We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View + Location 10* plus, hotel much less so - still a gem.”
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Though we both travel for a living and done so for 40 yrs we accepted this hotel for what it is: a country hotel with authentic Spanish decor; worn around the edges, in desperate need of a refurb - but am afraid if they do get one it will loose for what we - and most others I imagine, come for - charm. I would not change it.
Air con works well, (individual control) beds though hard are comfortable; above all staff is very kind - though terribly overworked. They would need double the staff at reception day and night. If they do not have time for you it is because they genuinely do not have the time!
We arrived in the middle of the night and left in the middle of the night and staff were preparing keys, rooms, bills, etc...
The most important thing though is the views, views, views and more views. Location is superb, in heart of town; supermarket across the road, restaurants all around, shops ditto.
DO bring a kettle and the paraphernalia as there are none in the rooms, nor any fridges, but this you can hire at a price.
Under no circumstances you should book half board!! - even breakfast is poor. (but DO remember what do you get for this price in the UK??? not even a poor B & B!! for a hotel of this standard you'd have to pay over £150+ per night)
Excellent and cheap restaurants all around - you can eat extremely varied meals - in any language - less than 30 yards from hotel at prices sometimes less than half of those in the UK.
As for cockroaches: we did not see any on our floor - 2 floors up, but saw some on the ground.
Tip for a room: you must have a sea-view - even if it costs an arm and a leg - worth it!
Noise from other rooms is embarrassing - get good ear-plugs - and ask for rooms without, or just one neighboring room;
with all these shortcomings it was a wonderful stay; and let me tell you, our idea of camping is checking into a Hilton or Sheraton.
Gardens are lush, grounds well kept: it is the clientele that needs changing/educating not to behave as they did - but this is not hotel's fault. Staff could barely keep up with cleaning after them.
Plenty of deck chairs - though not enough shade.
My only serious gripe is the children: I understand if they need to splash around - but they should have their own exclusive splash - pool and forced to use it. Pool is generally little too small for the size of the hotel.
An other point for hotel to watch: people can climb into the pool from outside - and they DO!!
This hotel - nor the town is really for the young/children: it is quiet, cultural, serene: no noisy bars, nightclubs - thank God! - and hope never will be.
Those with WALKING-difficulties: the whole town is not for you!
A MUST: paved walkway on edge of rock behind bull ring= SPECTACULAR see my photos;

Room Tip: High floor and SEA-VIEW IS A MUST- rooms without neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glossytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just back from the TRH Mijas Hotel.
If you're looking for contempory/luxury then this isn't for you. But if you want something very typically Spanish with no frills, then this is for you. A lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with views down to the coast, located in the magical pueblo of Mijas, away from the Costas (though only a short bus ride if you do want to visit Feurengirola, Benaldamena etc...
Our room was a standard, as superior's had all been booked, but we were more than satisfied. Yes, the carpet on the floor could do with renewing, and the TV wasn't the latest model, but it was clean, spacious and had lovely old Spanish furniture and plenty of character. The bathroom was excellent with great shower and bath,, and decorated with attractive tiling. Ceiling fan and air conditioning more than adequate for the 30 degrees weather we were lucky enough to have. Good night's sleep. Quiet on our floor.We had a huge terrace outside, with views to the coast and across the surrounding countryside. Breathtaking! Food in the restaurant (we were half board) was plentiful and varied, with something for everyone. It could be very busy at times and some tables are reserved for large tour groups. The swimming pool is very welcoming and in an attractive setting, but unfortunately some guests did 'reserve' sunbeds first thing in the morning and didn't actually use them until the sun got round in the afternoon. Management should deal with this. There are huge terraces with don't at present have any seating and I felf that this was wasted space. There was no entertainment at the hotel all week, but maybe because it was out of season? Didn't bother us though, as plenty going on in town. Mijas Pueblo is just stunning. A short walk away with supermarket,bus stop, bars and restaurants along the way. Visit the Tourist Office for a map of the town. Lots of places of interest tucked away and too good to miss. We visited Fuerengurola by bus (20 minutes), and Benalmadena - where there is a lovely Marina, Park and the Cable Cars up the mountain. Benalmadena Pueblo also worth a visit. As enjoyable as our days out were, we were always happy to return to Mijas! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Go for a room on upper floor for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just got back from the TRH Hotel,I read the reviews before I booked,
so was not quite sure what to expect.I have been to Mijas many times but this was my first,
time to stay there.The Hotel location is great but the Hotel is not a four star and I booked and payed for superior room but didn't get one. And I had a look at other rooms as they were been cleaned they all looked the same so I don't think they have superior rooms.Also there was a cockroach out side my bedroom door one night. There was a lady at the reception desk checking out she was showing the receptionist pictures on her camera she had taking of COCKROACH IN HER BED!!!. And all so in the bathroom... If your thinking of staying in this Hotel the views are excellent But the reviews not so good. I won't be returning.If there's one,
thing I hate that's COCKROACHES.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyTraveler42443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fabulous location and what a wonderful village Mijas is. We arrive on the wednesday night, very quick checkin, drop bags and walk into the village(5 mins). Tapas and drink in the square. WE were informed by a english couple who lived in the village that the Fiesta started Thursday - Monday. what a wonderful sight it all was, flamenco,parades,music,horses riding through the village,fireworks,fair etc etc.
Now back to the hotel, a typical spanish hotel that is not trying to be anything other than it is. I like that. Breakfast very adequate and the whole hotel very clean.
The bonus of the views from the pool area was great. Ate at the pool bar one lunch time but was disappointed with the sandwich.
We had hired a car at malaga and on having read a review of the 10 euro charge for hotel car park we parked on some wasteland next to the hotel as a lot of others did.Our room had no balcony so in hindsight would book one with on our next visit, which there will be another year.
Only negatives- WHY DO PEOPLE BANG DOORS AT NIGHT TIME AND TALK LOUDLY IN THE CORRIDORS?. you could also hear quite a bit of noise from rooms next door.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorna612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Mijas Hotel for a week in August/September 2013. We love Mijas and this is the first time we've stayed in town. As far as I'm aware it is the only hotel in the pueblo (there are hostels and self catering). It cannot be beaten for location, only 5 minutes walk to the centre of Mijas, and right next door the the very useful bus stop and little supermarket.
Rooms are a decent size, well appointed and very clean. Ask for a balcony, we saw a room without and it wasn't as bright. Breakfast is busy but plenty of choice, fried eggs, bacon etc, fruit, pastries, bread, coffee..... Didn't try dinner but lunch in the pool bar was also good, if a little pricy. Pool is great, if I had one criticism, it is quite busy and one or two afternoons it was a little noisy, but nothing unbearable. Staff are extremely helpful, patient with my Spanish, booked an excursion for us and best of all, on our final day, after we had checked out, lent us a room to shower in. Really generous.

No real negatives at the Mijas Hotel. My other half was a bit disappointed the double bed was actually 2 singles pushed together, this seems common in Spanish hotels. If you're wanting a large busy hotel with lots of entertainment this isn't for you. We also like the Hacienda Puerta del Sol. Although its location isn't so good (3 mins on easy bus) I think I like their pool and terrace more and the option to eat breakfast outside.

The Mijas Hotel is a great choice for a quiet Mijas stay. And you can even pretend the Costas aren't there if you want!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nellnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for a short break in early Sept 2013, found it lacked any atmosphere, the evening bar quite expensive 2 single vodka sodas 16 euros!, beds way too hard & just for a final insult we were charged 10 Euros a day for parking our hire car! will not be returning there again! village was lovely.

Room Tip: Sea view room have very small balconies! but they do have the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark l R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

For a last minute 4 night escape me and my partner had a relaxing stay at the TRH Mijas. On arrival we were checked straight in. Hotel rooms were not modern but clean and had everything we needed, TV, hairdryer and the usual mini shampoo, conditioners etc. Unfortunately you have to pay for the safe (per day) but we risked it. There is an ironing service, we paid a small amount for 2 shirts which was needed and very handy!

The food by the pool was not so good, the only moaning point. We didn't have all inclusive so were happy to eat lunch & dinner outside of the hotel. Breakfast was nice, we had bacon, egg, toast and mini sausages which was fine. There is also a continental breakfast option.

The pool was big, clean and had plenty of beds with extra stacked up so nobody went without. There is constant sun on the pool until 8ish in the evening which was perfect.

Trip to the beach in the nearest town was easy, jumped on the bus outside the hotel and had a 20 minute drive there and back. Mijas town is lovely, full of nice restaurants (I recommend Bodega El Placer, stunning Tapas). The town is an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Highly recommend this hotel for couples, families and soloists. It is a delightful hotel with friendly staff and an old fashioned charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range: $62 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing