We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ok Hotel, but not much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Mijas
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ok Hotel, but not much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in Club Marbella with RCI. It was advertised as 'Silver Crown' but I wouldn't say it's worth the crown. It is ok, but a little bit outdated and not luxurious (not that we need it, but expected a bit more). The area has a lot of stairs, so wheelchairs would be impossible to use here. Also it's quite some distance from the beach and 'the strip' in Calahonda, up a steep hill. The lack of Aircon did'nt bother us as the ceiling fans were enough to cool down a bit. Temperatures were about 25-30 degrees in mid-September.
The apartments itself are spacious, with two bedrooms and a livingroom. The TV has many English channels, some German, French, Italian and even Finnish (!), but no Dutch or Russian.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boncki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    139
    83
    27
    18
See reviews for
193
73
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice and well appointed apartments ,nice staff at hotel restaurant ,entertainment a bit limited as not enough space in bar restaurant area a bit hilly if you struggle to walk as resort built on a hill car parking adequate ,a bit cold in April ,poor communication between staff members ,as we got accused of eating in the restaurant for free when we had paid for two weeks full board ,anyway once they got their act together, and had to prove we had paid they apologised but the embarrassment was still there as everyone heard what was going on ,it was very very poor communication within the staff .

Room Tip: Be wary if your going for entertainment not of a good standard ,but ok if you want peace and quiet .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Club Calahonda resort. The first thig that greeted us when we arrived was a musty, fried food smell. We later discovered this was because the appartement had not been used, the fresh smell after the cleaner had been (on day 4 of a 1 week stay) was wonderful. The appartement was adequate for 4 people but 6 people would have struggled. It needed some modernisation, the shower especially, which was very small I had to turn sideways to get into it (I am only a 12 dress size). The grout between the tiles was grubby (through use not from a lack of cleaning) and the controls were dangerous. The taps had to be fiddled with to get the right temperature and sometimes the temperature rose while I was under it. I scalded my foot when this happened as I couldn't get out of the cubicle fast enough. If you have children in your party be very, very careful. The oven and hob were extremely slow to heat up, we kept the oven at the highest setting as it took for ever otherwise. The beds were very hard, not firm just rock hard. I used one of the blankets in the wardrobe under the sheet and it did help, I couldn't feel the springs.
The female staff were very friendly and helpful, less so the male staff. When I asked about a hospitality room to use when we booked out I was told this wasn't possible (the place was only half full) when someone else in our party enquired they were told we could stay in our appartement untill 2.00pm.
The restaurant on site was poor value for money, the food was insipid and the waiter was miserable, not once did he smile. They must be using mostly frozen food to have such an extensive menu.
The rest of the resort was clean, but does need a repaint, it is small and very quiet. The locked gates at the entrances to the area is reassuring, There are 2 swimming pools, we went in October and one of the pools was still heated.
There are plenty of large supermarkets with in walking distance, but the area is hilly so it would be difficult for anyone with walking difficulties. The nearest beach is dismal but the resort bus will take you to Cabopina which is very nice.
I wouldn't go again but families with small children might find it ideal especially with an appartement on the ground floor next to the pool area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llc7peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from this resort (family of 2 adults, 2 children 6 & 14) We did a last minute RCI exchange using our timeshare week. We have stayed in many resorts over the years & this is the most basic one we have stayed in. Having said that, we came for a week of sun which we had, so we did enjoy it.
Positives :
The staff were very friendly.Size of the apartment was good, liked the space. Younger son enjoyed the (free) kids' club, the staff there were very good. There was an indoor pool & jacuzzi, very nice.(Need to wear a cap in the pool - 6 euros per cap on-site, 2 euros at local mini-market) There is (free) on-site table tennis & mini-golf. There is a mini-bus to take you to the beach & the sister resorts. It runs at various times however.We went twice using it to Club Delta Mar but had to get a taxi back because of the bus timings.The pool at the Delta Mar is lovely, also had play area, basketball, mini-golf - great for kids. Some restaurants not too far away - Slow Boat Chinese was brilliant, also went to a Italian/Indian restaurant near the highway & we had good fish & chips at The Pit Stop, also near the highway. The apartment had a washing machine. There is a mini-gym & squash court on site (free I think) You could get towels (no charge) at reception.
Not so positives :
The location. Best described as a resort plonked in the middle of a residential area, so not many touristy shops around it. We never hire a car on holiday,but you would probably would need to here. The apartment 211(2 bed/2 bath) was fine, but with very out-moded decor, kitchen especially. Very small balcony - it is an apartment that can sleep 6 but there were only 4 chairs on balcony.We had a sea view (in the distance) Also would be too squashed for 6 people to sit in living area. The beds were very hard so woke up each day with a sore back.Walls very thin - we could hear people in the next apartment on the toilet !!! as well as flushing the toilet .I cannot imagine what it would be like staying here in the height of summer with the potential noise factor. Our toilets were very noisy when flushed & took ages to refill,making a hideous noise while doing so. 28 euros for electricity a bit steep. No air conditioning - fine in October,would be a problem in the summer,the fans would not be enough.Towels changed only once (that's fine for us), apartment only cleaned (barely) once.Rarely saw a cleaner about the whole time we were there.(there was a bloodied tissue that was on the stairs for 4 days!!!) Have to take out your own rubbish - cleaner didn't even do this the one time she was in.Resort looks generally 'tired' to me & could be done up. Pool area - too many sunbeds around it - there was literally no space between them. Also after about 3 pm (in October,anyway) the whole pool was in the shade as were most of the sunbeds around it. There is a separate sunbathing area higher up next to it that wasn't shaded. The flies about the pool area were almost unbearable at times.
So, to sum up :
All things considered we did enjoy our holiday.Your holiday's what you make it & the weather was fantastic & that's the main reason we went on a last-minute cheap flights holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank heathershimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just back from Club Marbella and yet again had great time. Apartment was spotless as always, as were the indoor and outdoor pool areas. Cafe Marbella was really busy which is good to see, this however did not make the service any less special and the food was great as always.

All staff very friendly and good to see a new bar "hardys" opened and busy, and our friends from the Slowboat have also opened a new Thai/Japanese/Chinese place which was fantastic both on the Strip.

Always made welcome and never have a bad word to say about Club Marbella, looking forward to next October already.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeen040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a rule I do not write reviews but always read them... I feel i have to write about this one. Apartments not clean. no air con and you have to dispose of your own household waste which is across the road from hotel to communal bins.. The pool was nice and plenty of sunbeds but beware of the flies landing on you, totally disgusting and made sunbathing nearly impossible!!!!
Do not go if you have mobility problems there are so many stairs at hotel and some quite steep hills walking back from what they call a resort!!!! Restaurants worth a mention are "Little Italy" do a great carbonara or pizza, "slowboat" chinese is amazing and service in both excellent..
Please don't waste your money going here.. I am quite easily pleased as far as holidays go but can honestly say that in my 25 years of travelling this has to be the worst!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah075_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I would agree with previous reviewers on being reasonably fit to stay here, as not only are the apartments on a hill, but there are numerous steps. As we had a 17 month old baby with us, lugging the buggy up and down was quite tiring.
However, the apartment was comfortable and well equipped, better than many I have stayed at, and spotlessly clean. The pool, though not huge, was also spotlessly clean, and there was a child's pool which our Granddaughter loved.
We found the staff helpful and friendly, we were taken up to the apartment by car, and as it was raining the day we left, they happily came and fetched us by car too.
For those needing transfers from and to the airport, I can really recommend Malaga Taxis. They are a British firm with all British drivers, the return fare for the four adults plus one child, inc. a baby seat, was 100 Euros return. We were delayed nearly 2 hours on our flight there, and although we had only told them the delay would be 1 hour, they still waited for us. Excellent!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dvf190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.2 mi away
Club Calahonda Crown Resort
0.6 mi away
Grangefield Oasis Club
Grangefield Oasis Club
#26 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
2.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
8.6 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#6 of 28 in Mijas
3.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort

Property: Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort
Address: Sitio De Calahonda s/n Calle Monte Paraiso | Sitio de Calahonda Mijas Costa, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Hotel Mijas
Hotel Marbella Regency Palms Crown
Club Marbella/Regency Palms Crown Resort Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing