We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Frigiliana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Frigiliana
Ranked #2 of 9 Frigiliana B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We are frequent travellers to Nerja/Frigiliana for the last twenty years (approx) and have just returned from two weeks in Frigiliana. The Hotel Frigiliana is closed. It was taken over(rented) by a British couple who were making a very good job of it. Unfortunately the bank, who owned the property, foreclosed and the owner had to give the couple notice which has taken place and the hotel remains closed until the bank can find a buyer. In the present financial climate I do not hold much hope for that in the near future.
We have stayed there with several friends on occasions and found it well run and a pleasant hotel although not frequented enough to make it pay in our view. Our relatives have stgayed there very recently and found the restaurant had improved considerably. Unfortunately that is all now history.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank ChrisD817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in April 2012 and found it to be only ok.. the price was great but we had booked it with the previous owners and not new owners.. and were told on checking in that they would have never given us the deal we got.. 2 weeks with bed, breakfast and dinner for €472 for two.. brilliant price... however, hotel was dead... I think one night we might have been the only ones there.. they constantly played Rod Stewart on the in house music system ok if you are staying a night or two but two weeks it would do your head in.. .. the positive is that the food was fantastic... and I thought the staff in restaurant were lovely a definite bonus for the hotel... It would be nice to see evening entertainment of some sort... some comfy sofa's to sit and read or have a coffee, Good to stay in for a weekend maybe but any longer than that I would give it a miss..

Room Tip: Good for an overnight in a fantastic village
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was a last minute booking made in the height of summer (July), literally a week before we travelled to Spain and I really didn't know what to expect, especially as we were only paying 50 euros (£40) per night for a twin room with breakfast, where Hostals in Nerja were demanding more for a room only! When we arrived, we were really pleased that the place is located right in the main square of Frigiliana - good access by road and relatively simple parking.

We were greeted upon arrival and taken to our room on the top floor. The views were stunning - absolutely incredible, but there was a slight issue with the smell of drains coming from the bathroom. Two minutes of running the water would have cured this, but Denise immediately found us another room on a lower floor, but again with stunning views and a larger balcony - perfect for watching the flamenco evening literally on the square opposite our room that night!

The room was immaculate, comfortable and cleaned and bed changed daily. Plenty of storage space and a safe available. The bathroom was great, with bath, shower, WC and bidet and WiFi available in the hotel if needed, though not necessarily in the rooms. This would be the only criticism I can make. Breakfast was a buffet selection of sliced cheese, sausage, chorizo and ham, with a selection of cereals, fresh bread, butter, jam and tea, coffee, juices, fresh fruit etc too - ideal start to the day.

The staff were good, the pool was good, the proximity to everything couldn't have been better - all in all, such a bargain, we ended up staying there for a further two days and would absolutely recommend to anybody looking to stay in the Frigiliana / Nerja area, without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KernowExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

It says three stars next to the impressive entrance hall which I just don't get. In sSpain a 3 star hotel is usually a fleapitt over an abetoir but this is great. Closer to a uk 4 star by a mile. Literally at the terminus to old Friglianni with (I believe) every room having a view of the valley across to Nerja and the sea beyond you would struggle for a better location to explore this part of the Costa Tropical. Beautiful tiled entrance with very friendly English speaking staff, Spotless rooms, readonable pool and very decent dining room.


  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quite_interesting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

After hearing many recommendations for the restaurant we decided to give it a try. We went for the set evening menu at 14.95 euro per person. Service was excellent. We started with the prawns which were excellent and for main we had the hake. The hake came with tagliatelli and veg, both of which were very good. The meal was let down by the fish which seemed frozen and not up to the same standard as the other parts of the meal. We finished with banoffi pie made with filo. Very good for a set meal. We had a very good bottle of wine with the meal and the total price for 2 was 50 euro. As I said, good value but let down by the fish. I would have preferred less fish but better quality. Maybe the A La Carte menu is better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Cristobal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was like a dream come true for us 2 Australians. We had seen photos of white villages in Andalucia, We had seen photos of hill villages in Tuscany, and mountain villages lost somewhere in the Mediterranean. Frigiliana is it, all rolled into one!

To arrive here, you need to use a bus from Nerja (pay one Euro when you get on). The hotel is located just near to the square where the bus terminates. It is a 5 storey building overlooking the plaza and the valley. Note that the bus does not operate on Sundays and public holidays.

Reception was pleasant and we were in our room in moments even though we had arrived rather early.. It was a " cheap deal" through Alpharooms for a "promo room" , so we weren't expecting what we got. A wonderful room overlooking the valley. Aircon, large bathroom, small balcony, well furnished and very comfortable beds. Just perfect! Breakfast was cereals, bread, cheese ham, coffee, good quality tea ( a rarity in Spain), fruit, yoghurt and included in the price. There is a small plunge pool which was really refreshing. Everything in the hotel was decorated just as in the photos.

The only negative I can think of is that sometimes the aircon seemed to draw in smelly air. This happened once or twice during our three days there.

We ate the Euros 9.50 lunch each day in the restaurant. That was as good as others have mentioned.
By the way, around the corner is a community sports centre. The gym there is free. Opposite the sports centre is a small supermarket where prices are reasonable. There is a market operating in the central plaza every Thursday morning.
All in all, a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My partner & i recently stayed at the hotel for an evening away. On arrival we were upgraded to a superior room - just because they could! - & we were welcomed by the very lovley owner. Throughout our stay the staff were absolutley lovely and would bend over backwards to help us. The food was delicious - so delicious that we then took our family back 2 days later for lunch and once again, not a single thing disappointed! The price was ridiculously low - to the point i felt guilty paying so little for the quality of food! One thing i would say is that on reading the menu the food looks as though it is not going to be very exciting, in reality it tasted delicious and was presented beautifully - dont be put off by the look of the menu.The hotel was in perfect walking distance from lots of other bars in Frig and and the views were exceptional. I would recommend this 110% to anyone that either wanted a few nights away or just a lovely dinner! Due to my partners family have a house about 15mins from the hotel - i can guarentee that we will be back! During our stay we actually broke the mirror in our room (completley our fault!) & the staff were very understanding. We actually took the mirror away & fixed it ourselves to save anyone else the trouble! i cannot praise this hotel enough!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony, the views are breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaMac18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frigiliana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hospederia el Caravansar
Hospederia el Caravansar
#3 of 4 in Frigiliana
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Rosamarina
Apartamentos Rosamarina
#1 of 4 in Frigiliana
56 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Los Caracoles
Hotel Los Caracoles
#2 of 4 in Frigiliana
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Rural Hotel Almazara
Rural Hotel Almazara
#3 of 9 in Frigiliana
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
EL Torreon 109 Charming B&B
EL Torreon 109 Charming B&B
#8 of 9 in Frigiliana
2 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Perla de Frigiliana
La Perla de Frigiliana
#1 of 9 in Frigiliana
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Frigiliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Frigiliana

Address: Calle San Sebastian 1 | Street San Sebastien 1, 29788 Frigiliana, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Frigiliana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Frigiliana
Price Range: $57 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Frigiliana 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Frigiliana, the most beautifull picturesque village of Andalousia, the hotel Villa Frigiliana have 35 rooms with all comfort and balcony or terrace with mountain and sea view. At the enter of the natural reserve of Sierra Tejeda, the hotel is an ideal departure point for hike the beaches of Nerja are at only 5 minutes by car from the hotel. The international airport of Malaga is at 50 km from the hotel which is near Grenade and Sierra Nevada. the restaurant propose mediteranean and andalouse plates. you can take a drink on the terrace of the bar and admire a magnificent slept of sun. the swimming pool is open during all day and offer some free transat the rooms are spacious and lightness and are all climatized and carrefully decorated. they are all equiped with television with satelit channel, safe and airdryer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Villa Frigiliana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing