We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and superb food!”
Review of La Esquina - CLOSED

La Esquina
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great staff and superb food!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We went to La Esquina for lunch and had a vert good tapas menu with a crisp glass of white wine - great value for money!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bitten_Plesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    25
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“small and pleasant restaurant”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Informal and great place to either have a full blown lunch, or a couple of tapas and a cold drink. Good prices and friendly staff.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank robertmurrayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“"The" priceless gem in the big treasure chest”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We go to this area of Spain quite a lot and this bar / restaurant is high on our list of favourite places to make a beeline for. Buried away n the White Pueblo of Frigiliana above Nerja in Andalucía it can take some finding but the hunt is worth it. During the days or in the warmer evenings the view from the terrace is stunning, the food is excellent and the owners are charming and very caring. I know it may seem strange to be praising a French chef for the excellent Spanish fare, but hey if the “cordon blue” fits let him wear it with pride. Food cooked with a passion straddles all geographical boundaries and local food cooked with a passion is what I go on holiday for. Lunchtime stretch into the hours and evenings seem to become the melting pot of the UN – the tower of Bable all sharing a love of good food and good company. This a review I dread doing in case I lose my seat due to overcrowding, and given the diminutive size of the place that would not be hard. Oh well the best things come in small parcels .Miss this and then you will miss out… NB don’t expect Chips – I am not even sure they have fryer…

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Still_living-Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience !”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a great meal at this restaurant today, and will definitely have dinner here again!
They had really tasty "Pil-Pil", and the hamburger they made is definitive the best burger we have Ever tasted.
It was clearly homemade all the way, and tasted like heaven, something we all agreed on!
Strongly recommend this !!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LindaSJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We live near to Frigiliana and often visit to have lunch and enjoy the views. Yesterday we again made a trip there to eat in one of the restaurants we normally frequent only to find they were closed as it is low season. Instead, we wandered up the stairs from the park and were immediately greeted by Veronique who suggested that we eat at La Esquina. We were a little anxious as we had never eaten there before but the table was in the sunshine with the most beautiful views and so we gave it a go.

I am pleased to say that we are so glad that we did. Veronique was attentive, friendly and informative. There was a good choice of dishes, either tapas or a full meal and extra daily specials on the blackboard. My husband chose Andalusian Stew, I had the leg of lamb and the children had Spaghetti Carbonara. The food was absolutely delicious, particularly the dishes my husband and I had as we shared each others. The Stew was innovative and full of flavour and the lamb was mouth wateringly tender, falling off the bone. Both were served with plenty of sauteed potatoes, vegetables and salad. We had lovely wine which was reasonably priced and finished off the meal with cheese and biscuits.

We will definitely be going back!

Rachel, La Herradura

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank C0staTr0picalVillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Esquina also viewed

Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing