We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of El Escudo de Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Escudo de Mijas
Ranked #2 of 17 Mijas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a small hotel, with none of the usual services - but none the worse for that. The rooms were excellent (we stayed in a sea view room which did meant you could see the sea in the distance but more importantly gave you a balcony); beds were very comfortable.

It's just tucked away up an alley, so it was very quiet. The manager/receptionist was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuddyBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 137 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Modest and clean hotel within the living puablo city so close to everything. We enjoyed the 4 nights and visited Rhonda from here. Restaurant frequented by locals was recommended el ALencon at it was good and inexpensive. Especially nice to walk around town in the morning before the tour buses arrive. Very quiet in the evenings at this time of yeah. Good tapas bar is the tapas placer. Would go again. Mijas is so old Spain and refreshing.

Room Tip: Room number 8 had a balcony and view. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancouvermtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night in late June. I think I stayed in room 5 on the first floor. My parents stayed on the second floor at the far end in the last room, I think it was 9 or 10. The décor throughout both rooms was really nice, simple modern and elegant in its modest way and was spotlessly clean.

My room was a double. Had TV with all the local Spanish channels (not that I speak any!). Had A/C (that was also a heater in winter) but was decidedly chilly for time of year so I didn’t experiment although my parents one worked well. The bathroom in mine was small but perfectly formed with solid decent furniture, was extremely clean and really quite pretty as bathrooms go although didn’t have a bath (hate them anyway). My bedroom had large double windows opening out onto a tiny but pretty balcony. The view was of the apartments on the other side of the road but to the left (if it hadn’t been such a dull and miserable day) you can make out the sea too.

My parents larger room had a larger bathroom with bath and a good sized balcony with table, chairs and sun loungers (which had seen better days but he ho). From here had it been a decent day you would get a great view of the land all the way down to the sea (see photo). Apparently there are also lovely mountain walks nearby and the hotel itself was very quiet and peaceful when we were there.

Location wise it is just in the town and about a minutes walk away are plenty of cafes and restaurants. If you do go to Mijas you must try the fresh orange juice, it is heavenly and don’t forget to try some real churros (that must be ordered with a cup of hot chocolate to dip them into).

I highly recommend this lovely clean and ridiculously cheap little hotel. It gets a full five stars from me for overall excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here. We were here fir 4 nights and used Mijas as a base for seeing other places-Costa, Ronda Gibraltar. Would definitely recommend it for location, staff and views. We never saw anyone but the room was left clean every afternoon. The reason why i gave a lower rating for cleanliness was because of the bathroom... It's really in need of refurbishment and it was starting to get to me by the end of the stay... The toilet was taped together at one point, the shower was constantly leaking onto the floor, in spite of what we did to stop it and there was always a smell in there... Unexplained! In spite of this, I would still recommend ... Positives def outweigh the negatives. 2nd floors have lovely balconies, especially room 10. None on the other floors. View would be lovely ic it wasn't obstructed by electricity cables.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mavger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We loved the hotel. It is a small family run hotel. It is only rated as Hostel but it is more like 3 star hotels than a hostel. The hotel is nicely renovated, clean simple deco. Good size rooms and nice done bath room. It is right off of the Plaza constitution which is in the heart of village but it is located the edge of the town. The location is very quite and convenient where you can walk to everywhere. 2nd floor rooms have a Great view of Mediterranean ocean from balcony. Room 9 and 10 has full view of Mediterranean ocean. The balcony is good size with lounge chairs and a small table and 2 chairs. If the attendant is not there, she will leave you a clear instruction to check in and out. We have no problem.

Mijas pueblo is one of last gem in Costa del Sol which still kept a lay back small old Spanish town charm. We stayed extra days because it as still a quite sleepy town. The best was the Great promenade goes around all around town which has great view of Mediterranean. There are walking trails with Meditation view. It is beautiful is done and maintained. It is touristy but most of them are day tourist who rides donkey carriage around town. Walk around the quite village at night after most of tourist left was very special. But you are still in Costa del Sol, you will dine with British ex-pets in most of restaurants at night. If English is your first language, it is convenient ;-)

A wonderful value for the Money. We paid 50 Euro a night

Room Tip: Room 9 and 10 has full view of Mediterranean ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skimny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I live not far away but stayed here overnight to enjoy the International Festival which takes place in the village over this weekend every year, (to avoid driving!).
You absolutely cannot beat the Escudo for value, convenience and cleanliness. The hostal is in a charming location just off the main 'Constitucion' Square (just ask any of the locals for directions to this if you're having trouble finding the hotel). It is just a few steps from the historical centre of town yet is very peaceful itself with stunning views. The rooms are very clean and are a good size and the beds are very comfortable. We were very impressed that there was even a single use razor in the bathroom as my husband forgot his.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoardmanMijas_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Location was excellent, quiet yet close to everything. Ask for rooms number 8-10 for views of the village and sea. Staff and cleanliness was superb. Great deal! Stayed with a friend and we loved this little town full of locals and ex-pats from the UK. The steak at Mirlo Blanco is great, but be prepared for the price. Must see the views from the gardens and walk the streets at night after the day trippes are gone.

Room Tip: ask for room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoyerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.3 mi away
TRH Mijas
TRH Mijas
#4 of 27 in Mijas
1,327 reviews
3.1 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
6.9 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,339 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa de la Iglesia
La Casa de la Iglesia
#1 of 1 in Mijas Pueblo
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Escudo de Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Escudo de Mijas

Address: Pasaje Trocha de los Pescadores 7 | Por Plaza de la Constitución, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Mijas
Price Range: $50 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — El Escudo de Mijas 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Escudo de Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Escudo De Mijas Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing