We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
West Country
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“50th birthday dinner”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

What a beautifully stylish hotel, classically elegant. Staff smart & attentive but not over attentive. Starters good, mains good if not a tad too much on plate, deserts bit of a let down, they got the presentation kind of ok, dark oblong platters & dark squiggle of sauce etc...unfortunately I suspect not a house made desert but bought in. It looked kind of the part but didn't deliver on substance. An amuse bouche or chefs canapé wouldn't of gone a miss. Would be good if a no smoking policy in the restaurant was adopted. We chose to move outside to eat our desert for this reason.
The setting second to none & nice to dress up for dinner.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    117
    52
    21
    12
See reviews for
116
434
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have been coming to El Oceano for some years now and it continues to meet our high expectations. The dining room remains one of the highlights for initial impact, aesthetics, service and cuisine. The pool area is another highlight. However the one thing this hotel does really well is service; the staff are superb. The surrounding area of Mijas is unimpressive but because the hotel has everything you want and need there is no need to go outside.

Room Tip: rooms in the main block are much the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

In our first trip to Spain, my husband and I could not have found a better place than El Oceano. This small hotel sits on a small cliff overlooking the Mediterranean and the terrace with beach chairs provides an incredibly relaxing place to spend the day listening to the waves and reading a book. The pool has a wonderful in-pool bar, and the restaurant has the best view of the sea and best ambience that we have ever experienced! We stayed on the third floor of the studio rooms and had a terrace with an ocean view and a very convenient kitchen with a refrigerator, microwave and cooktop.

The service of the staff, including the front desk staff, was of five star quality. They were incredibly helpful with directions to local place, restaurant suggestions, and other requests. They also spoke English so that eased any communication obstacles. And with the small size of the hotel, we were able to meet some interesting folks vacationing at the same time.

The location was excellent jumping-off point for visiting some of the unique Spanish hillside towns, including Ronda, Mijas Pueblo and Granada, and it was only about 45 minutes from the airport in Malaga.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed at the El Oceano 10 times in the last eight years , unfortunately for family reasons we could not make a visit last year, but we have just got back from another stay there and I feel I must let every one know they still have it ,great food,great entertainment ,great staff ,just a great location and can't wait to get back there ASAP, well done to the management and staff keep the good work up ,see you soon .
Phil.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philhyslop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

El Oceano is one of my favorite places on the Costa del Sol! You can spend a relaxing day by the pool, have some amazing cocktails in the swim up bar and enjoy some great food in the restaurant. I have been several times this summer and never been dissapointed, I keep meaning to write a review on tripadvisor about what a great place this is, so better late than never!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The best hotel I have stayed in Spain to date.
Stunning chic venue right alongside the ocean edge with amazing open sea views all along the front of this very well maintained property. Take a look at the photos on their website and you will see it's just like a little bit of calm paradise only about 30-40m by cab from Malaga airport and about the same distance to P.B in Marbella
Excellent friendly service from all the staff.
Excellent food, well presented.
Excellent evening entertainment.
Excellent 'swim up' pool with superb chilled out music playing in the background.
Excellent cocktails.
Excellent Spa.
In fact - there is nothing negative about this place whatsoever in my opinion.
I had a mini suite at ground level with a superb sunny terrace just a few steps down to the pool with a selection of comfortable single sunbeds or the chic white sofabeds.
My 8 friends and I loved it and we will be going back again next year. We all agreed that It is also a place that one could stay if on your own to get away from it all because such a calm safe environment.

Room Tip: Definitely worth spending that bit extra to get an ocean front mini suite. We had a ground floor one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

my wife stayed here in May and had a fantastic stay and was disappointed not to be able to secure a room for us on our long weekend trip but insisted on going for dinner while we were there this weekend and i was very impressed.The setting was amazing and the service was exceptional not to mention the quality of our meal, truely briliant. There is a realy special atmosphere abouty this hotel and was very impressed by the service and attendance of the waiters to our needs which made it a memorable evening.We will be booking a room at this hotel for our next trip if we can get in!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 806giles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
1.0 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,251 reviews
8.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#5 of 27 in Mijas
1,263 reviews
7.0 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.2 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
1.5 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Property: El Oceano Beach Hotel
Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing