We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average apartment, but poor location”
Review of Ona Campanario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ona Campanario
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stopped here for just two nights after spending two weeks in various different places in southern Spain. This was the most expensive and most definitely the worst place we stayed. That sin't to say the apartment was all that bad, but all things considered this was poor value for money and the location didn't make up for it.

Apartments are quite large and reasonably well equipped. We had a few problems with things like the washing machine, but staff were helpful and dealt with them. Pool area is OK, though we retreated to our room after being repeatedly attacked by flies.

WIFI - you have to pay for it (5 euro per day), even though it was advertised as being available throughout.
When you pay for it (and we had problems doing so) you can only use it on ONE device at a time! And if that isn't bad enough, it's advertised "fast" performance is ridiculously slow.

Parking - is a problem at the hotel and actually most of Calahonda. The beach is a 15 min walk down a hill (up on way back) but there is nowhere to park closer to beach. Most people drive to other locations for better beaches.

There are a few restaurants and supermarkets close by, but Calahonda is a nothing kind of place. It's main feature is a motorway that runs through middle and makes navigating your way around town rather complicated.

An average place to stay and sleep, but you'll need a car to find a beach or more interesting places to hang out.

But please WIFI this bad should be free.

Room Tip: Facing the pool is best view I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Mr Tim H,

From Ona Campanario we want to thank you for the time taken in posting your opinion in regard to your experience in our aparthotel.

Your comments and suggestions are highly appreciated, thanks to them, we can identify our weak points and at the same time, make improvements in our service.

I remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you again in the near future, when you will be able to appreciate all the developments that have taken place.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this resort from 6th june to 20th june we are members of restotel/eurotel owning 3 products purchased at Cala Pi in Majorca.Our first choice would have been to holiday at Majorca but this has been denied to us this year so here we are---

This resort is the old Atlantic club ,when you walk into it it is somewhat "prison like" white walls ,all the balcony's face outward toward the road or the swimming pool.

We had a 3 bed 2 bath apartment all on the same level ,nice apartment, no problems,but could maybe benefit from another ac unit in the main bedroom.

Car hire is an advantage here,there is a mini mart local which sells most items at a reasonable price.A bigger market .out the reception turn right down the hiil..

Eating out,turn left out of reception down the hill" The English Garden and Bogarts I would recommend.

Go to Cabopino beach 10 mins by car brilliant is the only way to describe,plenty parking available by donation only.

Had a trip to Rhonda and Cordoba ,both not to be missed.

I think this resort is on its way up since being taken on by Ona Grup ,but is crying out for the restaurant and bar to be made available.The pool bar opened during our stay.

The pool area is nice,with no parasols available,but is shaded by trees around the perimeter.

May I say the staff at this resort were fantastic ,nothing was to much bother a credit to Ona Grup.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have spent on sharing your opinion of your stay at Ona Campanario.
It is thanks to these comments that we can detect our errors and therefore implement changes to improve our quality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have used this accommodation on several occasions to add an extra couple of nights onto our holiday. The swimming pools are good, the reception staff are helpful and it's situated only 30 minutes from Malaga airport.
The apartments are clean but the beds are not that comfortable and some of the facilities in the apartment are a bit limited. But they are clean and do the job for a short stay or a good value apartment.
I will definitely use again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Just got back stayed for 7 nights from 13th May 2014. I shared a 2 bed apartment and it was clean, comfortable and for the price very good value. Some guests compalined about the broadband but we had no issues and Lola, on the front desk, assured us that it was being upgraded within the next few days. Lola was always cheerful and helpful and I would not hesitate to recommend this property. If you are looking for a 5 star accommodation then look elsewhere, if you are looking for somewhere that is well situated with free parking and decent rooms at a reaqsonable cost you could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: Room 55 is a 2 bed with a huge terrace and the broadband receiver is right outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed in early May for 3 nights. Overall the place has lots of potential but doesn't get everything right. First the good points - reception staff great - they couldn't have been more helpful, 3 bedroom apartment nicely done out, generally good quality and layout and well equipped, pool area lovely. Now the not so good - Wifi didn't work, upstairs shower not sealed properly so floor always flooded, air con didn't appear to work but even if it did, it was only in the living room - I really wouldn't want to stay there at the height of summer. Booked bed & breakfast but breakfast not available until 10am (delivered to room) - could only have 1 out of 3 days as usually out by then. I hope they can use these points to improve as the place is pleasant enough and could be very good

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear guest,

From Ona Campanario we want to thank you for the time taken in posting your opinion in regard to your experience in our aparthotel.
Your comments and suggestions are highly appreciated, thanks to them, we can identify our weak points and at the same time, make improvements in our service.
I remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you again in the near future

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The pool is lovely - warm and quiet. This really is the best bit. The room. although spacious, was dark and in need of a coat of paint to freshen it up. The kitchen was poorly resourced. The bed was comfortable but the blankets were not clean and we have been horribly bitten. The internet is a disaster - ridiculously slow, if at all, and the English TV channels do not work either.

For the price we paid,it is about what we expected. It has great potential but needs to pay more attention to the bedding, wifi and television.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which looks over the pool - these looked much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Muso22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to thank you for the time you spent in sharing your experience in regard to your stay in Ona Campanario, which I have noted with regret has not been to your complete liking.
We look forward to welcoming you to Ona Campanario in the near future in order to show you our daily progress.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The desk staff were wonderful. The unit was large and 2 bedroom, 2 bath as described. All of the furniture and walls were yellow and orange (not attractive). Furniture was old and dated. The heat was plug in radiators. The rooms were cold and damp. The only exhaust fan in the bathroom was a window. The shower did not close all the was and so everything got wet. The unit was only cleaned twice during the week and they forgot things like toilet paper. The water was off for several hours one day. There was a jackhammer running under our room. If you stay in the area, get a car. You'll need one.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuAnn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Ona Campanario, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for the time you have spent on sharing your opinion of your stay at Ona Campanario.
It is thanks to these comments that we can detect our errors and therefore implement changes to improve our quality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mijas hotels
0.7 mi away
Muthu Grangefield Oasis Club
0.2 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
0.9 mi away
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
Club Delta Mar Crown Resort
#2 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crown Resorts Club Calahonda
5.2 mi away
Eurostars Mijas Golf & Spa
2.3 mi away
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol
#3 of 4 in La Cala de Mijas
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Campanario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Campanario

Address: Avenida Espana de Calahonda 22 | Urbanizacion Sitio de Calahonda, 29649, Mijas, Spain (Formerly Atlantic Club Campanario de Calahonda)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Mijas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Mijas
Price Range: $67 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Campanario 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ona Campanario is a fantastic holiday complex situated a 15-minute walk from Calahonda Beach, in Mijas - Costa. The apartment complex offers an outdoor pool, a hot tub and gym as well as a cafe with terrace, a perfect spot to start the journey with a tasty breakfast. For your comfort these apartments have a 24-hour reception. Ona Campanario offers 1 (55m2), 2 (75m2) and 3 (100m2) bedroom apartments equipped to make you feel at home. In that way, all of them have air-conditioning, a private balcony and satellite TV. Kitchens include a microwave, fridge and washing machine. The complex is located in Mijas Costa, between Marbella and Fuengirola. The supermarkets, bars and restaurants of Sitio de Calahonda are within a 5-minute walk. Puerto de Cabopino Port is one kilometre away, and La Siesta Golf Club is less than 3 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ona Campanario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Hotel Mijas
Vime Campanario De Calahonda Mijas
Ona Campanario Spain/Mijas, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing