We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Caronte Crown Resort
Nearby Hotels
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort(Sitio de Calahonda)(Great Value!)
$227
$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$84
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol(Mijas)(Great Value!)
$114
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TRH Mijas(Mijas)
$115
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Los Amigos Beach Club by Diamond Resorts(Mijas)(Great Value!)
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ona Campanario(Mijas)(Great Value!)
$80
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda(Mijas)(Great Value!)
$203
$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$106
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$283
$201
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
4
13
9
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
13
9
7
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 37 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

stayed at these apartments in Aug 2012. the apartment we were in had a sea view but very high up in the resort, it was a 10 minute hike down to the shops or down to delta mar reception , we won't hire a car as we both travel/drive a lot for work, but the local bus service is good, going to Marbella/furengiola every 30 mins, there is a free shuttle bus over to the marbella resort, we went one night for a meal the pool area is tiny and VERY noisy, the staff at the restaurant were quite rude to us and the service was crap!!! glad we weren't stopping there.
the apartments themselves are light and airy the 2 bedroom aparts have 2 bathrooms a fitted kitchen with everything in it, nice dinning area/lounge, tv/dvd, nice outside sitting area and great views, apartment cleaned regularly , beds comfy enough but not great, loads of hanging/wardrobe space.
I would definately stay at these apartments again, its a lovely area,you just need to be able to walk!!!
there are several restaurants near the marbella crown restart so you can get the free shuttle bus over and walk down the hill to them, one of the nicest is Hardy's, owned by alex, june the main bar person ext, the food is great, reasonably priced, great beer/lager and the friendliest service ever... the bar is on FB, check it out.
Marbella is only about 15minutes on the bus, same for fuengirola, Gibraltar is a short trip away, but be careful its not as cheap as it was 2-3 years ago..
I love this area of spain and would def stay in club caronte again

Room Tip: make sure you can walk long distances if your not prepared to hire a car
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bluecazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This resort is part of a chain and sits quite far from the sea.

It is good if you (like me) are not looking to sit around the pool all day, but rather explore the surroundings or spend your days at the beach.

The reason I am saying this is that this resort only has an unsupervised swimming pool, but no other facilities; no bar, no toilets, no changing rooms, no reception, nothing. If you want to find these amenities you need to go to one of their sisters' resort which requires you to use a car or their complimentary shuttle.

The apartment was of a great standard though with everything you could ask for, including a washing machine with detergent tablets and lots off kitchen appliances.

A car is almost a must to enjoy the area. The local Riviera/Calahonda beach isn't the best. We much preferred Cabopino beach (3km to the south - the best by far) or La Cala beach (2km north). Another great half-day excursion was the mountain village of Mijas, with great views of the Costa Del Sol. Marbella is also very pretty for an evening stroll and we went as far as Granada and Gibraltar for day excursions.

The closest supermarket to the resort in Avenida Del Golf is very expensive. Much better to drive to Mercadona or Lidl, both about 1.5km south.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank marcouk76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Just returned from a week at Club Caronte with my husband,daughter,son in law and 11 month old grand daughter.In spite of pre ordering a cot and highchair,neither were in the appartment when we arrived with a tired,hungry baby.We immediately rang the reception and the cot was delivered within the hour,BUT the highchair did not appear until late the NEXT AFTERNOON,26 hours after our arrival,and only then after 4 phone calls.
This is our third stay at club Caronte and I feel standards in the appartment are slipping.Our appartment was tidy but could have been cleaner and there did not seem tobe enough towels for 5 people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Countess143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I don't know what to say about this resort. Yes, the place was very quiet and our appartment was spacy with a wonderful view over the ocean. For the appartment I would give 3-4 stars.
On the other hand... We had to go through 3 locked gates before getting in or out to the app. When getting in to the resort, you can use a door code but you didn't get out with the code and had to use one of the keys. This was a disaster especially for the kids. Example: One day we spent time at the (unheated) pool at Caronte and my 8-year old needed to go to toilet. As there is no WC close to the pool (a big abuse too - are all really going to their appartments then.. Hope so..??), he took all these keys and codes and wanted to go to our appartment. After a while I started to wonder where he is and found him crying in the stairgase: yes he did get in to the stairgase with the code but not into the appartment with the key (those are all old). He didn't get out of the staircase with the key either - a horrible situation for a little boy who is used to go around independently.
When I complainded about this to the reception they said that the codes work to both sides, in and out. This is not true and I wonder why they say so - or were the door codes just not working?
I also wonder what would happen in a case of emergency when you should get out of the building as soon as possible?
Well, if you still decide to go there, hire a car. We tried to manage without a car but after two day hired one.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Madventure09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Was given a week at the club as a gift from good friends. First even with the directions and the GPS finding both the facility and more importantly the registration area was quite challenging, the directions online from the airport were relatively useless, drove around the area for a good 30 min.Upon arrival, requested a unit closer to the beach and the staff was very accomodating, but advised that should we want to change it would be possible, this should have been a warning. We entered through the patio door and were immediately hit by the smell. The unit had not been updated in decades, the sofas looked as though we would catch disease by sitting on them and the mattresses were incredibly thin with shabby bedding. My wife immediately vetoed this and we returned to the registration area. The staff then put us in club caronte itself (I forget the name of the first place but all run by Crown resorts). These units had been updated, with new furniture, well appointed bathrooms(the best part of the place) and flat screen tv. However, the beds still had the same mattresses and there was no air conditioning in the unit ( perhaps not a necessity, but of importance). The layout of the unit made it feel cavelike and finally the kicker for me was the paper thin walls( a screaming neighbor child could be heard for quite some time). We promptly left the property and moved to a hotel closer to Malaga. The unit received the second star simply for the bathroom, otherwise I wouldn't recommend it at all. I've stayed in some absolutely average places but the feeling of the unit and the multiple security gates to get in didn't make this a place I would want to spend even one night in. The staff was quite helpful in finding a new hotel to stay, and gave several good recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mazen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews