We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Club Caronte and the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Club Caronte Crown Resort
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We just returned from a week in Costa del Sol, Spain and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was basic but provided enough space and area for all 5 of us to enjoy. We had a nice view from the balcony and the kitchen was cute and adequate. It was clean and the mid-week service was great, new towels and she made the beds and swept the floor! We loved the pool at another club so we spent most the pool time there, Club Del Mar. Only downer was no internet service from our hotel and bad parking situation, you get there early or you don't park close. Great location if you wish to visit Morocco, Gibraltar, Ronda, Marbella, etc. Awesome spot to be in.

Best of luck.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Run4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2007

We were given a week at this resort following a holiday presentation that we didn't take up. It's one of five Crown Resort complexes in Calahonda, a small residential development between Fuengirola and Marbella.

We visited in mid October and asked for something fairly quiet as we have children under 10 and didn't want loud partying nearby. It certainly fitted the bill. The apartments are spacious and of a good standard including good quality contemporary bathroom and kitchens. There's a spacious balcony on the coast side with ample room for the four us to sit or have a meal, plus room to dry towels. Fans provide air con and I noted a plug in heater in the wardrobe although as it was mid 70's in mid October I doubt if it would be needed that often. It is well equipped with towels, a kettle, fridge freezer, microwave and even a washing machine with washing tablets!

We were put in a front row third floor apartment which gave us sea views. At the rear there are lovely sub tropical gardens between our block and the next, although you have to watch your step on the paving stones. Access is via security gates with a coded keypad but these were often open. There is a small open air pool on site but it's not heated or manned. There are no other facilities on site. Some apartments are privately owned but most of our block was part of Crown Resorts.

Therefore you need a hire car to drive to the other Crown Resorts with facilities (Marbella and Delta Mar) and shops. We got ours via the Holiday Autos section on Last Minute.com for £109 for the week from Marbella airport.

Delta Mar has an open air pool which is slightly heated with crazy golf, internet access, a bar and large sandpit.

Club Marbella has two warm pools and a restaurant / bar. The outdoor pool is great in the sunshine and surrounded by loungers so you can keep an eye on the kids. They need to be swimmers though as the pool is around 2.5m deep throughout. The bar has Sky TV so I was able to watch English football matches. There are also plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance although nothing very Spanish!

We went in the week before the October half term - neither Delta Mar or Marbella pools / restaurants are particularly large so I can imagine that at peak times it might be a little crowded.

Overall it was a bit of a pain having to get in the car to go to facilities at other Crown Resorts and shops, but on the other hand Caronte is a quiet retreat throughout the day and has more spacious accommodation than the other sites.

Calahonda is a good base though for driving to visit Costa del Sol attractions. Best local beach is Puerto Cabopino. For old Spain, Marbella, Mijas (the hill town not the Costa) and if you can bear the 1 hour drive, Ronda are the pick of the places we visited.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Countrysidefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2007

Away from the hubbub, Club Caronte is a lovely place to stay. Admittedly, it is better to have a car if you stay here but it is more tranquil than Club Marbella and we preferred it. We like to be independent and the Marbella is more like a hotel than apartments.
Club Caronte is not suitable for the unfit on foot, being uphill from the beach and restaurants, but the views towards the coast are super.
Our apartment slept 6 with a full bathroom and a separate shower room with toilet. The kitchen is well equipped and the whole apartment spacious, clean and practical.
Comes recommended if you are not looking for noise & nightlife in the immediate vicinity!

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SyDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

I am the member from Fife who wrote the review following our holiday to Club Marbella in December '05. At the time I was not aware that there are 5 resorts and based on our excellent experience in December I booked again for the end of May. What a disappointment. We too ended up at Club Caronte, there is simply no comparison between it and Club Marbella. We could not fault the apartment which was well appointed, spacious and clean but the facilities, amenities and maintenance of the resort left a lot to be desired. The manager was helpful but couldn't move us. I have emailed and written to Expedia and have yet to receive a reply.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheWeegieinFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
Thank LeoKellyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
0.9 mi away
Ona Campanario
Ona Campanario
#9 of 27 in Mijas
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
#1 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,320 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dona Lola Club
The Dona Lola Club
#1 of 4 in Sitio de Calahonda
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Caronte Crown Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Caronte Crown Resort

Address: Calle Zeus 19, 29649, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Caronte Crown Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Caronte forms part of Crown Resorts, awarded by Trivago in 2014 “Best hotels for families in Mijas Costa”. Club Caronte is ideal for a relaxing holiday, with only 1,5 km from the beach and its ideal sea views from the apartment balcony. These spacious apartments will ensure a pleasant stay as the apartments are fully equipped. The resort has 2 swimming pools (one for adults and one for kids) and a fitness room. Distance from Marbella is 17Km and 29 from the airport. ***Guests staying at Club Caronte can make use of all the facilities at the other 4 Crown Resorts within Riviera del Sol and Calahonda*** ***A free bus service is available to other Crown Resorts, supermarket and the beach*** For further information plese visit our web page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Club Caronte Crown Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Caronte Crown Hotel Costa Del Sol
Club Caronte Crown Resort Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing