We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Home-cooked Food”
Review of La Bodeguilla

La Bodeguilla
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Frigiliana
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Home-cooked Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We ate here 3 times on our recent visit to Frigiliana, twice at the Terrace and once at the Patio. Both restaurants offer lovely home-cooked Spanish food at very reasonable prices - 35 euros for a meal for 4 including wine and soft drinks. The owner who is based at the Patio is a fantastic lady who offers a wonderful welcome. The menu isn't vast but there is enough choice and the food is very tasty. We noticed lots of Spanish families eating there, always a good sign. The staff speak very little English and they were both pleased and bemused by our efforts at Spanish - great fun!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissBrightside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    100
    36
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A lovely authentic restaurant, full of Spanish people!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The views from the terrace are awe inspiring! The food is excellent, a limited menu but very well cooked. Price is about 8 euros per main course. The atmosphere was delightful, the whole village is a joy. The fact that most of the diners were Spanish inspired confidence.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Like to eat something local ?”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The Mum's place is to the left by the Church. The daughter place to the left from the Church Square. Local home cooking, inexpensive and tasteful. For almost "no money". Mum have cosy ambience in the narrow back street - daughter has the view. Food is good value for money. Don't expect Michelin food and service, but enjoy ! Good for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E-San888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home -cooked food at its best!”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I've always maintained that the best Spanish cooking is done at home and the home-cooked food of La Bodeguilla proves my point.

This family-run restaurant was started around three decades ago being operated over time by mother Rosario and her four daughters. Mamá has now stepped back to take a well earned rest and her daughters are now the proprietors of the business. When I say restaurant, in reality there are two. Tucked away in the shaded Callejón del Inquisidor, just above the church, is the original ''La Bodeguilla'' which is described as like being invited round to a friend's house to eat on their own Andalucian patio. Unfortunately, this does not open in the hotter months at lunchtime so we were not able to eat there on this visit. (It does open for dinner, though.)

The other restaurant, which we had lunch at, is known as ''La Bodeguilla Abajo'', situated in the main street only 50 metres from the first one, just north of the church Plaza, in Calle Choruello. This restaurant has a more modern aspect with a large but cosy dining room as well as a shady, cool terrace with beautiful views of the countryside surrounding the pretty village of Frigiliana. The food on offer in both restaurants is the same.

Great views from your table

The philosophy of La Bodeguilla is all about good quality, home-made food and it is probably one of the most authentic of the village's many restaurants. The menu is simple, the dishes rustic and the service very friendly. I had a good feeling about this place when we walked in and all the staff stopped what they were doing to greet us. How many places can you truely say give you a welcome like that? We had a perfect corner table on the front row of the terrace, with dappled shading from the split-cane covering to the pergola. For those who prefer to be totally out of the sun, there is a completely shaded area at the back of the terrace. We were immediately brought menus and our drinks order taken. The menu offers dishes that are obviously starters and others that are obviously mains and then some that fit into both camps. There is no distinction on the menu and it is the sort of place where you can easily order a selection of dishes to share, as the Spanish families sat near to us were doing.

Plato Especial - a little bit of everything


The dishes are all very typical of the region and are the types of plates that you can imagine being served in family homes up and down the Axarquía every day. From Ajoblanco, Gaspacho or Tortilla de Patatas to Migas, Costillas and Choto (Kid). For starters we tried ajoblanco, cóctel de gambas and ensalada mixta con atún. The ajoblanco had a good taste but my friend thought it a little on the thin side (she does make an unbeatable ajoblanco herself !!), the prawn cocktails were good and the salad was large and great value at 5.50 euros. For mains three of us tried the La Bodeguilla Special. This was a large sampler platter of many of the dishes on the menu. it consisted of migas, chorizo, morcilla, carne en adobo, choto en salsa, papas a lo pobre, pisto and huevo frito. A great way to test out the restaurant for the first time and at only 10 euros this represented excellent value for money. My friend tried the chulletillas de cordero con papas a lo pobre y pisto, which were very good too. We all agreed that the potatoes were probably the best we have ever eaten - worth a visit to the restaurant just to try these out! We never got to afters as we were all full by the end of the second course. For those of you who do like dessert, La Bodeguilla offers a good range of typically Spanish postres.

Throughout our meal the service was efficient and very friendly but watch out as it is also very swift. As it is the way to share food, then the plates tend to arrive at your table as soon as they are prepared. Not a problem for us but something to bear in mind if you do like your starters seperate from your mains. However, we never felt rushed and after our meal we took a few coffees, more drinks and just sat and relaxed in the breeze on the terrace.

This truely is a great little place to eat. Not fancy, not pretentious. Just good, honest, home-cooked food at very reasonable prices, particularly considering it is right in the middle of a white village that is very popular with tourist. We'll be back soon to try out more of the menu and this time we want to experience the original La Bodeguilla. Go try it out, I'm sure the Platero Castillo sisters will be pleased to see you.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Competajohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good value good views and good food”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nice spanish food and genuine atmosphere, well priced

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bodeguilla also viewed

Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
Frigiliana, Province of Malaga
 

Been to La Bodeguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing