We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One year later and still excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Oceano Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One year later and still excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at El Oceano Beach Hotel celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The reason why we returned for the second year in a row is the unique personal attention created by the family run business. The staff are suberb, always concerned that your every need is satified to ensure that your stay is memorable. The location is great, within walking distance of La cala (lots of restaurants), bus routes or minutes away by car to Marbella, Mijas etc.
If you are looking for a treat, this is a lovely boutique hotel- not cheap-but quality.

Room Tip: Junior suites, but to guarantee a sea view, deluxe is the clue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    94
    45
    18
    10
See reviews for
92
379
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great weather, great staff, great food, great entertainment, great location, great pool area and bar, it would be great to return!!!! Can't think of anything bad to say about this lovely hotel, the food is fantastic, there's no optics behind the bar so the measures are large! Can also recommend a walk along the beach to papa o's beach restaurant and order the fresh sardines they are fab.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spider96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A gem by the sea in a very quiet beautiful area.What can i say but it is excellent,From the lady who checked us in to the staff all over the hotel,The management here run a great hotel,the food is excellent,the service is excellent and the staff all seem happy to work there and provide the guests with a top class service,To Glenn and all thank you for a special few days last weekend,And the wedding was great as well

Room Tip: Look for seaview room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mul22uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just back from this gem of a hotel. Fabulous staff, beautiful food. Comfy beds. Perfection. The sun loungers are like lying on feathers, free wifi. Didn't have time to go to spa but heard excellent reports from fellow guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murraymar1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from our latest pilgramage to El Oceano 5-10th April, including my wife's birthday. Our daughter joined us from London that day for an overnight stay as a surprise for Mum, and Glenn and all the staff kept the secret to ensure big surprise! The weather could've been warmer, but you're always assured of a warm & friendly welcome from everyone at El Oceano, it's our home from home, and the entertainment just gets better. Look out for the new band "Monkey Tennis" playing through the Sunday Lunch, they're every bit as good as the lunch - and that's amazing.
Can't wait until we're Back For More in September to enjoy this hotel and the friendly & extremely professional service you're sure to experience.
Neil & Chris Mackenzie

Room Tip: Don't miss out on the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EGTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for platinum service, Michelin star food, tranquil environment, over looking the sea NO CHILDREN , this hotel you must visit,
We have just returned home after our Easter break, although we have our own holiday home in costa del sol, we visit this hotel usually daily , to be met Glen ( hotel manager) and his highly trained team of hotel staff, restaurant manager Antonio ensures your dining no matter what time of the day is nothing less than perfect, the chefs are to be highly commended for the presentation, balance of tastes, and portion size , no matter what time of the day you dine, highly recommend, chicken tikka , Thi green curry,scallops with Black pudding, tempura Prawns, mmmmmmm my mouth is watering.
Then relax by the pool on a poolside VIP bed , order you cocktail from Gregg who will bring it to your bed while you unwind relax and enjoy his choice of music.
We believe that thisFamily run hotel maintains its high standard due to owner John socialises with the guests while very discreetly and covertly observes the attention to finer detail , ensuring that your stay is nothing less than perfect.
My mother in law can highly recommend the Nail sculpting in the hotel Spa which shouts out - VIP :/)
See you all in August Calvin Moore & Andrew Bennett & parents

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew-Bennett37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

An awesome boutique hotel !
Run by a dedicated family who are totally tuned into what their clients expect and aspire to and strive to improve the facilities annually .....and wow !! they hit the mark!
If your into corporate style experience then this is not for ypu.... El Oceano has a unique ambience.... the sound and view of the sea is amazing..great food cocktails and wine.....superb service... top quality entertainers ..all go to making their evening galas unforgetable.!!
We hosted our sons wedding there 3 years ago and its still talked about..you simply wont get a better intimate, romantic venue !! And Glenn helped making all the arrangements in a foreign country soo easy..!
We had a Sunday lunch ...cocktails.....and VIP pool day on our last day of our hols..brilliant fun !!
Looking forward to getting back for some rays and five star good times in 2013 !!

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little more and getting a sea view...amazing unspolit vista !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ruthBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
11.8 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
4.8 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
1.0 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#6 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hacienda Puerta del Sol
1.2 mi away
Grangefield Oasis Club
Grangefield Oasis Club
#26 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Oceano Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Oceano Beach Hotel

Property: El Oceano Beach Hotel
Address: Miraflores Playa, Torrenueva, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Oceano Beach Hotel is an oasis of laid-back luxury, privately owned and operated, where guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount. There are 40 impeccable rooms, most of which are ocean-front mini-suites offering mesmerizing views of this spectacular coastline.Plus a further 15 self contained studio apartments with kitchenette and full use of the hotel facilities.Enjoy the Polynesian Pool area with swim-up bar by day and the famous Waterfront terrace restaurant in the evenings...paradise really is closer than you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your El Oceano Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Oceano Beach málaga
El Oceano Hotel
Hotel El Oceano Beach
El Oceano Beach Hotel Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing