We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value in the perfect location”
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a lovely base for exploring either Mijas village and immediate surrounds or the wider area by car. Everywhere in Mijas is within a 10 minute walk of the hotel as the town is quite small, but still offers a seemingly endless choice of winding streets, paths, stairs and parks to wander through. Mijas itself is not particularly well connected by public transport as it is quite small, but a very regular bus service runs from directly outside the hotel to Fuengirola on the coast, which has a good transport hub. Mijas is in a idyllic location carved into the mountains above the built up costa del sol and looks over Fuengirola (which is the polar opposite of Mijas). The hotel is well positioned to take full advantage of the views this location offers. The terrace in the hotel bar is a lovely place to relax and enjoy these views. I enjoyed sitting out there during the daytime checking mails etc as the wifi (only available in public areas) extends to the terrace. The bar is closed during the day but the terrace remains open. In many ways it was nicer than when the bar is open, as you can bring your own refreshments and not have to wait for a table on the terrace, which is often the case at night time. I only had breakfast in the restaurant, which offered a good fruit selection, but the space, although offering nice views, did not entice me to eat there in the evening. Other guests did not particularly recommend it for evening meals either. There is a huge variety of great places to eat to suit any budget or taste in Mijas so this posed no problem.

The rooms were clean and of the standard size you would expect on the continent. Irons and fridges would have been useful, but the value offered at this hotel is exceptional. The standard rooms have little balconies and the superior rooms have decent sized terraces. I stayed in both and loved the space and seclusion of the terraces overlooking the tennis courts, but the views from the standard room I moved to on the fifth floor were outstanding and were certainly worth sacrificing the outdoor space for. They were cheaper too.

The spa was handy and offered a good range of treatments but I opted for reflexology which would be more accurately advertised as a relaxing foot massage, so this money would be better spent on another treatment.

All-in-all a really lovely place to stay in a lovely town.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room facing the sea (south or east) rather than the pool though as these rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibNtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Hotel Mijas is situated in Mijas Pueblo (Village) about 500m up the slope of the Mijas mountains. The hotel is excellent value with comfrtable rooms and very good food. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is a nice Spa and a lovely swimming pool. The bar terrace is superb in the evening for a nightcap with extensive views over Costa Mijas and Fuengirola. The village is a warren of alleys and full of restaurants, bars and shops - a typical Spanish "White village". There is plenty to do and the hotel is a great base for golfers and walkers.

Room Tip: If mobility problems choose a room on the reception floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is in a splendid location, high up in the Malaga hills. The hotel is clean and the staff are generally helpful. The pool is quite small but as the guests are generally from a variety of European countries, we were mercifully spared putting towels on beds at 6.45am, we used to stroll down about 10am and there were plenty of beds available.
The surrounding area is very picturesque and there are plenty of restaraunts and gift shops around. It must be noted that it is a quiet area and probably not suitable for young couples but is ideal for a quiet peaceful holiday.
We did plan to do this holiday as self catering but it must be noted that there are no cooking facilities or fridges in the hotel rooms. A fridge can be hired for 4 euros per day. There are facilities such as a gymansium etc. but these have an extra cost. There are buses availalbe if you want to visit Fuengirola or Torremolinos to sample the flip side of Malaga.
On the whole this hotel is in a good location, is clean and the staff are helpful.

Room Tip: No self catering!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bmanning_efc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not a 4 star hotel in many respects. Restaurant lacks atmosphere and food is okay but lacks variety and nowhere near the choice of other 4 star hotels normally enjoyed. Lack of fridge in room a disappointment. No extra pillows for those that require them. On the plus side the hotel was clean with pleasant and traditional Spanish furnishings throughout. Bar and seating areas very comfortable. We had an upgraded room overlooking the tennis courts which had a pleasant view. Great location, near to town and with lovely views. Bus stop right outside hotel which is handy.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room overlooking the tennis courts had pleasant views and nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This is our third visit to this comfortable hotel in Mijas Pueblo, five miles from the coast. Location is great for strolling into the village which has an abundance of restaurants, and also for walking up into the hills. The rooms are a reasonable size, most of them with balcony and decent- sized bathroom. Breakfast buffet is generally good, with lots of fresh fruit and cooked dishes, but the coffee was awful, as was the so called fruit juice- standards have certainly slipped. The beds are hard and noisy, suggestive of cheap mattresses. Nevertheless, we keep on coming back- it's a lovely place, very Spanish in feel, with decent- sized pool, convenient pool bar and cafe, and some elegance. They charge for car parking, but it's easy to park in the street outside. I would not recommend half board, as there are so many excellent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On arrival was shown to a room overlooking the pool whereas we had booked a superior room with a sea view which the hotel did not seem aware but we had paid Travelsphere for. We were given a superior room with a balcony overlooking the tennis court with fab views of the Costa del Sol. The hotel was clean, spacious, well presented, welcoming and in a very good location. I agree with others that the bedroom walls are rather thin. Buffet style breakfast and evening meal were a bit like sitting in a school canteen, lacking in atmosphere. Choice of food was good, quality average. Waiting/reception/bar staff were not the most friendliest or helpful. Check your restaurant bar bill as we found a carafe of wine had been added that we had not had. Mijas is a lovely village, quiet and peaceful when we stayed with great views. Would certainly recommend a visit to Ronda and the Alhambra Palace. Overall found the hotel to be good value for money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the tennis court are quieter with fab sea views, ones overlooking the pool are nos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fab1Copthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned home after spending a week at the hotel. It was a great experience. The views over the Costa Del Sol coast are breathtaking. Sitting on the open terrace in the early evening watching the Sun go down was a sheer delight. Although there are 200 rooms and we were told that the hotel was full, you never felt that there was lots of other guests. Large open corridors, big expansive sitting areas with traditional Spanish furniture, certainly gives the feeling of spaciousness
The hotel has a large swimming complex with plenty of Sun loungers available and once again lots of space if you want to be on your own.
The hotel is ideally situated as it is only 5 minutes from the middle of the village and 2 minutes from the bus stop.
The hotel is spotless. Towels and bed linen are changed very regularly. Breakfast is buffet style with a wide variety of different choices..lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, cooked eggs, bacon and sausages..catering for all tastes.Can't comment on the evening buffet as we didn't book this.
We were there during the 4 day Festival but by closing the window at night the sound was totally deadened. The Festival , however did take away some of the beauty of Mijas. I think that there was a big square in the centre of the village but this was covered with hamburger stalls and amusements. Certainly, we would return to the village but would avoid the Festival week in September. If you are thinking of September next year you may want to consider the Mijas Festival dates. We were actually on the sixth floor and the balcony was very small...almost too small to sit on. The bedroom was adequate but the furniture looked a little tired and looked ready to be refurbished.
Howe these two negative comments would not deter from returning to this lovely hotel in the very near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 6th floor have really small balconies so go for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#2 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range: $61 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing