We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Mijas Golf Internacional
Ranked #8 of 29 Outdoor Activities in Mijas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mijas Golf Club Los Lagos & Los Olivos. Two 18 holes courses, designed by Robert Trent Jones. Located in the Mijas Golf Valley, only 20 minutes from the Málaga International Airport & 3.5 km from the beach. Mijas - Málaga - Spain.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I don't golf myself, my husband does but that didn't stop me from enjoying Mijas golf. The walk round the course was beautiful and enjoyable and my husband enjoyed playing the course. They have a nice club shop and also a very nice seating area where you can soak up some sun while enjoying a drink and food from their very good menu. Very friendly and polite staff who were always helpful. We travel to Mijas again in May and we are already looking forward to visiting Mijas Golf again.

1  Thank andb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIJASGOLFMalaga, Public Relations Manager at Mijas Golf Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2015

Thank you very much for your opinion and your kind comments.

Looking forward to see you at Mijas Golf Club soon.

Warmest Regards,


Customer Care Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Mijas Golf Internacional
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 172 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We played Los Lagos as a 4 ball on Monday 25th November. What a beautiful course. We had already played Chaperral, Los Arqueros and Calanova and Lagos was the best in every aspect. Greens 10/10, tees 8/10, fairways 9/10 and bunkers 8/10.

It's a long course off yellow (7000+ m) but it's quite forgiving. Driver + 6 iron is not unfamiliar on the par 4s but why should it be a pitch and putt.

Green are true and rocket fast.

Decent shop, good buggies and a nice bar. We'll be back next year to try Olivios.

2  Thank Remi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIJASGOLFMalaga, Public Relations Manager at Mijas Golf Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2015

Thank you very much for your opinion and your kind comments.

Looking forward to see you at Mijas Golf Club soon.

Warmest Regards,


Customer Care Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We play Los Olivos at regular intervals and do enjoy the course and facilities, I agree with the previous comments about the lack of welcome and charm from the starter,if this was improved then the overall impression would improve.
I really don't understand why the cost remains so high when the courses are so empty.
Some thought into this would bring increases revenue and extra shop and restaurant spend also.
No deals on offer and lots of golf holiday homes in the immediate area.
Price packages of 3/4 games per week or x no of games a month would attract players.
Why not 6 month membership for x no of games.
This would buy loyalty and how about regular open comps displayed for the expats to join in.

Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIJASGOLFMalaga, Public Relations Manager at Mijas Golf Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Mr. John B from Gloucester,

Thank you for your comments about Olivos course!!!

With regard the 2nd part of your e-mail, please contact with us at info@mijasgolf.org, it will be a pleasure to inform you about our new yearly memberships, unlimited golf packages for 1 month and 1 week and green-fee packages of 10, 20 & 50 tickets.

Warmest Regards from Spain,


Customer Care Manager
Mijas Golf Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Group of eleven played this course on 14 sept 2013 and experienced the worst conditioned greens in over 20 yrs of golf with no apologies from management with treatment like that golf down here has definitely had its day.

Thank Majoka18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIJASGOLFMalaga, Public Relations Manager at Mijas Golf Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

We are writing you with regard your complaint of last 14th of September and your comments with regard your experience on Los Olivos, which we really appreciate in order to be informed about any kind of problems that may happen in our facilities.

Regarding the comment about "no apologies from the management", please note that you did not give us the chance to do it, we are writing you now for that. (We do not know even your name and time of play, etc..We just know that somebody came on Saturday from the course very angry)

Please note that it is part of our permanent maintenance calendar to close Los Olivos for spiking works in September – this year, exactly from the 9th to the 13th -. Please see our maintenance schedule in the web page: http://www.mijasgolf.org/en/contact/news/243-maintenance-plan.html
& the advise was also at the main menu of the web site: ***Los Olivos will be closed for spiking works from 9th to the 13th September 2014***

In addittion, we advised every customer in writing when the booking is made by fax/e-mail or through an agency, and by phone when the customer call us. (We have a warning note in our program). Also, the bookings online were locked off from Internet.

Finally, we use to remind these circumstances to the customers before they start to play, because we know, and every golfer knows that the recovering period of one course from the spiking period (greens in particular) is about 7/10 days (depending on the weather).

By checking with our caddy-masters, it seems you played one day after the spiking works ( Saturday the 14th) and the course and greens were not at the best conditions; please accept our more sincere excuses about this; but we consider that we have taken all the caution measures in order to avoid any misunderstanding or disapointment from our customers. In fact, your claim has been the only one that we have had this week, and the people is already happy with the conditions of the greens and course: please read the new comment after yours in tripdavisor written by Mr. John B from Gloucester, who valued Olivos as "Pleasant golf”.

Furthermore... if you had decided to leave the course on 2nd or 3rd hole, we would have returned the money back (Not after a full round)

Anyway, we always try to offer the best solution in every different case; for this reason we will be pleased to offer you a discount for you and/or your group in your next visit to Mijas Golf, should you wish to visit us in future (you only have to tell us the date & time of play of the last time).

We apologise for your disappointing day and we hope you accept our arguments. Thank you for your understanding and support.


Customer care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The final day of a week long golf holiday on the Costa had us playing the Los Lagos course at Mijas Internacional.

We had previously played Santana, La Cala, Santa Maria and Alhaurin during our stay and did not know what to expect having never visited this facility in the years we have been playing in the area. On entering through the gates we were immediately surprised with how flat the property was in comparison to the normally hilly Spanish courses. We presented our voucher at the Pro Shop and were given our green fee voucher and instructions for collecting buggies.

We drove towards the first tee were a marshall met us and directed us to tee off starting on the 10th. He gave us an overview of the course and explained buggies were to be kept on the paths at all times (the only negative I can offer up about the whole experience). All in all the service was professional and without fault if a little cold and impersonal.

The course itself was a delight. The best conditioned course I have played on the Costa with excellent tee boxes, perfect fairways and fast, true greens. The course is typically American resort style with open tee shots guarded by bunkers and water but with plenty of fairway to aim at. There is little to no rough on the course. Greens are large, sloping and fast (excellent condition).
The course plays round 7000 yards from the yellow markers and even longer from the whites, however you are invited to 'open your shoulders' due to the open nature of the course and only a very poor shot will result in a lost ball.

Finishing the round in the patio bar/restaurant was a pleasure. With friendly service, ice cold beers and decent burgers it is hard to go wrong.

A course I would highly recommend as an alternative to some of the more fiddly, hilly, Spanish courses. I will visit again and will probably walk as the buggies on the path rule really did slow us down and the course is flat enough to allow walking for most.

Thank willbangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIJASGOLFMalaga, Public Relations Manager at Mijas Golf Internacional, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2015

Thank you very much for your opinion and your kind comments.

Looking forward to see you at Mijas Golf Club soon.

Warmest Regards,


Customer Care Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mijas Golf Internacional also viewed

Mijas, Costa del Sol
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
Mijas, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Mijas Golf Internacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing