We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little but of Italy”
Review of Da Bruno Mijas

Da Bruno Mijas
Reserve with
Da Bruno Mijas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 501 Restaurants in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A settlement with the unmistakable stamp of Da Bruno awaits you in the Comercial Center Centro Idea on the Fuengirola-Mijas road to enjoy the Italian and Mediterranean cuisine quality. Our kitchen opens 'non stop' at 12 am and remains active until 12 o'clock at night. We also organize special events to fit our customer tastes. Da Bruno Mijas holds about 200 people, 120 in the spacious living inside and 80 on the terrace. Alexandra and Giancarlo Paparusso will personally be responsible that you will feel like sitting among friends.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I like Da Bruno's, all of them and especially this new one as it is close to my house in Mijas. Yes it is a little pricey but you get what you pay for and the food is always consistent, you know what to expect. They do a very good menú del diá fro 15 euros and coffee and cake for 3.90 between 4pm and 7pm. Service is lovely and friendly and professional infact much friendlier than the Cabopino one which we go to a lot. The interior is lovely and the patio on a warm day is protected from wind and surrounded by little shops. You can order take-away of anything on the menu at a 20% reduction and the pizza is really good. If you like Spicy peperoni try the Caprese. The prawns pil pil is the best on the coast and worth the money. They have an open kitchen (behind glass) which I always like to see. I run a restaurant and I know how hard it is to please everyone. I am sure the new Da Bruno's will do well in an area where there are no really decent restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spanishharlem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 361 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went here with friends on a Tuesday night and was surprised how full it was but always a good sign. Other friends had eaten at the same chain in Cabopino and had said it was very good. The prawn pil pil was excellent if expensive €10, my linguine was delicious with scampi and asparagus, the saltimboca a la romana was tasty and came with veg, and the squid ink pasta with cuttlefish and peas also got the thumbs up. Too full for pudding though we did manage a chocolate mousse between us which was good. This restaurant has just opened an the decor is lovely, looking forward to returning when the weather is better and we can eat outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This restaurant was built up by word of mouth to the point I could not refuse to pay it a visit so 18/01/13 we had a table for four persons which we pre booked and requested a nice window table.
Upon entry to the grounds I was told to hurry out of the car as there is little man who aparently "looks after your car for a tip if he can catch you", not what I wanted to hear but never the less the restraunt grounds are pretty and well illuminated so first bad/good.
As you enter the premises the kitchens are directly in front of you and fully visable, good point but nobody acknowleges you or looks up, so bad point.
Our table was in the concerntrate of occupied table in the centre of the restraunt surrounding the singer/piano player which made it all very noisy and hectic in one area and on top of that our table was in front of the old entry door no longer in use and all the returning customers tried to get in that locked door beside us, a bit embarrassing. The final point regarding our table was that we were right beside a large Russian family having a birthday party with several children who were allowed to run free in the restaurant doing kids things which is fair enough as they are only kids however it all got a bit over the top when the oldest looking child thought it was a hot idea to snatch the folding serving table and run around the place with it, again kids tricks but parental control should really kick in!! It did finally come to a head when the child ran into the bar area and launched the damned table at the staff and only then did a section manager speak to the parents.
Ok now to the service....very hit and miss, it all depedended on who was serving, good and bad.
Some things we asked for did not arrive till the second request and my Minestone soup appeared as warm vegetable consome. Grand Vina Sol Blanco was brought to the table warm with reliance on iced water to correct the temperature error.
Ok now the food.... very hit and miss, the ladies were having Sea Bass in rock salt which is a right fidly thing for the waiter to break open and serve and takes a little time to be done correctly with no bones in the offered dish however the other two meals arrived well before the fish and so by the time the salt deconstruction had taken place the other meals were heading for being lukewarm at best. Whilst the Sea Bass was declared delicious my Veal in Marsala was bland and not well tenderised and the veg selection oily and soggy however the potato rosti was excellent even though the cheese topping was a little strong. Desert was two Crepe Suzette for four sharing which took some explaining however the final spoiler came when Brandy was ordered. My favorite Brandy in Spain is Carlos Tres as when it is correctly presented it has the most amazing chocolate aroma and it's so simple to serve it in a pre warmed baloon glass, I am not expecting fancy heaters or a waiter spending five minutes at the table prepping a glass just simply pre warmed with hot water however my post meal delight arrived in a small bar glass that was not even a nice glass and cold and uninspired. At this point I should have had a very strong word with the Maitre D however one of the Russian children managed to get it's self up to the piano whilst the singer was taking a break an proceeded to offer a rendition of a bass solo, this was really an enoughs a nuff situation so I started a hunt the waiter episode to request my bill. When it finally arrived I told him I wanted to pay half on debit card and half by cash where the cash element included the tip, this is the point where his previous command of the English language disappeared completely even though I was trying to increase my bill to cover the tip!
So it was off to the car park to play dodge the apparently self employed attendant to leave without more expenditure but not without the final insult as the only person that said good night was the singer and certainly not the waiter who had to endure my forcing of money on him which was completly for nothing he excelled himself at. There was not at this point a section manager in sight.
Lastly I must mention the small print at the bottom of the menu, table charge 1.50 Euro and a 2 Euro charge for a side dish change which I guess is the soggy veg. In my opinion these charges are very mean in a restaurant that thinks it's upper class and more so the prices that it charges for average food and average service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Bruno C, Agencia de marketing at Da Bruno Mijas, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Da Bruno restaurant group appreciates your comments as it helps us to improve our services. Likewise, we inform you that this profile is not managed or operated by our company. We invite you to use proper channels when you want to comment. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaBrunoMijas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Da Bruno Mijas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaBrunoMijas, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Da Bruno Mijas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Bruno Mijas also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 
Fuengirola, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Da Bruno Mijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing