We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasurable stay and lovely village”
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasurable stay and lovely village”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a very large Hotel with beautiful views and nice rooms. The lounge area is quite large and the pool is area is lovely. It is a little tired and could do with a bit of a makeover, but this does not mar the stay. The location is good within walking distance to the stunning white village. The staff do not seem very interested in the clientèle which would make a difference. The soft plastic 'glasses' in the rooms are unnecessary as every other Hotel I have ever been in has glass ones with no problems. It would have been nice if they were replaced after use though not just thrown away and no replacements. !!

Room Tip: Ask for pool view or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coralhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    531
    287
    84
    55
See reviews for
197
645
70
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from Mijas and our stay at TRH. The reviews, which provided some consternation, before our visit, should not put you off, but, by the same tune, they are accurate, hence the curate's egg title! The hotel is very clean and, as we had a superior room, overlooking the sea and tennis courts, we were quite satisfied with it's quality and spaciousness. We were fortunate as we were in room 215, so only adjoined on one side, and had quiet neighbours throughout, or there could have been problems, as the walls provide no privacy! Whilst in reception we heard several guests complain about the quality of standard rooms, and request upgrades, so perhaps to be avoided. You have to hire a mini fridge, at 28 euros/week, and your in room safe will be 21 euros. The bathrooms are very good. The main failing, in the rooms, is lack of wifi, which is only available in reception and the bar area, although reception there is very good. Also, English channels are advertised, on the in room TV's, but this only provides BBC World and Sky News. We only stayed b&b so didn't experience the evening meal, although we heard from those that did, that it was pretty poor fare, with many choosing to avoid and eat out. Breakfast is the usual staple cooked offering and continental. It's sufficient but not always fully stocked. On 3 mornings the yoghurts were not offered - it appears simply because they had run out! The bar is lovely, with stunning views down to the sea, but it only opens when it suits the staff, so don't take much notice of the advertised times. We could not get an early evening aperitif on 2 occasions. The barman has had a complete social bypass so don't expect much customer care. The pool area is lovely but the sunbeds, of which there are an insufficient number, are very poor quality. Also, unless you get up with the larks, you'll not get one, as it appears towels are placed on them, to reserve, from before breakfast, although the hotel prohibit this, but do nothing about it!! There is a mix of friendly and unfriendly staff but that can happen anywhere in Spain. Mijas itself is a lovely village but it is very quiet at night - bar and restaurant staff were somewhat surprised how much quieter it's becoming. We were fortunate that we were there over the weekend of the International Festival which is fantastic. Overall, we had a good time in Mijas, and would return, but perhaps look for villa or apartment next time, as the hotel is more 3 than 4 star, and certain elements would lean towards 2 star.

Room Tip: Level 2 or higher and try to get a room only adjoined on one side - I think the 215/315 achieve this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 9Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codnor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned from short 3 night stay at the TRH Mijas.We had visited Mijas before when staying in Fuengirola so decided to stay in the town this time.The hotel was excellent,wonderful views to the coast and so quiet and relaxing,highly recommended.We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the second time staying at the hotel - it's a real 'hidden' gem. Ideally situated in the beautiful village of Mijas and convenient base for exploring the surrounding areas as the bus service is excellent and very cheap.

We have always travelled during term time so noticed there was a distinct (and welcomed) lack of children running around the pool - a grown ups holiday :-) nice and peaceful!!I can't say how it would be in the height of summer but I would imagine that families would want to be nearer the coast.

Rooms
Rooms are perfectly fine and as said in previous reviews the walls are thin and you can hear goings on from the next room. But this is a minor irritance and I am a very light sleeper and slept soundly all three nights. This is not a deal breaker! Ask for a room on a high floor with a sea view. Room 315 has fab views of the coast and is at the end of a block so only has adjoining room on one side.

Food
We only went B&B so can't vouch for dinner. Breakfast is good - hot and cold choices, plenty of fruit, bread and pastries etc. great scrambled egg, coffee is ok(out of machine) you will not starve!!

Bar
I was pleasantly surprised by both the prices at the bar and the house Rioja was really nice and €3.30 for a glass. Previous reviews mentioned the grumpy bar man - but honestly he is there to get your drinks - which he did perfectly pleasantly.

The bar is quiet in the evening (we joked that its a bit like an old people's home - but that's a good thing for us as we don't like the clubbing scene lol!). You can sit out on the bar balcony watching the lights of Mijas and the coast.

Mijas is also quiet at night - but fuengirola is 12 euros in a taxi if you fancy something a bit more lively .

For us just strolling around the village in the evening sampling the lovely food was just what we wanted for a relaxing weekend.

We were lucky to be in Mijas during the international festival - which was excellent - lots of international cuisine and entertainment and a real buzz in the village.


Reception
No problems here - very pleasant ant helpful at all times - we got everything we asked for.

You can hire a safe deposit box (3€ per day with a 10€ returnable deposit), and you can get beach towels for a returnable deposit of 10€ each.


I think for the price (we paid about £60 a night for 2 people B&B in a superior room in June) you cannot go wrong with this hotel - it's decorated in a traditional Spanish style which adds to its charm.


Can't wait to go back!!

For food in the village I would recommend the Bodega de placer which does a modern twist on tapas and the Snug (has a balcony overlooking the main square- does a lovely paella). The chocolate factory is worth a visit and Oscars Pizza does a lovely seafood pizza with breathtaking views.

We took the train to fuengirola from Malaga airport then took the bus to Mijas - €4.30 each compare to a taxi €45. However the train/bus took is 2 hours whereas the taxi takes 20mins approx.

This is a fab fab fab hotel for what you pay! It's safe, well located, has amazing views and is close to the airport, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the coast.







  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elemcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I first stayed at Trh Mijas in July 2012 with my boyfriend and we had a fantastic chilled out week.
As everyone says the location is stunning, I love the town itself and the hotel is ideally located for wondering around as you wish.
I treated my mum to a 5 day break in May this year and like me she fell in love. There is something for everyone, rooms are clean and spacious, on both occasions I have had rooms with great balconies and views.
Yes some carpets and curtains are a bit tired but so what. Does this affect my quality of holiday? No it doesn't. On both occassions i have had a very chilled out and relaxed holiday.
Love TRH MIjas, love Mijas village and can't wait for my third visit!

Room Tip: Request a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice_polley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice on my round trip through Andalusië. Great location to start from and to end at. The hotel has stunning views over the coastline and is situated in the small but lively village of Mijas. The rooms are a little outdated beds coud be better. Breakfast room is large and there is a very good selection of food and drink. Staff extreemly helpfull and pleasant allways ready to help. WiFi available (free), but parking is quite expensive 10 euros per day at the hotel. Around the corner is public parking 1 euro per day. I would reccomend this hotel for a short or long stay are it is very well situated for day trips to other palces.

Room Tip: Close by to the reception (there you get good WiFi in the room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This probably was a good hotel...at one time. It probably could be again. First step would be to replace all the staff OR remind them that they are in a service industry. That is, provide good service. The hotel is clearly well under capacity and relies completely on its excellent location. Thats not enough. Service, food, cleanliness, attitude of staff could be much, much better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celtvistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
5.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Property: TRH Mijas
Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing