We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break”
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Winter Break”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked this Hotel on a H/B basis, as it offered very good value for a 5 night stay at the end of January. The location is outstanding with many of the rooms offering a superb view particularly those with a Southerly outlook. Decor throughout is a little dated although they are trying to retain the local Andalucian style, however it was clean so had no grumbles there. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice but the evening meal became a little bland after a few nights; this was probably as the hotel was quiet (it was out of season) with not many guests. Soundproofing between bedrooms is pretty thin as neighbouring rooms are easily heard. During our stay the pool and surrounding leisure area were closed for renovation which was disappointing, as we had good weather but were unable to relax outside within the hotel grounds. All staff we had contact with were friendly and efficient making us feel welcome. There is a hotel parking charge but we were able to avoid this by parking on the main Mijas road (this is unlikely during high season as the resort gets busy). Drinks within the hotel can be expensive but we found a great value little bar with a classic motorcycle theme 50m opposite the hotel entrance (ask for Paco). In summary we enjoyed the stay and would definately go back in the quiet season as Mijas can become extremely conjested in the summer as it is on the cruise ship tour route.

Room Tip: Ask for a south facing view on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davymcd58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    531
    287
    84
    55
See reviews for
197
645
70
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed 5 nights don't think its a real 4 star hotel but the location definitely is, the staff are very friendly the hotel spotless if a bit dated, wouldn't bother with the food (although breakfast was fine) as plenty places near by. For the money I paid hotel is excellent value, I went in Feb hotel was quite quiet but still plenty activity going on Mijas is an excellent base for exploring the region.... my only issue with the hotel is you need to be lucky with guests either side...ie hopefully you'll get single occupants otherwise you will hear every conversation (doesn't even have to be loud) from the rooms next to you...the walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Room on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toonfan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed her for a valentine treat. Lovely hotel and in a lovely spot, Ideal for all the bars etc in lovely Mijas. The hotel is typically Spanish which gives the hotel character and charm, it has lovely grounds and pool area for when the weather is hot enough. There was a good choice at breakfast we did not eat evening meal as we were only B&B. We would most certainly use this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISEHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel is in a wonderful location. Stunning views from the rooms, Bar, restaurant and pool area,
Minutes away from the village centre, where a vast array of great eating and drinking places are available. Pampas tapas bar is highly reccomended. Small but fantastic food and wonderful staff..
Breakfast a good selection and all tasty.
Pool was freezing. Heating wouldnt go a miss at this time of the year.
Wouldnt say the staff were the friendliest
but for the ammount of time we stayed in the hotel it did not really affect us.
Bar a little on the pricey side compared to the village bars.
Found all areas spotlessly clean and the room cleaned everyday,
Would gladly stay again,

Room Tip: floors 4 and 5 would have best views. and take a kettle if you want a hot drink in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craigypip41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel and all concerned re Hotel very very good, its a pity the food was not alittle hotter, always just warm, but know this is how the Spanish serve there food. Plenty of selection on Buffet breakfast, and also on Evening meal. Staff very pleasant and accommadating. Spent few days there very very pleasant. Would visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackbirdberkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Bad: food is really terrible!!!! even the breakfast, drinks are very expensive, swimming pool & gym closed, bad for anyone with walking difficulties, transfer bus will drop you at the top of the road,no free drinks with dinner even if you are half board not even water, signs everywhere in the hotel saying Do Not!! take food from canteen,do not take own drinks in to the bar, do not open this door etc, padlocks on the fridges, no kettle or tea& coffee in the room, if you do want a drink from the bar you have to wait for upto 30 mins for someone to come, 1 guy was serving the meals, drinks, cleaning tables away , then had to run upstairs to serve at the bar.they turn all the lights out at 11.00pm
Good: lovely looking hotel, very clean, nice gardens, the one staff was polite & helpful, the village is beautiful & very friendly, amazing views across the villages to the sea.
Tips:Dont take children they will be so bored at the hotel,Take a kettle, there is a supermarket at the top of the hill for snacks, water etc, easy access to local buses to visit the sea side towns they are cheap, run on time & can get you anywhere, go visit the little church & walk around the Mijas village it is a lovely place & the locals are so friendly, sit in the village square eating tapas,drinking & people watching with the locals, eat out at any of the local eateries they are cheap & the food is very good, visit Pepe he runs the bar straight oposite the bus stop, buy a map or take one with you they dont have any in the hotel, take a camera the views really are amazing shame i only had my camera phone with me..

Room Tip: ask for a room on the higher floors with sea views & ask for extra pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simonakasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mijas hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I would actually say that I thik TRH is good, and had I visited at a different time of year I might say very good. The hotel is lovely, as is the village of Mijas as a whole. They only had a record of 1 room booking but this is a mistake made by alpharooms, not the hotel. I had the accommodation vouchers so there was no issue made of it. We got 5 rooms in a row for ten of us. Unfortunately, a few mins after arrival, one of the rooms was robbed of 450 euros which we think may have been staff seeing a bunch of ten people arriving and thought they could chance their arm while we all settled in. It was perfect timing and very opportunisitc, and the hotel has no camreas in it's halls that we could check. The distance from the lift to the room was bigger than expected but sure that's not the end of the world, it is quite a large hotel. Views were amazing from the bar conservatory but rooms didn't have the sea view we hoped for. It was clean though I have slept in more comfortable beds and we got clean towels each day. Staff were friendly half the time and just seemed stressed or dismissive sometimes, though I personally did not feel this much but others in our group did. The food was nice and plentiful, not gorgeous but I have tasted worse. The wine was cheap, the craic was ninety. The pool was closed whch none of the guests were informed of. Though it was their winter, it was UK summer temps. We didn't mind only being there for 3 nights but we met a family there for 2 weeks so that would be a bit of a nightmare if you had kids with you. There were not even seats to sit at it if you chose. There was no entertainment but again it was just the time of year. There were ten of us so we made our own fun. If I was going to Mijas again I would stay here for a couple of nights no problem. It was great value for money when booked through Alpharooms, Booking.com said they had no availability at all while Lastminute.com tried to charge 2.5 times what alpharooms did, and infact the hotel itself charged a tenth person that was not originally booked on only 25 euro per night for half board so look around for prices. Oh, their spa is very expensive and you even get charged to use the jacuzzi - 40 euros for 3 x 1 hr sessions in it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
5.3 mi away
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
Hotel IPV Palace & Spa
#1 of 37 in Fuengirola
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Property: TRH Mijas
Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing