We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but challenging ”

El Chaparral Golf Club
Ranked #12 of 29 Outdoor Activities in Mijas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Play with us in one of the most recognizable courses on the Costa del Sol. El Chaparral Golf Club is a paradise both for its spectacular beauty and its particular features for golf lovers. You will not find any other golf course similar to this one in Malaga. The quality of the greens on this course is famous among the Costa del Sol golf clubs.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful but challenging ”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

A challenging course for a high handicap like me and most if our society but great fun. Tees were a bit rough but not too bad. Some beautiful holes.

Helpful?
Thank Jmr166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    73
    38
    22
    34
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Golf and a roller coaster ride at the same time”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This course had the wow factor for me. Every hole different with a challenge on every hole.
I play off 13 my wife 26 and we both had the same opinion. Hitting over big ravines or from great heights was something you don't often get in the UK. It was worth loosing a few balls whilst taking on the big shots. Course had red stakes which means you can just drop another ball and carry on. Most people we met had played other courses in the area but said this was the best value for money. It's worth buying the "Check Book" Buying 5 rounds up front came to 400 euro including buggy for two players. Book via the web on all courses you get a better rate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 50sandrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views and greens”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Last day in the Malaga area and wanted to play this course. From the moment we arrived the staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The course is not long but the greens were fantastic and the condition of the course good. Great views and a buggy is a must. Cart paths well maintained and clearly money has been invested here. A nice touch was the caddy master giving us bottled water along with a card of the course and a pencil already on the cart. All this for 60 euros ( including cart) .... Great value for money. The clubhouse is well appointed and serves great food. My overall experience was memorable especially as I had played some of the "so called" bigger clubs which cost a fortune. Take a tip from a fellow golfer ... play El Chaparal and you will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank biarritz64270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Graet day out”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

7 of us on a 4 night/3 round break with Elite golf. Spot on.
This was our 1st round and I think this course spoilt us for the following games at santana and santa Maria.
Great reception from staff and tee master. Great course, fast greens.The course is full of surprises.
I'm a novice (26H/cap) and I loved it.
Signage at tee's could be a tad better (give us a clue).
Only let down was that the bar staff tried to add a few more beers to our bill.
What a great venue, cant wait for next visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ponsaloti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golf somewhat spoiled”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice golf course, but like some other golf clubs in Spain they don't allow buggies on the fairways. This means you have to leave the buggy on the path and bring several clubs to where your ball is. Having decided which club you are going to use (thats provided you have the right one amongst the ones you carried over) you leave the others ones down where, if it is early in the morning, the handles get wet on the wet grass, or there is the danger fo leaving some behind. I play golf in many different countries worldwide and most other places allow buggies on the fairways in normal conditions. Thankfully there are a growing number of Spanish golf clubs allowing buggies on fairways, so why would you play the ones that don't?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LBEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Chaparral Golf Club also viewed

Mijas, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Chaparral Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing