We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Frigiliana
Ranked #3 of 6 Frigiliana B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at Hotel Villa Frigiliana and found it to be a quiet, clean, well-managed hotel. The air-conditioning in the rooms is great and a necessity in August. TVs in the rooms show mainly Spanish channels but who needs tv with amazing views from the balcony? The pool was cool but clean and refreshing. The continental breakfasts very enjoyable and well-presented. The bar in the evenings was very quiet and closed early but we enjoyed the odd drink there and a chat with the owner, Vicky.
What makes this hotel stand out is the friendliness and welcome from Vicky and her staff.
We would stay here again in the future if we visited the lovely village of Frigiliana.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a large balcony. I think all rooms would have good views but some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekender07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    71
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
33
109
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

As this is the only big hotel in Frigiliana, they always have a lot of guests. Their reviews have been good and on booking.com they scored 8.9/10. So we booked. And what a mistake it was.....

Pros:

* The location is good. Just below Frigiliana's old town.

* Scenic views over Frigiliana old town and the country side from all rooms and the public areas.

* Pool area is small but nice and cosy.

* Staff is ok.


Cons:

* Where to start. Very tired hotel. The room was a real eye sore and looked like it haven't been updated since like the 80's. Colors were green, brown and yellow.

* Breakfast was so bad it was offending. Cheese tasted plastic. Ham was too hard to chew. Coffee and juice were impossible to drink. Boiled eggs were far from fresh.

* They have a energy saving feature that turn off all lights in public areas within 10 seconds after a switch is hit. After 10 seconds it gets complety dark. This feature makes the hotel and it's public areas (such as corridors and even lounges) dark all the time. Not charming.

* Beds and pillows are probably the worst we have ever slept on and has a one star feeling to them. Sheets and blankets that should have been retired 20 years ago.

* No Wi-Fi in rooms.

* No hotel parking, just the public parking spaces around town. Depending on the day, you may need to park at least 10 min walk from the hotel.

This hotel is really more of a one star hotel without charm. Avoid if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with 2 small kids late at night and slightly traumatised after a family crisis, having booked in online only an hour previously. We were met by soothing scent of incense and the extremely friendly and helpful owners. They made us feel very welcome and were great with the kids. Our room was lovely, spotlessly clean and with a small balcony. We ended up staying an extra night as we liked it so much. Just what we needed, thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hi I see the Hotel Villa Frigiliana is in your restaurants with stunning views.. The picture shown is not the restaurant unless they took out a wall and a road. This must be a view from upstairs in a room. if you had not stayed there you would be misled and that isn't fair. I will say that the food in this hotel is very good but that picture is not from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms ok need updating but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from ten days in the beautiful village of Frigiliana and stayed in the hotel Villa Frigiliana. Vicky the owner and all of the staff couldnt be more helpful. The hotel is little gem and if you want something central without all of the fuss of the bigger hotels in Nerja this hotel ticks all of the boxes. We even got to meet her wonderful dog Copi who we fell in love with. This hotel is friendly, very clean and very central. Vicky adds a personal touch as she is chatty , helpful and very friendly. I couldnt recommend this hotel enough. Will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Every room is very good as they all face the beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOEDOE_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We visited hotel frigillana end of april.lovely hotel .the owner vicky is lovely. We've known her for years . Hope You are well vicky we will be back in august to Nerja Nd will come and visit You regards Emma @ andrea

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spikey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Had a very nice stay in this hotel, the people running the hotel were very friendly and went out of their way to give us advice and make us feel welcome, I would definitely stay again.

Had the superior room with its own balcony and gorgeous views, worth the few euros extra for the balcony

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaAspell1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigiliana
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Caracoles
Hotel Los Caracoles
#2 of 4 in Frigiliana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hospederia el Caravansar
Hospederia el Caravansar
#3 of 4 in Frigiliana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Rosamarina
Apartamentos Rosamarina
#1 of 4 in Frigiliana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
3.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Frigiliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Frigiliana

Property: Hotel Villa Frigiliana
Address: Calle San Sebastian 1 | Street San Sebastien 1, 29788 Frigiliana, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Frigiliana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frigiliana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Frigiliana 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Frigiliana, the most beautifull picturesque village of Andalousia, the hotel Villa Frigiliana have 35 rooms with all comfort and balcony or terrace with mountain and sea view. At the enter of the natural reserve of Sierra Tejeda, the hotel is an ideal departure point for hike the beaches of Nerja are at only 5 minutes by car from the hotel. The international airport of Malaga is at 50 km from the hotel which is near Grenade and Sierra Nevada. the restaurant propose mediteranean and andalouse plates. you can take a drink on the terrace of the bar and admire a magnificent slept of sun. the swimming pool is open during all day and offer some free transat the rooms are spacious and lightness and are all climatized and carrefully decorated. they are all equiped with television with satelit channel, safe and airdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Frigiliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing