We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect example of how a spa experience should be.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I arranged a day of treatments at what can only be described as a true gem of a Hotel here on the coast. As a local I have many choices as to where to visit and I can honestly say when it comes to a 5 star experience be it dining, poolside relaxing, or indulging in some spa treatments you will find no better. The staff are welcoming, professional, and provide a service that is second to none. The Spa features beautiful decoration and relaxing treatment rooms. I really felt at home whilst there and the prices reflect great value for the top quality products used such as Elemis which is really the best money can buy! Sarah was my therapist during my visit and she did everything she could to make me feel comfortable. I would highly reccomend her as she made the experience very enjoyable and even though it was the first time we met I felt I had known her a long time. I would reccomend visiting El Oceano Hotel for any service it offers as it is above parr in every aspect. Elegance at its best.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenH117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 921 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a fabulous evening !!
What a way to see out the old year and bring in the New Year...
As ever the staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble- accomodating all our requests for things we required - with genuine smiles and warmth of personality.
We has a sumptuous meal that could have equalled any of the best restaurants in the world.
The three different musical artists that entertained us throughout the evening and into the small hours all played something to please everyone.
We look forward to spending another New Year celebration with them - and several other occasions hopefully before that!!!
Thank you all at El Oceano.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank escorpion2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days in September and although the website shows lovely images and claims a lot I must admit it is all and more. I stayed in the apartments and although not very large it was quite nice. My friend stayed in the next apartment which was nearly twice the size so I would ask for that one next time. The restaurant and pool area though is so fantastic that you will find that you spend no time in your room. The staff are all young and energetic and try to please as much as possible.
Advantages: restaurant, pool area and most of the staff. I guess the greatest compliment I could pay this lovely gem is that I cannot wait to return....and return....and return.
Disadvantages: It might not be suitable for families (as advertised) or perhaps older people, even though there were a very mixed age group staying when I was there. The music from the wonderful pool bar is modern and although I loved it....it might not suit all ages. On one occasion we were asked to move away from the pool area as there was a reception being held which was a little disappointing as we were residents. We found some of the breakfast staff to be a little frosty. We always arrived before closing time but perhaps a little too close to it sometimes...but then again it was a holiday.
Overall though....this is 5 Star at 4 Star price....if you are thinking of staying in the area....this is the place to stay without question. I have stayed in numerous hotels in Marbella....this is much better. Well done to all.

Room Tip: If you are staying across the road in the apartments....ask for the rooms above the hairdressers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

thank you to glen family and all the wonderful staff at this wonderful gem of an hotel another wonderful new year fantastic food great entertainment made to feel at home ever year a real home from home

Room Tip: sea view upper levels great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissysidcup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After a fabulous stay in July we decided to spend New Year at El Oceano. Great decision as we had an excellent stay. Our jacuzzi suite room (19) was really lovely and the Gala Dinner was first class in every way ie from the attentive staff to the gorgeous food and the great entertainment. This is a relatively small hotel with focus on high standards. I also sampled the Oceano Spa and found Sarah and her team very friendly and professional.

Jan in reception was very informative and made us feel so welcome.

Cannot wait for our return this July!

Yvonne & John

Room Tip: Upper floor gives beautiful sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YJM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

by the managements reluctance to stop the few smokers who are allowed to smoke on the terrace even when it is enclosed through the colder months. We were there in October and our evening was marred by two tables who continually chain smoked which made it very uncomfortable for the majority who were non smokers.
The management however ignored the situation so we won't be going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Paul49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed at the El Oceano for 2 nights to attend a wedding there. The accommodation was great, as was the food(best fillet steak I've ever had), service and wedding organisation. They could not do enough for us. And what a location for a wedding overlooking the sea! Also great place for Sunday lunch with live music. Highly recommended..

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
1.0 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,299 reviews
8.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,297 reviews
7.0 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.2 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
3.8 mi away
La Cala Resort
La Cala Resort
#1 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range: $134 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing