say it was luxurious - some of the fixtures needed a little attention - but the decor was typically Spanish, with colourful patchwork tiles in the bathroom and vibrant textiles throughout.
It was so peaceful and relaxing up there. I could have spent the whole day on the terrace up at the bar looking over to Frigiliana in the distance. The bar/restaurant staff spoke little to no English, which wasn't a problem at all because they were so friendly and generous.
We had one meal there and that too was very good. The portions were suitably large for a man with a big appetite. Again the service was excellent and having dinner with views like that was something special.
This was honestly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. I loved everything about it. Although I would say that having our own transport would have been ideal. We had to rely on taxis which was a little tedious. They were always there within 10 minutes, very friendly and efficient, but €10 to get to Frigiliana was a bit much. If hiring a car or a bike is an option for you then do that to make you feel less cut off.
Other than that I thoroughly recommend this beautiful, unique hotel in the hills.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great place for lunch if you have a head for heights.
Stunning views in the sun!
Great risottos, scrambled egg, prawns and asparagus, and friendly wine list.
Prawn tart a bit dissapointing.
Bit of a trek to get there, and if you don't like mountain roads without barriers, a bit daunting.
Only 10 mins from Frigliana, so well worth the effort to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

A quirky and beautiful hotel in the hills above Frigiliana and Nerja. The views from the rooms were stunning and it was very peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were basic but very clean and everything worked. Dinner in the restaurant was a strange experience....... My boyfriend & I ordered starters and main courses. His starter was brought out very promptly and just as he was finishing his, mine came out. As I was eating mine, my main course came out! We asked them to take this back until I had finished. So they took it back then when I had finished and promptly delivered my main. Then my boyfriend was left waiting for his!! It was a bit of a shambles and the restaurant/kitchen needs a little help with timing & leadership!! Overall, the experience was not all bad as we watched the moon rise over the hills to the East and it was a beautiful setting! We would definitely stay again, as the staff were very helpful and friendly (even though they didn't speak much English but our Spanish is very poor!!). I would have given 5 stars if we hadn't had the experience in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausagechops74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCS
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

If your looking for somewhere to get away from it all then is the place to go. We booked cute snail for our three day stay,we had fantastic views from our very private patio. It is rustic so don,t expect perfection, but rooms where very clean, with small fridge to keep the wine cool, the only slight down side was no air con it was very hot at night. Staff were all fantastic. We ate in the restaurant and had taster menu which was amazing , the best meal we had on our two week tour. Would love to return . Thank you Caracoles we loved our stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholsWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigiliana
2.1 mi away
Apartamentos Rosamarina
Apartamentos Rosamarina
#1 of 4 in Frigiliana
52 reviews
5.1 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
4.6 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Balcon de Competa Hotel and Bungalows
4.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Frigiliana
Hotel Villa Frigiliana
#3 of 8 in Frigiliana
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Caracoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Caracoles

Property: Hotel Los Caracoles
Address: Carretera Frigiliana Km 4,6, 29788 Frigiliana, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Frigiliana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigiliana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Caracoles 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Caracoles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing