We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mijas - more of a British feel then Spanish”
Review of TRH Mijas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TRH Mijas
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed September 21, 2011

A little dated but nice especially the pool

Plus
Pool area is really nice and has food and bar area
We had a spacious room with a nice view at an angle could see the ocean 323
Big bathroom and area to watch TV with couch and chairs.
Hotel is right at end of town of Mijas so can walk to town for dinner.
Lots of common areas.
Terraces that overlook ocean views in distance.

Challenges
Bed is really hard - doesn't give when you lay on it
Some areas need a little updating older carpet, furniture, couch had small tear, door knob came off when went to slide door. 

Just so you know 
The town is nice, the hotel has pretty views down the mountain to the sea but is not right there.  Maybe a 20 minute drive.  Didn't have the "Spanish locals" feel we prefer.  The town in the evening was largely Brits on holiday, not to many locals that were not restaurant employees or shop keepers. 
Tennis courts are a type of carpet.  
Ask things at check in... towels 10 euro per towel deposit, safe 3euro and 10euro deposit, need to reserve tennis courts, ask for 2 keys.
Covered parking was nice 10 euros a day-  thankfully we picked that option when we booked because when we arrived we were told the parking was full - until we told them we had pre-booked it.
Breakfast not as good as others we've had in Spain but certainly can find something to eat as lots of choices.
10:30am most chairs at pool where taken on a Sunday in July.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuitcasesPacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
There are newer reviews for TRH Mijas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Myself, my wife, my daughter (18) and my son (14) had a really good holiday at this hotel. We stayed for 8 nights on a half-board basis and it proved to be a good decision as the food was varied and of a good quality. The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the coast on one side and the mountain area on another. The pool was clean, well supervised and a suntrap!The hotel rooms we had were twin bedded facing onto an inner courtyard and were a little basic but good value, there were however a whole range of room types with differing views at slightly higher prices. If they were to improve one thing I would want it to be the hard beds, even by using a softer mattress topper.
Mijas is a lovely town and away from the more commercialised areas on the Coast, a taste of real Spain! We hired a car and so could easily get down to the coast when we wanted to.
Overall, really good and if given the chance I would go back there.

Room Tip: If a seaview is important (albeit it is a long way in the distance) there are a number offering this...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGRob56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

What a beautiful hotel ,the views are something to behold. This was our fourth year back at the hotel,although nothing had changed we still had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. We decided to have dinner in the hotel this year for the first time and were very impressed at the choices ,they are trying very hard to improve the evening meals and we could only say they are doing a very good job! so give it a go next time you are staying and at 7euros a night it is great value for money. One down side this year were the English bus tours that arrived, who were very loud and brash, which did spoil the peace and quiet we are used to so ask when booking ask if there are bus tours due at the time of your stay.The Craigs (Scotland!)

Room Tip: Go for a room high up as there is less noise!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Elma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was a lovely stay, considering it was full of holiday makers, the hotel was still quiet. Lovely pool area, and great views of the coast below. Mijas itself is a lovely little town, worth spending a few days exploring all the little streets. a nice change from the hustle of the busier resort areas. Only had breakfast twive in hotel, and it was fine, a good selection, plenty of tables, some near window had great views also. Rooms were OK, good pillows, was OK for my week stay, nice and clean, no problems. Some of the furniture a bit old but that wouldnt put me off staying again. Front desk were helpful the few times I needed them, and very busy as it was mid August. Overall, happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 1969LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here 10th Sept 2011 only for one night in a two week holiday, wish it was more. Only stayed here B & B which was fresh and plenty on it, strolled up to square of an evening for a evening meal over looking square, was lucky as festival was on, stood by little church with breathtaking views drinking Mojita. Pool at hotel was just perfect, clean , great views , toilets clean, and undercover refreshment bar at back end if needed. Got to Hotel a little early at eleven, staff very pleasant and organized us a room straight away, amazed this hotel has not got a higher score!. The only minus point would be the firm but but hey thats being a bit picky.
Definately staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kizzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just arrived back after 10 days at TRH Mijas. Hotel very clean with outstanding public rooms and reception in traditional style. Pool area a bit dated, but very clean, supervised and with plenty of loungers / chairs. (at least when we were there - and the place was full according to reception). Extra services also available if required - Spa / Massage / Hairdresser / Laundry - obviously an extra cost. We came by bus so didn't encounter any parking problems. Bus stop with frequent and cheap local service to Fuengirola / Torremollinos / Malaga right outside. Hotel reception very helpful booking taxis / excursions etc. Early breakfast also available if required, but a bit basic. Normal breakfast in buffet style - with English or Continental available in unlimited quantities. Fruit was fresh despite other comments on here, local bread was delightful and toaster available. Coffee from machine a bit strange, but otherwise drinkable. Gardens outside hotel and pool area are manicured and an absolute delight to wander around. Pool cafe served freshly made lunches and snacks at reasonable prices and we found all the staff helpful and co-operative. As with all foreign travel - you are going to get a much better response if you try a bit of their language, even if they respond in English !
Our room which had a balcony and sea view (which we chose) was booked on the Internet; it was very clean with towels and sheets changed regularly. I would agree with other comments that the rooms are maybe not 4 star given their basic appearance - mini bar and safe were extra if you wanted to use them. However, plenty of hot water and a/c in the room worked very well. WiFi available free in lounges and computers available at 50cents for 10 mins if you needed (useful for printing your boarding pass for quick check in at the airport on the way back). Plenty of places to eat in Mijas (try to avoid those with photographs of meals outside !). "El Mirlo Blanco" is rather up-market and a bit pricey, but the food is excellent. Be sure to reserve a table the day before if you want to sit on the terrace overlooking the square. "The Snug" has really good food at reasonable prices and wonderful service - really recommended. Also try "Rl Romero", really good food at very reasonable prices with outstanding service and cheerful waiters ! If you book any day excursions to Seville/Granada etc., be aware that the starting point for most are in Fuengirola and an early start will mean a taxi ride first to the pick up point because the local buses don't start early enough to get you to Fuengirola in time. Taxi is about 15-17 Euros. Don't book your excursion with 'Rusdir' if you can avoid it - old coaches and not terribly useful guides. Tui is much better!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Great location, close to village.
Breakfast the worst we ever experienced. So bad that despite paying half board we went to a local restaurant every morning.
No cushions on sun beds making them very uncomfortable.
If used as an Aparthotel it is just about acceptable

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Discerningchap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mijas
1.2 mi away
ILUNION Hacienda del Sol
3.5 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
8.0 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,270 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
8.2 mi away
El Oceano Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRH Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Mijas

Address: Calle Tamisa 2, 29650, Mijas, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mijas
#4 Spa Hotel in Mijas
Price Range: $64 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRH Mijas 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your TRH Mijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Mijas Hotel Mijas
Trh Hotel Mijas
Mijas Trh Hotel
Hotel Mijas
TRH Mijas Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing