We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santana Golf

Santana Golf
Ranked #6 of 28 Outdoor Activities in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our 3rd visit to Santana Golf Club was as enjoyable as ever. The course is a well conditioned resort style layout with little trouble off the tee but enough by the way of visual appeal to keep it interesting the whole way round. Water hazards appear frequently around greens and especially on the par 3 holes.

During our visit this year the greens had been top dressed, however Santana had made us aware of this when booking 6 weeks prior and therefore it did not spoil our enjoyment of the course too much.

A couple of major positives for this course are firstly the staff and secondly the food. The starter most be one of the most friendly guys in this industry, always happy to help and provide information and always with a smile on his face. The drinks/food buggy' appeared frequently and the lady driving it was pleasant and even agreed to bring us club sandwiches made back at the club house. The club sandwich by the way is worth making the trip for alone!!

The clubhouse is small but welcoming, the staff are again very friendly and the beer free flowing. A final tip would be to accept the shot of caramel vodka on paying your bill...nectar!

We will be back next September, and the next...and the next!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank willbangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    49
    8
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
224 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“One of the best on the coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Proper golf course. Nice design and no Micky Mouse holes at all. Just about managed to play to my handicap. Course n very good nick an he greens medium to fast. Very enjoyable 4 hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great course that needs a driving range”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Played last Friday and this was my 2nd visit. The course was in great shape with manicured fairways and excellent tee boxes.
The greens looked very lush, but perhaps over watered. The fringes were also too spongey and any effort to run the ball was caught up and held - tip to anyone fly the ball all the way to the flag.
The bunkers also had an odd sand where the grains were the size of hailstones. While they were bright white and looked good they were very difficult to play out of.
The fairways are wide and makes it a great resort course, we had players with handicaps ranging from 10 to 28 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the course.
As with any course in Spain it seems that 5 hours is an acceptable time for a 4 ball in a buggy and while I'm not sure why but didn't affect or enjoyment.

The course needs a driving range or at least some facilities, this was our first round of the trip and no warm up made our group a little edgy on the first tee.

Very friendly starter and big thumbs up that unlike some other local courses, buggies were allowed on the fairway....

Play Santana. Enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great golf experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We played here in mid May. We both thought the course was in very good shape and the layout was forgiving. We played at 830am on a Tuesday so the course was wide open. I suggest playing earlier if you are a 2some.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ermorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice golf club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

After playing other golf course in the morning we arrived to Santana G&CC for lunch. First we did check-in and paid for golf and buggies. In restaurant we ordered and mentioned our tee time was one hour. We had a two course meal and when finish our lunch buggies was ready to take of. Starter at 1. Hole was very helpful with information about the course. All in all staff was very nice and helpful. It's not my last visit to Santana.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrancoPuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santana Golf also viewed

 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to Santana Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing