We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, resort looking tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just come back from a stay at Grangefield, had a two bedroom apartment, which I shared with my daughter and friend.
Let me start with the positives as there are many, the resort is clean and the gardens are very well maintained. The area is quiet and and there is lots of parking, so easy if you have a car.
The staff were great - always smiling, always helpful - they are what makes the resort so good.
Nice little shop that has all the basics should you run out and the bar makes good coffee

A few negatives which is why I gave the average score....
We ate at the restaurant on our first night, it was expensive and not very nice, bland and not very memorable.
Our apartment was really clean when we arrived, everything nice and tidy... the second time it was cleaned ok, but the third time - not sure why they bothered to come in as it looked as if they had made the bed and that was all. Good thing we kept it tidy ourselves.
The apartment itself was tired looking - the shower room had all sorts of problems. The shower had so much lime scale that you couldn't have a decent shower, if that is you could get into teh cubicle to begin with - It was tiny and the doors didn't open very wide. If you dropped anything you would have to get out of the shower to pick it up as there was no space to bend over.
Bathroom had problems too - bath was so worn and scratched it should have been replaced.

The evening entertainment was dire - the acts looked bored to be there and the singers were so dated even my mother wouldn't have recognised some of the songs - really was a disappointment.

This is a platinum resort and so we were expecting much better facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shireen43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your kind words with staff and criticism. There is an ongoing maintenance program in the apartments which will check the specific unit you where in and consider its renovation.Your comments have been taken onboard as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests.
We expect to have the opportunity to receive you again, so we can revert your opinion.

KInd Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 654 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

This resort was very pleasant. They were able to accommodate our request of few stairs for my infirm husband and parking outside the door. The apartment was terrific. 2 beds and baths although we only needed one bed. Really well equipped and beautifully furnished for a holiday apartment. All staff were very nice although English language was not always available. We have no Spanish. Our problem. Not theirs. However, one not only needs a car but you have to be prepared to travel to restaurants.just nowhere to go without a vehicle. Totally surrounded by hundreds of presumable holiday town houses. Nowhere to walk to. Everywhere looked the same. Resort shop has a few basics but main supermarket needs a car. If weather wasn't good there would be nothing to do. Reception WiFi OK but the in apartment version I paid 20 Euros for never worked despite numerous requests at reception. Cannot fault the staff or housekeeping but would never go there again or recommend this place to anyone. If you have children, don't even think about it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilythomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
many thanks for your truly comments which are highly appreciated, congratulations to the staff have been passed on your behalf. Please note that there is a courtesy bus available linking the resort with the nearest village going back and forward as many times as required for those that want to spend the day away on the beach, restaurants, shopping, etc…
Please note that we have a full children program during school holidays to guarantee children entertainment and parents relax
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Staying at Grangefield Oasis Club was an excellent choice! the resort is located in a very quiet residential area. The outside pool is clean and pleasant.There is enough shade under the beautiful and colorful bougainvillea and banana trees. I enjoyed the jacuzzi and sauna very much. It was always neat. The restaurant, located very convenient near the pool offers a variety of good dishes and healthy portions at reasonable prices. The linen is changed 3 times a week.
There is a varied entertainment program for all likes....
The staff is very friendly and costumer focused. They make you feel very welcome.
We want to go back soon!

Room Tip: Having your own transportation is helpful, the nearest shopping area is a 30 minute walk downhill.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luz_Mesman_Luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Family Schiedan,
It has been a pleasure having you as our guests, many thanks for spending these holidays with us, your gratitude will be passed on to the head of departments and rest of the staff.
I sincerely hope to see you again next year

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our second visit to Grangefield Oasis Club so I thought I should write a more practical and objective review of the complex:

• Cleanliness, excellent generally – the apartments are visited every few days by a cleaner and the bed linen replaced. The pools obviously, at the end of the day, end up a bit cloudy with sun tan cream but the lower pool is nicer than the top one. The complex is litter free and kept very clean and tidy.
• Apartments, excellent – I can’t speak for them all but the apartments we’ve seen are large and air conditioned. they also have reasonable kitchens with a microwave, oven, hob, fridge freezer, washing machine, etc.
• Location, poor – the complex is self-contained including a restaurant, bar and mini-market. There is, however, nothing else within about 30 minutes walk so you’ll need a car or taxi to get around.
• Entertainment, OK – the entertainment gets a bit repetitive if you’re there for more than a week and they've cut down a lot since last year but it’s on most evenings next to the restaurant. Great for younger kids. The bird show is something to watch out for – they don’t let you take your own photos. You have to have one of their photos and then pay for a print. Not what I call free entertainment.
• Complex food, good but a bit pricey – the mini market is about 10% more expensive than the closest supermarket and the restaurant is a bit pricey too. If you buy one of the full-board upgrades in advance you’ll save a lot of money. There is a good range of food available from the restaurant for breakfast (buffet) including full cooked breakfast or continental.
• Free Wi-Fi, unusable – they advertise free Wi-Fi in the reception area, however, after a frustrating 10 minutes trying to diagnose why I couldn’t display web pages, I checked the speed which turned out to be about 0.8kb download and 0.1kb upload speed which is (if my maths powers are working) about 1/30 the speed of a dial-up connection or 1/16800 of my connection at home. You can also get a resort-wide connection, but you have to pay for it.
• Pools, nice but busy – deep enough to dive into and water is generally pretty clean (lower pool better than the top pool). If you want a sun lounger during peak season, you’ll have to queue up at 10am. A lot of people put towels on their loungers then go and have breakfast. This is against the rules but they’re not really enforcing this any more. The life guard used to be pure evil but he seems to have mellowed a bit in his old age. Or maybe everyone just moaned about him? Who knows?
• Beaches, hit and miss – the closest beach is pretty ropey, however, if you head a mile or so towards Marbella there’s a really nice beach there (more info below)
• Clientelle, mainly families – depending on what time of year you go, there’ll be dutch, Germans, French, Portuguese but mainly English.
• They advertise a 'kids club' but it's not particularly good and only for kids aged around 6 or younger.

Here is a list of practical tips to make your stay much better:

• Best tip ever for this area – ‘cambio de sentido’ means turning place or roundabout. You’ll see a lot of these on the signs along the coastal road and they mean you can turn round and head the opposite direction.
• Second best tip ever for this area - take a Sat Nav with Spanish maps
• Sat Navs will likely need to use GPS as postcodes don’t work here so find out how to program them in before you go.
• Have a hire car – this is the only practical way to get around if you’re going to be doing anything other than sitting by the pool all day and eating at the complex restaurant. After being burned by Hertz before we used Yellow Car instead (opposite Malaga Airport). Looks a bit pricey at first but there are no hidden costs and no excess which is much nicer for a relaxing holiday! They’ll meet you at departures with the car and when you drop it off, they’ll drive you to the departure terminal. Overall a MUCH, MUCH nicer hire-car experience! Seriously, I’ll never use one of the big companies again! Yellowcar.com
• Find out where the local supermarket is – head up the Urbanisation Riviera del Sol IV road until you get to the weird sculpture (of someone sitting in their bath) which is just before the tunnel under the motorway and turn left. Keep on this road past the Paris Bar to the little roundabout which is at the end of the motorway slip-road and then head down the hill to Calahonda. After about a mile or so you’ll see the supermarket in the right. GPS coordinates for your sat nav are 36.492655,-4.714508
• Find the nice beach – this is a bit of a well kept secret. Head down to the main coastal road and head towards Marbella. Take the turning for Cabo Pina and head down to the beach there. There are some nice restaurants at the port, bars on the beach and the beach itself is fantastic. If you can get a designated driver or avoid taking the car, all the better! GPS coordinates for your sat nav are 36.485038,-4.740965
• Nearest restaurants – there is a little complex with a few nice restaurants – Indian, Spanish, Pizza – not too far away from the complex (next to the internet café). Also, a mini market selling all your usual English bits and pieces like baked beans and Heinz tomato sauce. GPS coordinates: 36.498977,-4.702792
• Nearest Wi-Fi – there’s a little Wi-Fi café and bar run by some English (from the look of it) which is not too far away. GPS coordinates: 36.498356,-4.702792
• Buggy Safari, fantastic for the kids – my friend and I took our daughters on this (aged 11 and 9 respectively) and they loved it! Although health and safety regulations haven’t quite reached this far south yet, it was still great fun. Probably not good for nervous kids or ones under about 8. Don’t take your best clothes and you’ll need a shower when you get back as you’ll end up with half an inch of dust all over you. Masks and goggles provided. The 2 hour trip is more than enough. Head down to the coast road direction fuengirola until you go past the BP petrol station then find the next ‘cambio de sentido’ (see above) and head back in the direction of Marbella and then turn off at the ‘Jardin Botanico’ which is opposite the BP garage. The buggy place is one of the first units in the line of shops. Advance booking advised and they do discounts if you can find one of the little vouchers (check the Grangefield reception area although they’ll probably give you the discount if you ask them when you book). See buggysafarimarbella.com. GPS coordinates: 36.499369,-4.68789
• Lots of fun stuff to do in Puerto Banus like going out to see the dolphins or looking at the super-yachts. I saw one for sale at $100,000,000 USD (by the way I didn’t make a mistake with this figure). Make sure you check the prices of the drinks before sitting down at a bar unless you want to spend 9 EUR per pint. I would recommend researching what you can do here before you set off to Spain. GPS coordinates: 36.487661,-4.953117
• Aventura Amazonia is great for the kids. It’s extreme tree trekking although it’s actually very safe. Best for kids aged 9+ and they’ll likely need an adult with them so make sure it’s someone who doesn’t mind heights. Unfortunately, I had to go round with my daughter which wasn’t much fun. You’ll find discount vouchers and leaflets around (like for example in the Grangefield reception area). Head down the coastal road towards Marbella and take the Elviria turning. GPS coordinates: 36.497045,-4.773281
• For some mega-cheap booze and food, head to the Lidl just outside Calahonda. From the main roundabout in Calahonda, don’t take the road that takes you onto the main coastal road. Instead, take the turning that heads away from the coastal road up the hill and stay on this road for a few miles until you get there. GPS coordinates: 36.489118,-4.727758
• There is a complex containing several shops a mini-market and loads of restaurants and bars in Calahonda. Chinese food, Spanish food, Italian food, etc. Avoid the restaurants on the outside. Instead, head inside to find an Aladdin’s cave of restaurants. Loads of free parking here too. GPS coordinates: 36.49005,-4.71468

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor apartments at the south west end of the complex - lovely evening sun and a vi...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank W417OCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Chris,
Many thanks for your extensive and objective review of the resort and whereabouts, we will be most happy to welcome you again on your next holidays. On your next visit I will be very pleased to give you some tips on visiting inland Spain, it is amazing how a different world is just a few miles from the cost line
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from this resort and had a wonderful time - our 10 year old daughter was never bored. The reviews on here weren't very good but we went with an open mind. We had hired a car because we like to visit other areas anyway! The staff were very helpful and friendly and the grounds and pools were stunning. Our air conditioning in the living room wasn't working too well and the maintenance man was there within the hour. We never struggled to get a sunbed and we didn't get to the gate at 10.00 a.m. The deal for the courtesy bus to Cala de Mijas, wifi in your room and use of the pool was very reasonable - 14 euros per apartment per week so you're not stranded even if you don't hire a car. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Steve,
Many thanks for your visit and holidays and for your sincere review, all the Grangefield Oasis staff look forward for your next holidays with us
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We visited Grangfield Oasis in Oct 2012, the 4 of us got a groupon deal which made the holiday amazing value.

The apartment was spotless and a cleaner cleaned during our stay. The pool and gardens were nice but far too busy, we had to lie on the floor on towels one day because there were no sunbeds available.

It is a quiet location (which we like) but you must hire a car to explore. Taxis are cheap and easy to get hold of to take you to clubs/bars/restaurants.

Tips: The bar closes quite early and gets very busy at happy hour!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, General Manager at Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your visit last year and we sincerely hope it is not the last one, from October last year we have made some important changes for the benefit of our guests. The resort runs now a courtesy bus to beach and main shopping area for those that do not want to drive during their holidays. From there there is also a wide range of public transport to communicate with the rest of main touristic areas.
Our happy hour has been extended during the early evening having this season 3 hours of happy hour right before dinner cocktails included
I hope to see you soon back
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Having read some of the negative reviews of Grangefield, I have felt compelled to write my own review to balance things out a bit!
Yes, Grangefield is located at the top of a large steep hill, quite a walk from shops, bars & the beach but then surely any sensible person would have researched it's location before staying there and known this first?! If you stay here, you really need a hire car to be able to move about freely which both times we have been to this resort, (once in 2006 & again this year in 2013) we have made sure we had. It's easy to access by car, has plenty of parking options & once you get there, in my opinion it's lovely.
We stay in Infiniti apartments so I can only comment on them and they are wonderful. The level of cleanliness is very high, the facilities within the apartments are brilliant and if you have any problems the staff at reception deal with them asap.
There is one restaurant, serving (again in my opinion), very nice food. There is lots of choice, our party is always mixed with carnivores & vegetarians and everyone has had lots to choose from. The prices are fairly reasonable for a captive audience & the quality of the food that we have had, has always been lovely. It's also 2 for 1 on drinks between 4-7pm at the restaurant/pool side bar.
The staff throughout the resort are very friendly, welcoming and accommodating.
The two pools are well maintained, the smaller one tending to be used by the younger children so the larger one is usually quite quiet, with plenty of space. The downside is that when the pools open at 10am, people are queuing to get their sun beds but then we have never had a problem getting some for our group the times we have done this.
There is entertainment laid on most evenings and typcal for any holiday resort, it is varied in quality & appeal but then it is impossible to please everybody to be fair. The resort also has ping pong, pool and air hockey tables, tennis courts and a small shop selling all the essentials & some gifts. There is crazy golf there too but it really needs updating so don't expect this to be great.
In summary, the two times we have stayed here, we have had a lovely time. We have used it as a base to explore the area and then return to for a swim, a cocktail or two and an evening of playing cards, chatting & drinking wine on our balcony. I would like to think we have fairly high standards when it comes to where we stay & Grangefield has always met these for us. In the times when things have gone wrong, e.g. when our washing machine & toilet broke, both were fixed within the hour!
My family & friends all had such a great time there this year, we have decided to go back one more time next summer in 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review, your comments will be passed on to staff involved to encourage them giving the best service and experience to our guests. Grangefield Oasis Club will be very happy to welcome you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
4.6 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,270 reviews
7.0 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
0.7 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#11 of 27 in Mijas
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club

Address: Calle Topacio s/n | Urb. Riviera del Sol, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#9 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range: $62 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated between Fuengirola and Marbella, the Grangefield Oasis offers functional, self-catering apartments with furnished balconies.The complex features 2 outdoor swimming pools, an indoor swimming pool, a hot tub, sauna and gym. There is free internet access in reception.Each apartment in Grangefield Oasis has a fully-equipped kitchen and a comfortable lounge area with a sofa bed. They also include a TV with satellite channels.An entertainment and activity programme is offered for children at the resort. There are tennis courts and a mini golf course. The Miraflores Golf Course can be found next to Grangefield Oasis and the nearest beach is less than 2 km away.Guests can enjoy drinks, snacks and light meals at the cafeteria and bar. The La Hacienda restaurant serves regional and international cuisine all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grangefield Oasis Club Hotel Mijas
Grangefield Oasis Hotel
Grangefield Oasis Mijas
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing