We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hotel Madreselva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Madreselva
Certificate of Excellence
Villach, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Madreselva; booking was easy via e-mail, and the hotel was easy to find. It was in oct., the end of the season, by walking around, many other hotels and restaurants were already closed. The ladies at the reception were very friendly &welcoming, we have been delightet of our decorated room, its small terrace, the big bathroom. The patio of the hotel was relaxing - blooming flowers, comfortable sofas, enough shadow during the heat; we had also our breakfast in this patio (nice classic buffet with fresh fruits, yoghurt, juices) and enjoyed the quietness (only 18 rooms, but at the end of the season not booked out).
We loved Madreselva and are sure to come back!

Some hints: the bar/ restaurant "el arriate", very close versus east in the same road; follow the suggestions and you will love it, like fresh tuna, choco a la plancha, grilled meat! The beach bar "la morena" - great place and cool people to chill with. If you are allergic to cats note: in caños many cats are around, want to be cuddled and are begging for food :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polsterzipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    48
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
94
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After travelling around Andalucia, and staying in many hotels, we dropped anchor in Hotel Madreselva for 4 nights, and this was probably the best decision of our trip.

Instantly welcoming and pleasant staff, a nice room with good aircon, tv etc, lovely breakfast, nice pool, easy access to the beach, free parking, free wifi, and a convenient location both to bars and restaurants in Los Canos and to drive around the wider region.

All this was delivered at a very reasonable cost. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend here or indeed to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in early May. Pre season so the place was very quiet but the staff made us feel so welcome. They could not do enough for us and were most accommodating throughout. We went just to relax and do a little walking after a busy few months and left feeling well recuperated. Thanks to everyone there for helping us to enjoy our stay, you were brilliant! If you want a lively place to stay at this time of year, don't go to Los Canos de Mecca. We have stayed here in August previously and it was heaving and again great fun. It's nice to find a place with such diverse attributes and still feel satisfied whenever you choose to visit. Los Canos de Mecca is a little gem, I love it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We loved our week there. The Reception staff are to die for - so helpful. The room was large and comfortable, clean, good AC and bathroom facilities. The swimming pool was delightful. breakfasts were poor and uninspiring but adequate. The immediate area has restaurants of questionable standard but to be expected as this is a 1960s hippy paradise. Well past its sell by date. Not a family holiday destination.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

As usual, we trusted Trip Advisor when choosing Madreselva and once again, we were not let down. The hotel is easily the best in the area from what we have seen. It has a lovely atmosphere, the service is friendly and efficient and the cleanliness is outstanding. The lady who cleans should have a gold star ! The room was cleaned thoroughly every day and we returned to the smell of bleach in the bathroom and an immaculate bedroom. The rooms are simple but stylish and have a small private terrace off each bedroom, like a walled garden with a table and chairs.The bathroom had a bath with shower over, basin and toilet, rustic white and terracotta tiling, nice quality freebies and a hairdryer. Just one negative, the bath was extremely slippy and there was no bath mat or hand rail. The communal courtyard garden is lovely with squishy couches to sit on. Breakfast can be taken outside or in the small bar area. A good selection of meats, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, bread, rolls and fruit juices, as well as coffee and a selection of teas. The pool is lovely too and guests took advantage of this quiet area to read or sunbathe. The only other negative is that the walls of the rooms are rather thin and we did have some noise from the adjoining rooms when they were occupied which disturbed our sleep on a couple of nights.
Madreselva is a gem of a hotel and it is a pity it is in Los Canos de Meca, which I did not really like. We preferred to eat in nearby Vejer de la Frontera, although we did have a good meal at nearby Torre de Meca restaurant. Los Canos de Meca is a hippyish summer surfing place and although we went in September, there was the feeling that most places has closed down for the winter already. It has a slightly neglected air about it, many places in need of a fresh coat of paint and the communal bins filled to overflowing. None of that however applies to Madreselva, which could not be faulted on its maintenance and cleanliness and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff

Room Tip: All rooms are on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

An absolutely lovely little hotel just steps from the beach. The rooms are very simple - so don't expect anything fancy! The courtyard around which the rooms are arranged is peaceful, shaded and so pretty. The staff were friendly and helpful. We never wanted to leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I've just returned from an amazing stay at the Hotel Madreselva.
From the moment we arrived, Sandra and the rest of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They even helped us find a hotel in our next destination and booked it for us.
The location is perfect. 2 minutes from the beach and near great restaurants.
The buildings and grounds are immaculately kept and have a really relaxing and chilled atmosphere. The pool is small but perfect for cooling off in.
If you want a great and relaxing place to stay in Los Canos, I HIGHLY recommend Madreselva. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiloGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Canos de Meca
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mar de Frente
Hotel Mar de Frente
#2 of 3 in Los Canos de Meca
81 reviews
11.8 mi away
Melia Atlanterra
Melia Atlanterra
#2 of 12 in Zahara de los Atunes
1,044 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Carmen
Hotel Playa del Carmen
#4 of 8 in Barbate
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
Hotel Fuerte Conil - Costa Luz
#2 of 26 in Conil de la Frontera
1,577 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Adiafa
Hotel Adiafa
#3 of 8 in Barbate
111 reviews
2.8 mi away
El Palomar de la Brena
El Palomar de la Brena
#2 of 8 in Barbate
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Madreselva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madreselva

Property: Hotel Madreselva
Address: Avenida Trafalgar 102, 11160 Los Canos de Meca, Barbate, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Barbate > Los Canos de Meca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Los Canos de Meca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Madreselva 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Madreselva is situated just a one minute walk from the main beach of Los Caños de Meca, overlooking historic Cape Trafalgar. The hotel is a one-level building built 'hacienda' style, with all the rooms centered around a lush plant-filled courtyard. Each of the rooms have a small private terrace where you can read, relax, or store your surf equipment. All of Madreselva's eighteen rooms are equipped with bathrooms and air conditioning. The hotel additionally has a private swimming pool and its own parking. The Hotel Madreselva is managed by the team from Vejer's iconic Hotel La Casa del Califa, assuring you great service, lots of personality, and excellent value for your money. The hotel is located in the heart of Los Caños, and is just an 85m. walk to the beach and a 100m. walk from the surf break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Madreselva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing